We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and charming”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #5 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of Vienna, nearby The Opera. It's a one of the most beautiful hotels in Vienna. It's very elegant and comfy. The rooms are very nice decorated. Room service is excellent. Breakfast is very good and diversified. The staff is welcoming and helpful; even if the check in was at 14 p.m., I had the room when I arrived, around 9 a.m. I would stay again at Sacher and I recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farfallinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Vienna has many fine, deluxe hotels but I choose to stay here during my five day stay.
The hotel is exquisite in all its details.
The rooms are gorgeous and the staff superb.
The location is the finest in the city .
The warmth of all the members of the staff and the personal attention that the guests receive is very special in today's world.
I give this hotel my highest recommendation

Room Tip: Book a room at the deluxe level,or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely hotel with classic design, but honestly much smaller than I expected after reading all the very high reviews. Yes, we loved the hotel... If you don't expect a large spectacular lobby when you arrive, as it is quite small and the concierge occupies the entrance area before you enter the small formal lobby and very small reception desk area. No big deal, the rooms are very nice, beautiful bathrooms, although do not like the 1/4 coverage of the shower doors--don't quite understand the logic since you had to figure out a way to take a shower without spraying water all over your gorgeous marble floor! But the little extras like sweets in the room and fresh fruit every day was a nice touch. Food in the traditional Sacher Cafe was lovely and actually quite good, although full of passing tourists who just want to try the Sacher torte. Its all a part of the charm of the Hotel Sacher. Concierge very helpful and extremely friendly with great command of English language.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and elegant, didn't have a special view, but who's looking out the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mari t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We planned a 9 day vacation in Budapest. Given the proximity to Vienna, we decided to do one night in Vienna. Because it was only one night, we decided to go big and we stayed at the Hotel Sacher. What an absolute treat it was! When we arrived, they upgraded us to a suite (we were traveling with our young son.) The room was fabulous. We felt like we were staying in a castle. After exploring the city, we had drinks in the Blue Bar (beautiful), followed by dinner at the Red Bar Restaurant. Everything was perfect. This hotel was not cheap, but it was worth every penny. We hope to return someday, but if not, at least we had the great pleasure of staying at the Hotel Sacher for one unforgettable night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DeeCee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

You will learn this is a very old hotel. Do not let this deter you. It is beautifully maintained with all the modern conveniences. Even the marble bathroom floors are HEATED. Yes Heated.
Everywhere you will see artifacts and photographs of royalty and other aristocratic guests who stayed here from Queen Elizabeth to industrialists and world leaders. If you have seen a BBC production featuring a luxury hotel of the the Victoriarn and wanted to experience comparable luxury and opulence you must stay here.
Do not miss the buffet breakfast. It is lavish with faultless service.

Room Tip: High floorw with corner exposure essential for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

You won't believe the beautiful rooms in this place !!!

The lobby is so small and antique and the coffee shop too that when you entered the rooms you will be wowed by the space the beautiful subtle colours and all the modern amenities of today's high tech !

Highly recommend it !!!

Service is awesome too !

Stayed: July 2014
Thank erastis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Sacher in May 2014. This was the one hotel splurge of our 2 week vacation. All in all, we enjoyed our experience. The hotel check in staff was excellent. We were upgraded to this amazing suite at no additional charge. It was truly amazing. Very old world charm. We had one housekeeping issue. I feel a little awkward mentioning this issue because the suite was so amazing, but we were really taken back by this at a hotel of this standing. On our very last day/evening of our trip, we wanted to sleep in. We put the "do not disturb" sign on the outside of our door. The maid still knocked. We told her we would be in the room for a while longer. We left the hotel about noon and I removed the "do not disturb" from the door. We set out for our last bit of site seeing and did not return until about 6 p.m. Upon return, we noticed the "do not disturb" sign was back on the door and our room had not been cleaned. I guess that was the maid's way of telling us she was not pleased with the fact that our room could not be cleaned on their schedule. The hotel did provide us with a complimentary glass of champagne in the bar while our room was cleaned. The hotel is beautiful and classic, but I did not get a warm feeling from the staff. (except for the check in staff) I felt they were a little pretentious, but just my opinion. I would recommend staying here, however, mostly due to the atmosphere, historic nature and city location perspective.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NFPaTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,537 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,214 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 358 in Vienna
1,176 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 358 in Vienna
1,136 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £322 - £688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing