We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, no personal touch”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #7 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, bg
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good hotel, no personal touch”
Reviewed 29 September 2008

this is a good 4.5/5 star hotel, but this is not luxury hotel. they are living on their reputation.

restaurants are delightful. rooms are good. service is average.

  • Liked — dinning
  • Disliked — service, lack of personal touch
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IamJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    176
    53
    13
    13
See reviews for
280
811
95
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Perfect location, near all the sites. The ground floor is intimate and is now almost entirely renovated, and I particularly liked the blue bar, the Rote Bar restaurant and the newly reopened Anna Sacher restaurant (redone in a green decor).

Except for a cigar room hidden behind the reception, all the public areas are non smoking, which is progressive for Vienna.

The food is very good and there is plenty of choice. Excellent breakfast buffet (+ separate station for cooked dishes), including Sacher Torte, in the white marble room.

The new spa is nice and has a fitness room, three saunas, two special showers and two relaxation areas.

The rooms are a bit of a lottery. Those on the new three top floors are more modern and comfortable but they lack the charm and sturdiness of the old rooms, and they make you feel as though you are in a different hotel. The old rooms vary in quality but many are in need of renovation. Although the situation is not as bad as at the Bristol or the Imperial, there are new hotels being planned (Shangri-La, renovated Palais Schwarzenberg), so now is the time to bring all the rooms up to date in a gentle way.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Vienna, the land of music and fine pastries, was the last stop of my honeymoon. Having been there on a few occasions prior to my wedding I promised myself that I would bring my wife there one day.

I guess the first impression always last on any given day. When I made reservation through its hotel website, I simply mentioned that we are staying there for our honeymoon and no special instructions/services were requested. Upon check in we were upgraded to one of its suite (Room 712) located on its top floor. An old bell gentleman was standing at the door with our luggages even before we arrived to our suite. Brought them in and immediately he stripped off airline luggage tags from handles. We told them it was ok and felt bad about it (he could be my grandpa),but he smiled and said, "I hate them." I have been to so many places and checked-in to many fine hotels, but never, not even once, bell boys/gentlemen have extended their service to strip tags off. It was really nothing but a symolic gesture and also an evident as how well this fine hotel trained all its staff, top to bottom.

Room was very cozy and spacious with two sets of patios. Walls were decorated fine fabric wall paper and every detail and luxury were attended. Bathroom amenities included Bvlgari toiletries and a small LCD TV. Aside from this beautiful room, we were thoroughly impressed with the lobby, restaurant and cafe, which all truly reflected its historical roots and traditions.

  • Liked — Its service and staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PapayaTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

The Sacher is the best of the best in Vienna. It is of the old guard hotels, but completely renovated. It preserves the grand nature of Vienna's old, opulent hotels but they someone figured out how to preserve that feeling and yet providing every modern convenience and amenity. Highlights below:

Location: As they say in real estate, location! location! location! The Sacher is in the heart of Vienna, directly across from the Opera house and a walk to all the best that the first and second districts have to offer.

Rooms: We stayed in a suite on the top floor. It was superb in every way. The living room was comfortable and classy, bedroom was excellent and the bathroom was big enough to live in. We also have an outside private roof deck, with the most incredible views of Vienna. It does not get better than this. The rooms are decorated in classic vienese style, and they have enough art work to be considered a fine museum.

Amenities: Breakfast in the morning is good, but not great. I would opt for another location for breakfast. The Blue Room bar is perfect for a pre-dinner drink or for a break at the end of a long day. It has an incredible atmosphere and brings you back to a time long past. I believe they have a full service spa, but I did not make use of it.

Service: Professional, capable and all done with a smile. The concierges work with you in every way and they did a great job for us with restaurant reservations, philharmonic tickets and private tours of some great spots.

Cafe Sacher: This is what you will read about in every guide book. It is the original cafe at which Anna Sacher created the Sacher Torte. You should try this chocolate cake if you can. We tried it here and we tried it at Demel and the original at Sacher was the best.

  • Liked — The grand nature of the place
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Island_Hopper_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

I stayed with my husband at the Sacher for three nights on April 2008. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. It has a great location, the staff is very friendly, the decoration is beautiful, and the rooms are spacious. We had a room with a view to the Vienna Opera House. The Spa is excellent. If you are planning to visit Vienna, this is the best hotel you can stay at.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2008

I have just spent four memorable days at this wonderful
hotel.
Before entering the hotel my expectations were high:
from a legendary, worldclass hotel You just await a lot.
I am so happy to tell You, that all my expectations were
fulfilled.
Hotel Sacher is absolutely one of the best hotels I have ever
stayed at (...and I have seen a lot of de luxe hotels!)
Stay at Sacher and enjoy the oldworld charm and the viennese
hospitality at it's best. You will love it!

  • Liked — Location, staff, old world charm of a legendary hotel.
  • Disliked — After this stay my standard has gone up again. It's making my life more difficult.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ThenHePackedAndLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

For our 15th anniversary my friends and I decided to have our grad school reunion in Vienna. Just like 15 years ago, we chose to stay at the Sacher. The Hotel seemed to have undergone some nice renovations during the last years. However, even with a modern twist, the traditional charm and luxury atmosphere remained the same. Our rooms were beautifully decorated with many lovely details and the service was exceptional, just like you expect it from a traditional European Luxury Hotel. On top of that it's just so conveniently located next to the main shopping street and the opera building. Us "girls" absolutely enjoyed this stay - now and back in the days. It's amazing how fast time flies by, but also beautiful to discover that some things never change: that is lasting friendship and true Austrian hospitality at the Sacher.

  • Liked — Charm, History, Memories, Perfect Service, Friendly Staff, Sacher Torte, Family Owned
  • Disliked — n.a.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ucla_reunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,405 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
842 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 360 in Vienna
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 360 in Vienna
1,125 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Property: Hotel Sacher Wien
Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing