We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In poor shape, not worth it for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South
Ranked #139 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“In poor shape, not worth it for the money”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was initially happy when I realised the location of this hotel, as it is close to the office where I was going for business.
However, this impression soon changed. I was initially given a spacious room, but sadly the A/C didn't work. Calling the front desk, they duly changed my room, resulting in a smaller room. Not a problem, had it not been for the fact that the A/C didn't work there either! Assuming that there was a general problem with the A/C, I didn't ask to be moved to a third room. The trouser press didn't work either, and the old CRT tv has definitely seen better days... Considering there are several other hotels in Vienna which offer significantly nicer rooms where everything works for the same money, I will not be returning to the Holiday Inn Vienna South, even though it is convenient locationwise.
On the upside, staff were friendly, and breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park, they have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Mr. Wildviking

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South. We greatly appreciate bringing those several issues to our attention. I do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the service received may have caused you.

With regards to the ac system and the room temperature, please accept our apologies that the room was not as cool as your expectations. Kindly be informed that we have the option to unlock the window so it can be opened entirely. This will give the room a much cooler temperature during the night. Even within spring time it is difficult to put the AC in the right justification as some like to cool down and some like to heat at the same time.

We are glad that you liked our friendly staff and the breakfast buffet. I believe friendly staff can make a good stay. However, I do also understand your comments regarding the age of the hotel. Even therefor we score with well trained and helpful staff. On the other side we are on the way to refurbish room by room and are already done with more than half of it incl. Flat TV sets.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Vienna South for your future travel needs to show you, we care.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a good time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    208
    124
    25
    16
See reviews for
82
117
31
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This location was a quick one night stop prior to a flight home the next day. Compared to the ease of getting to most other locations in Vienna, this property was quite a bit of a walk (and I don't mind walking!) from the nearest train station. I believe there was a bus that would have made the trip shorter, but we elected to hoof it so that's on me.

While it seemed to be centrally located for business travel, it definitely wasn't ideal for tourism. There were, however, multiple buses that stopped right next to the hotel to take you to more popular areas. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and had most amenities needed (minus the wifi, as others have noted).

Overall, a nice property and perfect for what I stayed there for!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSchascheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest KSchascheck

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your rating. We are very glad to see you like our nice property, the clean rooms as well as our friendly staff.

We would welcome the opportunity to be your host once in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

In the meantime I wish you and your family all the best and a great time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel may be located in the business park, but it doesn't offer any free wifi. It is convenient once you've gotten your bearings. There's a mall with a grocery store just across the street. Bus stop to the subway or train station is also just a 2-3 min. walk away. What I like about this hotel is the room size. It's big and spacious and the bed's very comfortable. Our stay would've been made perfect had they offered free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WackyDaredevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest WackyDaredevil

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

We are really glad that you liked our beds and spacious rooms. Regarding to the wifi, the situation is a bit difficult, although I understand your point. We have a kind of lease contract with cost involved to offer that service at all. However, we offer different packages, where all these services can be booked inclusively.

It's a shame to get 3 out of 5 for a nearly perfect stay, just for the wifi. So we would welcome the opportunity to be your host once in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna to show we care.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a good time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Hotel is located in the close proximity of business district. Basically 50 steps from it. So if you care about close distance to Business Park Vienna it is the best spot. For the city sightseeing definitely you may find a better place.

My initial impression was the building does not match the surrounding. It is like a bit from a past era. Other buildings are modern and hotel does not seem to fit here.
Inside one can be sure that impression will be sustained.

I got non smoking room, on 3rd floor with a park view. Aforementioned view was not thrilling...
Room had a standard equipment (but yet again everything was old (but not worn): furnishing, TV(non flat), dated air-condition panel), in a plus one shall count a kettle presence with a pack of coffee and tea. Beds were average, however the pillows didn't commend me.

Dining. Breakfast buffet was average. The selection was rather sparse. I would recommend to take a close walk around where you can find a number decent places to dine. Especially in Twin Tower.

Amenities. There is a gym on the first floor, but I had no time to go there. Unfortunately Internet access is additionally paid (20Euro pay day or 4Euro pay hour) is not cheap.

Cleanness was not an issue. Everything was really good taken care of.

Staff was the best part of my stay. Well trained, polite and helpful. As you would expect.

Price\Value ratio. if the location was your primary concern, this hotel would be highly recommended, other case think twice before book you will stay here.

Room Tip: I think that a room with park view at top floor is a good selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wodzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest wodzik

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

We are glad that you liked our friendly staff and the cleanliness. I do also understand your comments regarding the age of the hotel. Even therefor we score with well trained and helpful staff as well as very good condition and cleanliness. On the other side we are on the way to refurbish room by room and are already done with more than half of it.

I would welcome the opportunity to be your host once in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a good time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We find the hotel more beyond any expectation. The hotel location is very good. The food is varied and tasty. The room is very comfortable.
We would like to thank Thomas Hain, Martin Schaffer, Lucia Maderova, Manijen Schoffauer who welcom us. Thanks to their hospitality we enjoyed our staying and will recommand staying at the hotel to our friends.
Levy Family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Valued Family Levy

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your really kind comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your great rating. It is really great to see you liked our service even provided by Lucia, Manijeh, Thomas and Martin. Your words will be big motivation for all of us.

We all would welcome the opportunity to be your host once in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna. So far I wish you and your family all the best and a good time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Holiday Inn Vienna - South is located at the edge of a business district. I was there on business and the company I was visiting was directly across the street.

The hotel is clean but very average. The staff is GREAT! They are warm and welcoming, very customer focused and so very helpful.

The room was clean. The bed was comfortable but I was in a king room and only had a full sized duvet on the bed. There was a second full sized duvet in a drawer but it was quite awkward to use. The room was uncomfortably warm and the thermostat went no lower than 20C and the window opened about 2 inches at the top (swinging inward). If you closed your curtains at night (and you had to because of the street lights and gas station lights beaming into your window), you couldn't not get any air from the window. I mention this because the only bed covering besides the bottom sheet is the down duvet cover. If you are like me and need at least a sheet on to sleep, it was nearly impossible to get cool enough to sleep under the half of a duvet.

That being said, there were plenty of outlets, the bathroom was small but very clean and the hotel was surprisingly quiet for being on a main thoroughfare.

There is a breakfast buffet each morning which was very good with a wide selection from fruits, yogurt and cereal to hot, cooked-to-order food to cold meats and cheeses to breads and danish.

The hotel is well outside of the center of Vienna but you can easily get into the city center. The great desk attendant provided me with directions to the city bus (which stops on the corner) which takes you to the subway which ultimately brings you to the city center. It can take about a half hour to complete the trip (one way) so do plan accordingly. The trip was actually quite easy to make.

The hotel's staff are it's true treasure. Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant staff to the cleaning staff were great!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MAtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear MAtraveler123,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your detailed feedback regarding your experience with your recent stay at Holiday Inn Vienna South.

I am very happy to hear about your very good ratings for our breakfast and the cleanliness in our hotel. I am even more pleased to hear your great comment about our staff. Your feedback will indeed be forwarded to our different teams and will certainly give them a great motivation.

With regards to the room temperature, please accept our apologies that the room was not as cool as your expectations. Kindly be informed that we have the option to unlock the window so it can be opened entirely. This will give the room a much cooler temperature during the night.

Once again, thank you for taking the time for giving us a review on Tripadvisor. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Vienna South for your future travel needs.

Yours Sincerely,

Thomas Hain
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafenwöhr, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went to Vienna, Austria for a weekend getaway with 2 other families for Spring. They had a gym and a place in the lobby to play demo XBox games and having 2 teenage boys, that was a plus! They where entertained while they waited for everyone to get ready to head on out. The front desk staffs where friendly and helpful. The location was great for us since it's away from the busy streets and noise of the busy life of Vienna. Every night after a long day of exploring, we headed back to the hotel and enjoyed a nice night at the bar. Relaxing and enjoying the drinks. The Bartender was so great. He made great drinks for the men and delicious margaritas and coladas for the ladies. He used a lot of fresh fruits for the ladies drinks. He was friendly and made an effort to talk to his customers. We all enjoyed his company. A nice way to end the evening. They had a mall right in front of the hotel that had lots of choices of food. It looked a bit odd at first, but when we found everything else, it was awesome! They had McDonalds around the corner and a small bakery close by. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest Tonette R

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your really kind comments regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Vienna South.

I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your great rating. Glad to see you liked our service even for kids. Furthermore I personal will give your compliments to our bartender as well as our friendly and helpful front desk staff. All your words are great motivation for anybody in our hotel.

We all would welcome the opportunity to be your host once in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna. So far I wish you and your family all the best and a good time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#159 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Josefstadt
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
#170 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#40 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South
Address: Hertha-Firnberg-Strasse 5, Vienna 1100, Austria (Formerly Holiday Inn Vienna - South)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#119 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South hotel is located in the Wienerberg City district of Vienna in Austria. The Business Park Vienna is adjacent to the Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South while companies like Coca Cola, ABB, Wienerberger and Vaillant have their offices right across the street. The famous Vienna Twin Tower, a cutting-edge skyscraper is opposite the property while the Euro Plaza is just a km away. You can reach the vibrant city of Vienna in 15 minutes from the Meidling rail station which is 5 minutes away by bus. If time permits you can drive up to the Sisi Museum at Hofburg Palace where some of Queen Elizabeth's jewels are displayed. The Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South hotel has 4 floors and underwent a full renovation in February 2016. It has 173 rooms and 4 suites in total. All have HDTV, individually controlled air-conditioning, free High – speed WiFi, large work desks, laptop- sized safety boxes, tea and coffee maker set, a minifridge, a hairdryer, bathrobes and slippers. The bathrooms are equipped with bath-tubs. Also 3 rooms are allocated for the physically challenged. The hotel allows up to two children less than eighteen years of age to stay free of charge when sharing rooms with adults and sleeping in the existing bedding. The hotel does allow dogs at a surcharge. The onsite restaurant, Garden Grille, offers a full American breakfast buffet with life cooking station every day and serves local and international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Our hotel – owned terrace for up to 80 people is welcoming you on every sunny day of the year. The Garden Grille Bar of the Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South offers drinks and snacks in a cosy atmosphere showing sports and news on a big screen. The hotel has eight garden- facing, natural- lit, pillar free meeting rooms, which are suitable for meetings, conferences, team building or social events- like weddings- for up to 350 people. The Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South hotel offers a free access for all its guests in the onsite Gym, yoga studio and sauna. Drinks and snacks can be bought in a mini- market in the lobby. Our Pavilion Pantry offers 24 hours a day sundries, an assortment of beverages and ready-to-cook meals bound for the microwave oven or the in- room refrigerator. The Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South also offers a business centre with a printer and an on- site parking area for up to 72 cars. Alternatively the parking lot of the Vienna Twin Towers can be utilized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna South Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing