We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality. Old school -- perfect for Vienna”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #8 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay. True European quality hotel. Very approachable and friendly stay. Excellent location. Staffed arranged everything from waltzing lessons, to Philharmonic tickets, to private tours, to Ball tix, etc.. Also, the Sacher Torte (which everyone says is an amazing piece of cake) is even better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandDlovetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

A great Hotel. Beautiful Rooms, excellent Service and a very nice feel. Whenever I'm in Vienna I book a room there. THE location to stay in Vienna. You must try their cake, it's my absolute favorite. An excellent start and end for any adventure n Vienna

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank flieger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is beautiful from the guest rooms to the public rooms to the spa. An oasis of tranquility with truly wonderful service. The staff go out of their way to treat every guest warmly and grant every wish.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EB502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Absolutely one of my favorite hotels in Europe. You must go for at least afternoon tea if not your entire stay.

Wonderful decor and perfect old grandeur style. Attentive staff. Quiet rooms though right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Sumptuous rooms, a top restaurant (Anna Sacher),the best position in Vienna and public spaces worthy of a palace make the Sacher a must in a capital with many top hostelries. One disappointment: The Sachertorte is not what it used to be. And a remark : Very very expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I was not immediately convinced I'd made the right choice of hotel when entering the smaller than excepted hall, and facing a young receptionist who didn't know how to smile, and who went through the checking-in motions in a rather robotic way. She briefly showed us round the hotel, pointing at the bar, foyer restaurant with the enthusiasm of an air hostess pointing towards emergency exits. Never mind.

The junior suite, named after a Stravinsky opera, (as if there wasn't enough Viennese composers..) was tastefully furnished, and although rather narrow, turned out to be a very nice place to spend a few days. Extremely quiet as well which is appreciable in any city centre.

The room had clearly been refurbished, which is not the case of all rooms apparently. The bed was not a king but a queen size bed, but very comfortable, with high quality linen, two separate duvets, and a pillow menu with a fairly large choice.
Very nice marble bathroom too, with its tv set by the wash basins, and so/so chocolate based bath amenities, a humorous detail, but I would have preferred some top quality brands. Good housekeeping ensured the place was spotlessly clean.

With the exception of the first receptionist, the general level of service was very good, and genuinely caring it seemed, especially the porters, who took good care of restaurant reservations etc..
On the subject, there are many restaurants within walking distance, to satisfy most tastes, with a few typical Viennese 'beisel' well worth a visit.

The Sacher also has its famous tea room, which mercifully can be entered through a back door for hotel residents, thus avoiding queues outside to go through the main door. Once inside the cosy atmosphere, one can choose from a vast array of local specialities, with all sorts of Viennese coffees, and enjoy people-watching, i.e. mostly groups of asian tourists taking countless pictures of their cakes with their phones.

But the location is possibly the best feature of the Sacher hotel, many museums, monuments, handsome shopping streets are within walking distance.

My wife and I loved Vienna; the general atmosphere, even in bleak winter, the culture&architecture, the clean streets and its polite, well mannered population are all conducive to plan a future visit.
And for that, the Sacher would most likely be, once again, a first choice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
10  Thank travellingKoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel is simply beautiful: The interior and exterior shows that this hotel has class, style, and history. Compared to other luxury old-world hotels, this one really gets the balance right between formality and being welcoming.

We absolutely loved the doorman Robert and the room service staff. The fruit and sweets that waited for us in the room every day was a detail we appreciated. The hotel is also perfectly located in walking distance to all inner-city attractions.

We stayed there over Christmas, and had a wonderful time.

So why not give it the "excellent" mark of approval? A few minor things: There is a nice audio-system in the room, but no-where to hook your iPhone/iPod/iPad onto. Who on earth still travels with CDs in their luggage? Then the concierge service. They did end up helping us out on most of our requests, but it seemed to me that dealing with the concierges is not quite as effortless as it is at comparable places. You'd ask one concierge to confirm a reservation, then come back later in the day and the other concierge can neither confirm nor deny that the reservation is confirmed... Some concierges were really engaged, but others seemed to not care quite as much.

But still: Our overall impression was very positive and for our next trip to Vienna, we will definitely choose the Sacher again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien and your positive feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during Christmas time and will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks!

I am very sorry about your disappointment regarding our technical equipment. All our rooms and suites are equipped with iPod docking stations but in some rooms they are not visible at first sight and in rare cases the devices are temporarily removed due to technical reasons. We would very much appreciate if you could let us know your room number to see if the device has been removed during the time of your stay.

At the Hotel Sacher Wien, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,541 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 359 in Vienna
1,219 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 359 in Vienna
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 359 in Vienna
1,178 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#6 of 359 in Vienna
1,139 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £316 - £701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing