We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #3 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

To make a long story short: I love the Sacher. Everything is organized to perfection without losing the Viennese charm. Hospitality at its best, located in the heart of Vienna.

Every time I visit Vienna I stay here, and it makes me feel at home when the door men address me with my name and tell me that it's good to have me back "home". Ask for a newly renovated room having a view of the opera or facing the backstreet. Rooms facing Kärntner Strasse, the main pedestrian zone in Vienna, can be noisy, especially in the summer time. The newly renovated rooms are gorgeous, though I do fancy the "older" rooms, too. A great treat (but heavy on the hips ;-) ) is the little Sacher cake you get as a welcome gift, and the even bigger one when you check out.

All in all, in my view the best hotel in Vienna. Especially if you do not want to stay in a hyper modern hotel where comfort falls by the wayside for the benefit of modern interior design.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank NYC-VIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    172
    51
    12
    11
See reviews for
267
788
95
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our first visit to Vienna and we wanted to stay in something historic. This is the place to stay. The charm of the hotel is lovely, the entire staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. They have one of the best concierge staff we've encountered worldwide. They always greeted us with a smile and every recommendation they made was great. It seems we always had a premier table at all the restaurants that they recommended and booked for us. We had a Superior Deluxe room which was very spacious, but after 2 nights of high heater temperatures that couldn't be fixed, they graciously moved all of our belongings to a Suite, which was fabulous and had a beautiful view of the Opera House. It can get pricey, but it's worth every penny. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Superior Deluxe rooms are very spacious and nice. They face the back of hotel and the center shoppi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OverNextHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent three nights at the Hotel Sacher. I would rank this among the top hotels I've ever stayed at. It is very beautiful, decorated in old world style elegance. The standard, superior rooms, while on the small side, are so well laid out that space was never an issue. The bathrooms, with two sinks, tub and shower, are ample. Service was excellent throughout the hotel, from the reception desk staff to the chambermaids, waitstaff and concierge, all were top notch. The buffet breakfast offered so many choices including fish, meat, cheeses, made to order egg dishes and, of course, sacher torte, that it was hard to limit oneself. We had dinner one night in the Rote Bar Restaurant, which was intimate, gorgeous like the rest of the hotel, and offered very fine dining. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starmom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Sacher is the best hotel in which I have ever stayed. Incredible building, stunning lobby, restaurant, and bar spaces, beautiful rooms, and impeccable service. The cleaning staff must deep clean every space each night - the condition and cleanliness is truly unparalleled. The Blue Bar will long be remembered as one of my favorite rooms in Europe. The Red Room was a wonderful setting for dinner on our last night. And our friends raved about the Sacher Torte we sent them. My husband and I stayed here for three days on the second leg of our honeymoon, and we were treated like royalty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Hotel Sacher is luxurious, glamourous, and at the heart of Vienna. You can walk to the great art museums (the Albertina, KHM and rest of the Museum Quarter). You can walk to the Hofburg palace (to include Spanish Riding School, Vienna Boys Choir). You can walk (across the street) to the Opera House and (within blocks) the great concert halls (Musikverein and Konzerthaus). Great restaurants are a walk or short taxi ride away. And the concierge will get you the best seats for performances, and the best tables at the restaurants. Just ask! Oh, and they always have umbrellas handy for those inclement days! We stayed in a Junior Suite, with a view of the Opera House... wonderful! And make sure you book B&B rate... the breakfast is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We entered the door from a long adventurous journey with bagged backpacks. Not surprisingly, the doorman did not expect us to enter. However, when he realized we were entering, he immediately came to our aid. Those who say this hotel is too stuffy, must not be minding their manners or be dressing appropriately. Sure, some guests are pretentious, but the staff were friendly to all, smiling, competent and most helpful. We appreciated the personal attention, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Some on TA have said the decor is too dated. Again, I will comment. If you enjoy Austria and it's history and fine furnishings, you will appreciate the timeless comfort of this hotel - lovely in every way. Of course, all the comforts of heated bathroom floors, turn-down service, special lighting, etc. Take advantage of circumventing the queue for Cafe Sacher: the hotel reserves tables for hotel guests through their "secret passage."
We almost did not stay here due to TA negative comments. We are so glad we did stay. We would have missed out on a great location and wonderful Viennese accommodations.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jsh326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
211 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent three nights staying in this stunning hotel and we were extremely fortunate to have been upgraded to the room with the best view (Room 418) - overlooking the Albertina. The hotel is immaculately maintained with beautiful decor and extremely well appointed bedrooms and bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is situated in the perfect central location with lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. It certainly lived up to it's well earned reputation - worth every single cent.
I would not hesitate to return on my next visit to Vienna and have highly recommended to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 418 was absolutely perfect with spectacular views across the Albertina and the City. Despite t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeborahLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Property: Hotel Sacher Wien
Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#2 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing