We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, but totally unexciting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Ranked #133 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed here on the final night of a cycle trip from Passau. Staff were friendly and location is pretty good, but the feeling is just average. There is no restaurant. Breakfast is OK. I felt it was a bit expensive and had not appreciated that as a "suite" there are basic facilities for meal preparation..but I do mean basic.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have been staying here once per year for the last six years. This year there has been a noticeable degradation in quality. The carpet looked a little old six years ago. Now it looks positively threadbare. The safe in the room was stuck shut, the teacups were dirty, and the maid failed to clean our room. When I arrived it was 30C (85F) outside, and the air conditioning wasn't working. My room was stifling, and the only way to sleep was to keep the windows open and thus listen to street noise. And of course, the air conditioning can't be fixed for several days because of a holiday in the middle of the week.

I hope my host puts me up in a better place next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flytoofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Vezető at Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear Sirs,

first of all let me thank you for taking your time to share your opinion about our hotel. We very much regret that your stay with us did not meet all your expectations, and we deeply apologize if this issue has clouded your stay. Since your visit there are some brand new, renovated Suites in the hotel that you definitely should try! All the technical issues have been solved and we are doing our best to make all of our guests as happy as can be!

Wishing you all the best,

Kinga Nagy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Excellent, big rooms, Good breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreinecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel is very simple, from the entrance to the rooms. There is no warmth expected from Vienna, but the rooms are spacious and simply furnished. It is a walking distance from all major sights. The chances of finding a parking space are rather limited, so we parked on the street (two blocks away). We also had a problem at a check out, because the credit card machine was not working and we had to pay in cash (even though we have booked the room on line with the credit card). However, this hotel was good enough for a weekend, and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mala-od-palube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I think it might have been the room we were given, but Mum and I were rather disappointed with it. The room was spacious, with separate living and sleeping areas, and a kitchenette and bar counter, but the room was dark and depressing and it smelled of damp and mold. It could have been because it faced "inwards" into a sort of well and looked into other rooms. The receptionists were lovely and helpful, but they couldn't put us in another room because apparently the hotel was fully-booked. It is located in what is probably the central business district, and a bit of a walk to Stephensplatz, so at night on the weekend we were there, it got rather quiet and none of the restaurants or grocery stores in the vicinity was open. I kind of expected more, since it's a chain, but, well. AND NO FREE INTERNET! You have to pay for time-blocks! It was the only place we stayed at that didn't have free internet! The bathroom was spacious and lovely, though. Would try another hotel if I ever went back to Vienna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We went for four days, for a friends wedding. It is really very well located. Walking distance to every major sight! The rooms are very big and clean,but the curtains and bed covers are quite old. The bathroom is OK, so I would say overall it is ok.

The breakfast is very good, and the staff very helpful. It is a very good deal to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMURTAGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed 4-nights in mid-May, 2011 at the Starlight Suites II Renngasse while sightseeing in Vienna.

The hotel was acceptably clean, with comfortable, firm beds, good bath and linens, and a small microwave-based kitchen-corner with sink and stocked mini-bar. The staff were welcoming with a free beverage of choice, friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions, and available for bringing ice or other necessities to our room. The room was cleaned daily with fresh linens supllied. We booked a business package which included free Wi-Fi Internet and a nice buffet breakfast, making the stay very affordable (130 Euro/night) by Vienna standards.

I would rate the Starlight Renngasse as a good, solid three-star suites hotel based on the location, comfort and arrangement of the suites. The carpets in our room were in need of a good cleaning, otherwise the room was very well-kept. The sitting room furnishings were comfortable, if a bit spartan (as shown on their website), with television only in the bedroom, a small work-desk, and a rather bothersome need to log-in to the Wi-Fi at every use. The bathroom included a comfortably spacious and functional shower-box, toilet without bidet, and a single sink. The hairdryer barely worked our first 3 days and stopped working altogether just as I finished drying my hair on our last day! Bring your own hair dryer if you have long or thick hair and need something with a higher wattage.

Our main reason for not giving the Starlight Rengasse a 4-star rating was the darkness of the rooms both day and night (no bulb seemed to be brighter than a 40-watt) and the failure of the A/C to keep the room temperature below 24-25 degrees Celsius (76 to 78 Fahrenheit was a bit warm for us, but might be fine for others or during colder periods.) It really was rather a hot room for sleeping or sitting for extended periods of time. We asked for assistance with the air conditioning problem and the clerk came-up, adjusted the thermostat down to 10-degrees and explained there was a bit of a problem with the A/C in the whole hotel. In all fairness, it was an unusually warm and humid week in Vienna.

The location of the Hotel was a bit of a walk to some of the main sights, but we saw most of the center by foot without the need for a metro or cab. It is very convenient location to several good restaurants, a post office, a small mini-market, ATM's, and a Billa grocery, as well as various banks & offices.

Despite the difficulties with the A/C, lighting and hairdryer, we would indeed recommend Starlight Renngasse as a good, functional, three-star hotel with friendly staff and good package deals for touring Vienna on a budget.

Room Tip: Great small restaurant near hotel, ask at desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolJL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries
Inner City
Adagio Vienna City
Adagio Vienna City
#135 of 358 in Vienna
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#36 of 358 in Vienna
484 reviews
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#37 of 358 in Vienna
1,295 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse

Address: Renngasse 13, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#124 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £75 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse is located in the city centre of Vienna, next to the Freyung and the Ringstraße and 5 minutes away from the Schottentor underground station. Everything is within walking distance, so that there is time for sightseeing and shopping even on short business trips. Take the chance to stroll through the Graben, the Carinthian Street or to visit the Rathaus, in front of which interesting events take place almost every day of the year. The four-star suites of the hotel offer you the highest comfort in a modern atmosphere and the sauna and fitness areas are at your disposal for relaxing and training as well as a café for taking a drink. Guests travelling by car- can avail themselves of our parking service. Our reception staffs are there for you round the clock and will be pleased to help you plan your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten Ii Renngasse Hotel Vienna
Starlight Suiten Ii Renngasse Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing