We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Stay at the Holiday Inn Vienna South” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South
Ranked #154 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
1 review
“My Stay at the Holiday Inn Vienna South”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Professional and helpful staff. My first taxi could not accept my Amex because it did not have a chip. The hotel paid for my taxi and accepted my Amex. A big help!

The Room:
My room had a king size bed, 32" LCD TV, mini-bar, snacks and a complimentary bottle of water each day. Although the water here in Vienna is drinkable, I am told better than the US.
The room also had two chairs with a small round table by the window, full length mirror, hanging area for clothes, desk w/Internet, Instant Coffee, sweetner etc.

The bathroom was clean with hari dryer, towels, bath/shower combo etc.

CON:
The only thing the room did not include were toiletries such as as shampoo, conditioner, lotion etc.

OVERALL:
This Holiday Inn is very clean, professional and reasonable. The staff is accomodating, the restaurant is professional with good food and I would not hesitate to stay here again!

If you're looking for a fancy hotel with all the frills, this is not it. But if you want an inexpensive place to stay, with a professional and clean standard, this is it!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest Jeffbar

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your great rating. Glad to see you like our professional and helpful staff, clean as well as comfortable rooms and our good food. I do also understand your comments regarding the bad amenities, who could be ordered free of charge at reception.

We would welcome the opportunity to be your host once in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

In the meantime I wish you and your family all the best and a great time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    196
    119
    24
    15
See reviews for
75
109
30
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Znojmo, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in Holiday Inn for one night as a good option where to oversleep after dinner. The hotel is good, nothing special, but it is clean and it has its standart. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good. Unfortunately there is no free wi-fi and no anemities as a body lotion, shower cap etc. in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewangelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest Ewangelle

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

We are really glad that you liked our excellent staff, our cleanliness and our very good breakfast. I do also understand your comments regarding the internet. The situation is a bit difficult, although I understand your point. We have a kind of lease contract with cost involved to offer that service at all. However, we offer different packages, where all these services can be booked inclusively.

I would welcome the opportunity to be your host once in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a good time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
315 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is a 50 euro cab ride from the airport, the hotel can give a fixed 35 euro ride.
As a business hotel we were disappointed there was no complimentary internet in the rooms or the lobby. The in house restaurant and bar are not bad at all with good service and quality of food.
About 15 minute ride from the center of town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Moshe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest Moshe L

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

We are glad that you liked our good service and the quality of food. I do also understand your comments regarding the internet. The situation is a bit difficult, although I understand your point. We have a kind of lease contract with cost involved to offer that service at all. However, we offer different packages, where all these services can be booked inclusively. Furthermore, there is a free Lobby PC available.

I would welcome the opportunity to be your host once in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a good time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
398 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have been at this hotel many times. I can not confirm some of the bad reviews at all. In all the years I've been there I always had very friendly people at the reception which did speak German and English. Further more did I always very clean rooms and excellent service. I will always stay there when I am in Vienna.
Thank you to the staff and management for always providing a very good service.
Rainer Sch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest Rainer S

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your really kind comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stays with us and appreciate your great rating. I'm really glad to see you like our always friendly people as well as our clean rooms and our excellent service.

We are happy to be still your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Very impressed by both hotel and in particular the people working in the hotel. From Jana who answered so efficiently any questions I asked and also organised a taxi at a fixed price. This hotel even has the taxies operating efficiently with taxi firm 40100 prebooked at a fixed price of €36 to hotel very late at night due to a late flight. There was no problem which for the person travelling is great. 40100 very professional and nice on the return trip also with driver really doing his best to talk to the customer. I upgraded to executive room due to work committments, room was perfect with requested shaving kits left aside also. Even though it was nearly midnight Stefan and the bar waiter kindly arranged some food (when I asked) which was very much appreciated. The people in the restaurant and operating around the workshop venue inside the hotel were very professional and genuinely just wanted to help in whatever way they could. So to the staff, a great job and well done as you are a critical component to both maintaining and providing a quality hotel which deserves above rating.

Last thing: WiFi. From a business perspective it is very important for a business traveller to access WiFi easily. The system does not instruct simply and clearly that if staying in the hotel for 2 or more days this is what you should do. Please provide a simple step by step guide on check in to everyone and make the wifi access easy, its very important in todays business world and one no one wants to wasting time on. Instead of charging access time just have it in the hotel and add on an extra €1 to €2 on everyones bill for free wi-fi or adopt a simple solution. It wasn't just me as I know other business users were having a similar problem with access and also charging particularly when staying in the hotel and also attending a workshop there.

Very best of luck, a great hotel, with cinema and restaurants just across the way as well as a Golf course.

Room Tip: Upgrade, its very good value..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest Del201

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

I'm really glad that you liked our helpful and professional staff, which is a great motivation for our whole team. I personal will forward your commendation to Jana, Stefan and the whole bankett and bar staff.

However, I do also understand your comments regarding the internet. Regarding the handling, we will offer soon a quick guidance. The situation with the price is a bit difficult, although I understand your point. We have a kind of lease contract with cost involved to offer that service at all. However, we offer different packages, where you can book these service inclusively. Furthermore we have a Lobby PC for quick surf for free.

We all hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host once in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great winter!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel placed a little bit far from Vienna center (15 min by the tram 1)
Not expensive. Clear. Perfect breakfast. BUT there is only one bad thing about this hotel. You must pay for Internet 14 € per day.
Dear hotel it looks very strange :( Around the hotel a lot of places with free Internet but you continue take the payments for Internet.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Дмитрий Е
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest Dmitry E

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

I'm glad to see you liked our stay with us and moreover and our perfect breakfast. The situation with the internet is a bit difficult, although I understand your point. We have a kind of lease contract with cost involved to offer that service at all. However, we offer different packages, where you can book these service inclusively.

We would welcome the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and Merry Christmas!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Hotel is in the Business Park Vienna, some way from the town centre but a 20 min bus ride (65a) to Reumansplatz from where you can take the U1 underground to Stephansplatz and the start of the shopping district. Hotel is OK, staff are friendly and efficient but rooms are pretty average. We upgraded to the exec suite at Euros29 extra per night. For that you get a few extras such as complimentary wi fi, soft drinks, bathroom gels, ironing facilities and a snack, plus a bigger room. Room was spacious and comfortable but apart from that nothing more than you'd find usually. Bathroom is what you get in Travelodge, poor water pressure (we were on 4th floor) and basic soaps. What is the highlight of the hotel is the breakfast - superb buffet standard and one of the best I've had in Germany and Austria. Overall clean, modern hotel, very convenient for the business park but otherwise average.

Room Tip: See the standard twin room before upgrading to an exec double unless you're a heavy wi fi user i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest Steve B

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

I'm glad to see you liked our friendly and efficient staff, our comfortable and clean rooms and our superb breakfast. I do also understand your comments regarding the room and bad product, however, we still work on it step by step.

We would welcome the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and Merry Christmas!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
#194 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Josefstadt
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
#168 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South
Address: Hertha-Firnberg-Strasse 5, Vienna 1100, Austria (Formerly Holiday Inn Vienna - South)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#119 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South hotel is located in the Wienerberg City district of Vienna in Austria. The Business Park Vienna is adjacent to the Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South while companies like Coca Cola, ABB, Wienerberger and Vaillant have their offices right across the street. The famous Vienna Twin Tower, a cutting-edge skyscraper is opposite the property while the Euro Plaza is just a km away. You can reach the vibrant city of Vienna in 15 minutes from the Meidling rail station which is 5 minutes away by bus. If time permits you can drive up to the Sisi Museum at Hofburg Palace where some of Queen Elizabeth's jewels are displayed. The Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South hotel has 4 floors and underwent a full renovation in February 2016. It has 173 rooms and 4 suites in total. All have HDTV, individually controlled air-conditioning, free High – speed WiFi, large work desks, laptop- sized safety boxes, tea and coffee maker set, a minifridge, a hairdryer, bathrobes and slippers. The bathrooms are equipped with bath-tubs. Also 3 rooms are allocated for the physically challenged. The hotel allows up to two children less than eighteen years of age to stay free of charge when sharing rooms with adults and sleeping in the existing bedding. The hotel does allow dogs at a surcharge. The onsite restaurant, Garden Grille, offers a full American breakfast buffet with life cooking station every day and serves local and international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Our hotel – owned terrace for up to 80 people is welcoming you on every sunny day of the year. The Garden Grille Bar of the Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South offers drinks and snacks in a cosy atmosphere showing sports and news on a big screen. The hotel has eight garden- facing, natural- lit, pillar free meeting rooms, which are suitable for meetings, conferences, team building or social events- like weddings- for up to 350 people. The Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South hotel offers a free access for all its guests in the onsite Gym, yoga studio and sauna. Drinks and snacks can be bought in a mini- market in the lobby. Our Pavilion Pantry offers 24 hours a day sundries, an assortment of beverages and ready-to-cook meals bound for the microwave oven or the in- room refrigerator. The Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South also offers a business centre with a printer and an on- site parking area for up to 72 cars. Alternatively the parking lot of the Vienna Twin Towers can be utilized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna South Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing