We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Style Grandeur”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #5 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wonderful hotel in the heart of this fabulous city. Amazing food, breakfasts especially. Fantastic room with great bathroom, double basin, separate shower cubicle, bath and separate toilet. Gorgeous comfy beds and lovely sheets.

Room Tip: I expect they're all good here, we were on the top floor they had great soundproof and insulatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigglesister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Staying here is like being transported back to an era of European elegance. The hotel has a wonderful, stately style, and the staff is gracious (although a bit stuffy in a Viennese way). Very convenient - walking distance to the Opera House, Spanish Riding Academy, cafes, and more. I hosted a private party in the hotel cafe after the Opera, and the hotel did a wonderful job with both the food and the service.

Don't forget to buy some Sacher Tortes in the shop in the hotel. They come in wood boxes that are collectors items; something to keep long after you've finished the fantastic torte.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stellar service at every level, gorgeous and elegant rooms, lush public spaces and the glorious Blue Bar and Red Salon Restaurant. This is really the finest hotel in Vienna (and I've stayed in at least a half dozen "5-stars"), and certainly boasts the finest location, directly across from the State Opera on the main pedestrian street in the Old Town (the Kärtnerstrasse). St. Stephen's Cathedral, the Hofburg Palace and all of the city's finest galleries and music venues are within a short walk. The breakfast in the main restaurant is superb, and I held a private dinner for my group of 15 in the Metternich Salon that was like and evening at Versailles. Just stunning. The front desk and special events staff were incredibly friendly and efficient, as was the concierge staff. The restaurant and catering staff I would say were a little more serious, but professional. Overall, many in my group said it was a dream stay, and an overall unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: I inspected several of the rooms, and for rooms with 2 beds, #111 was my favourite--like an elegant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AriaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is one of the best hotels you can stay at Vienna which is located at the heart of the city right opposite the Opera House. We have stayed at Billy Budd Suite for a week during new year. The Suite was very nice and elegant.
The breakfast buffet is really good including Champain and Sacher Cake. The service was perfect as well.
You will see a queue in front of the Hotel's tea room. But as a guest of the hotel, you have priority to enter this room.
The hotel bar is also popular. You can see a lot of outsiders visiting the bar. There is even a smoking room inside the hotel for smokers.
İf I ever go back to Vienna, this is the place I shall definitely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mugetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our stay at the Hotel Sacher started with an exeptional and very personal welcome and a little tour through the hotel. The suite we stayed was absolutely great and the service was simply the best I ever experienced. Extremly friendly staff - always asking what they can do to pamper you.
An unfortgetable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavelkruppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Sacher is such an important part of Vienna's history. I had not been to the hotel since the redo and it looks magnificent. The rooms have every convenience and still have all the Viennese charm! The service was friendly and professional. I recognized many faces who were there 8 years ago - a wonderful sense of continuity! And the Sacher torte - the best!! Thank you and can't wait to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Amy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is perfect in every way!! We will never forget this fabulous property -- it is indescribably gorgeous! We can't say enough about how impressed we were with the Sacher. Should we ever return to Vienna, we will definitely stay there. The staff were so kind and knowledgeable. We were upgraded and the room was delightful. The chandelier in our room was very beautiful, there was china in a built-in lighted wall niche, there were complimentary fruits and sacher tortes in the room, a heated bathroom floor, complimentary shoe shine, two tv remotes -- one for each side of the bed -- it was amazing! And the hotel is centrally located in the heart of the city. Breakfast consisted of a plentiful and varied buffet -- really elegant! And the hotel's public rooms are just magnificent!! A fabulous, unforgettable experience!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators. We did not stay near the elevators, but feel that when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhiladelphiaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,586 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 359 in Vienna
1,240 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 359 in Vienna
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
1,200 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £302 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing