We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bank on staying at the place shown” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Wien Zentrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Ranked #120 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Peterborough
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't bank on staying at the place shown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Standard chain hotel with significant shortcomings. The hotel is in two halves, 120m apart, in separate streets with two flights of steps between the two streets. Don't expect any help with hauling your luggage from one half of the hotel to the other should you check into the 'wrong' half. The bed was fine and the breakfast of a 'local' variety, but okay. Shortcomings arise in actually staying in the hotel: nothing works. During our stay the air-conditioning did not work (or was turned 'off': no one knew), the internet connection was 'iffy' at best, the television signal was poor with no international channels that worked, wardrobe space was limited and, inexplicably, the mini-safe was at floor level: a hand-and-knees job.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which half of this hotel you are booked into before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uptheante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moustakas K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for leaving a detailed comment after your recent stay with us.
I regret to read that you did not feel comfortable in our hotel: please accept our deepest apologies.
We have been in daily contact with our internet provider as we were experiencing some troubles and I can assure you that they now could improve the strenght of the connection.
We have already planned for the winter a complete renovation of our Classic building and we will be glad to have the chance to welcome you again in the new rooms!

Best greetings from sunny Vienna!

Florian Ferstl
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    714
    218
    58
    20
See reviews for
205
703
87
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location is absolutely fabulous. It is located just off the main shopping street, so it is quiet at night, but just a minute's walk to the centre of activity. The rooms are good. A bit old and not the best decor. The cutest thing about the hotel is the rubber ducky they keep with the bathtub. Unfortunately, the wifi is terrible. Similar experience at other Mercure Hotels too. They really need to work on this. Also, I had requested an early check in, and it was just an hour before regular check in time, but we still had to wait. The staff at the front desk though is incredibly helpful. All their recommendations were great and led to us having a great experience in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moustakas K, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your positive and motivating words regarding your stay with us!

We do apologize for the inconveniences regarding the bad Internet Connection regarding your stay!
At the end of the year our classic house is going to be completely renovated, there will also be an improvement of the Internet!
I will share your comments with our team!

We are looking forward to welcoming you another time!

Best regards from sunny Vienna

Katharina Moustakas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a gem! Close to the tram and train stations, close enough to walk to just about all the attractions in Vienna. The staff were warm and welcoming and the room which was a good size had air conditioning which we could control. It was very much needed as it was around 35 degrees when we were there!
I would stay there again and recommend it to any one!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schniggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moustakas K, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay in our hotel!

We are happily looking forward to welcoming you another time!

Best regards from sunny Vienna

Katharina Moustakas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a 3 night stay here and it was exactly what we needed. The location is perfect with all the places we wanted to visit all within walking distance. The room may be a little small but it was a great, clean, modern looking room with everything that we needed. Breakfast was great with enough options to keep you happy. Will stay here again in our next visit!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank schembri965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment on tripadvisor!

It`s pleasure to read, that you`ve obviously enjoyed your time in Vienna!
We are happy that you could make us of our excellent location directly in the beautiful city center!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you next time!

Best regards from sunny Vienna

Katharina Moustakas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

One of the best Mercure stay I've had so far.
The hotel is situated at the Vienna City Centre and is about 2-3 mins walk from the Metro station.

Upon check-in, I had a free upgrade to a privilege room as i am a member of Accor. (So if you are not a member yet, do join Accor.)

Overall, i would definitely recommend this hotel, as it is easily accessible to many attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MaximusTjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest!
Let me thank you sincerely for the excellent feedback about your stay in our hotel!
It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated the free upgrade in one of our new refurbished Privilege Room!
Thank you for choosing Mercure and see you soon in one of our hotels!
Best regards from Vienna,
Elena Covelli & Team
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Mercure hotel is centrally located - 5 min. walk to the Stephansdom.
Eventhough rooms are very small they have everything you need and they are serviced promptly and efficiently. Breakfast is excellent and for a small hotel you get a big choice and everything is fresh. Staff is very very friendly, quick and helpful. A hotel we would come back to anytime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waltons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guests,

it`s a real pleasure to read your great and lovely feedback regarding your stay with us!
Thank you so much for the nice and motivating words for our staff, we will share your comments with the entire team!

We are happily looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best wishes from beautiful Vienna,

Florian Ferstl
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#32 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#141 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#23 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#127 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#110 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#50 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wien Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wien Zentrum

Property: Mercure Wien Zentrum
Address: Fleischmarkt 1a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Vienna
#80 Family Hotel in Vienna
#88 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#89 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wien Zentrum 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Vienna in the historic city centre. Not only business life of the city takes place in close neighbourhood, also cultural life pulsates all around : St.Stephans cathedral, the State Opera, the recently re-opened Albertina, Hofburg, Museums Quarter and the exclusive shopping areas are within walking distance. The hotel offers all facilities for a perfect stay and more: individual service with Viennese charm and the world famous Viennese Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Mercure Wien Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Wien Zentrum
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing