We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of 5 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #97 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Kind of 5 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Location pretty good, close to Rathouse (Vienna City Hall), few steps away from Schottentor metro station.
Clean like a in a 5 stars hotel, but not perfect.
Staff - except from Miss Marianne Hofbauer they did not make an impression. Their English was average and information and proficiency the same. Only Miss Hofbauer was a really professional 5 stars hotel receptionist.
Breakfast - awesome, with many interesting options, for any taste or type. Healthy, fresh and deli, served until the last moment of the breakfast time, by lots of very helpful waiters. The only observation regarding the breakfast – the dining room was not properly heated. Especially at the tables close to the windows were pretty cold.
Room was big and nice, and bed was comfortable, but the pillows were way too soft. Bathroom was also big and equipped with everything except for the bidet and a stool that would have been at hand though.
We asked from the reservation email a double bed room, as all were in their photos from their website, but when we got there they gave us a room with two separate beds. We had to go back and ask them to change, which they did a bit reluctantly.
We were two and notified the receptionist that there were no slippers and she asked us if we want a pair or two, question that I must confess I did not understand.
As for the heating…this was an adventure. We ask the same receptionist how we can adjust the heating (it was cold in the room) and she said that it is under the window. Under the window was nothing! Eventually we found the heating adjuster, hidden behind a wooden cover and pretty difficult to reach. We managed though, but not thanks to the hotel staff.
The only two things to complain about were: the main door lock – it was rather impossible to close the main door without a bang, a pretty big noise, disturbing the other customers. And the cleaning people seemed to care even less about this. And the second, one day we hanged the sign Please do not disturb and after a while, the bellboy called us on the phone to ask when we will leave the room, waking us up. Since someone is asking you to not disturb, why would you call him and wake him up? Definitely this was not a 5 stars hotel approach. Very disappointing!
All in all, everything in the hotel worked as a Swiss watch and was clean, neat and comfortable. If your hearing is not so sensitive, I belive you can choose this hotel and not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinergetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Guest,


First of all I want to thank you for your detailed feedback. I really have liked to read all your comments. The most I appreciate your comments about Marianne Hofbauer, who was thrilled to read that you have remembered her positive can-do attitude.

I regret that you had to face and overcome some –let’s call it - minor challenges and I personally will place the service attitude of our Front Office staff a main focus of our next meetings and training sessions.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Yours sincerely,

Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    631
    227
    73
    23
See reviews for
192
720
60
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Before I went to Vienna for New Year I was nervous about my hotel booking because there had been a few bad reviews about the rooms and the unfriendly staff. However, the people that gave those reviews must be the sort that complain about anything. The rooms are fine, the breakfast is excellent and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The location is perfect with a Metro almost right outside and all of the main attractions are within walking distance. I will certainly return there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antalyaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Guest,

What more is there to say than thank you so much for your comment.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best personal regards,

Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Great hotel in Vienna. Conveniently located on the ring road in downtown Vienna so it was walking distance to all the museums and the main shopping streets of the old city. The hotel had nice large rooms, valet parking in a garage. Complementary internet access, speed was marginal. Concierge was nice and friendly and they made arrangements for us to go and see a classical music concert. Conveniently located next to a major metro station so travelling was easy. Nice bar and restaurant and great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashwath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, for Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your short and concise feedback, which we highly appreciate.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,

Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Good hotel - yes the furnishings are a little dated but I thought it had great character. Everything is clean as a whistle and the rooms had big high ceilings. Great sized rooms. In a good location right near the shopping precinct and about 1 minute walk from the metro station. The toilet is absolutely bizarre! Haha! Definitely not enough to put you off staying there. We had a great time. One negative I will comment on is the wifi. It is just terrible. Slow, and kicks you off all the time. Plus, the front desk gives you a voucher that lasts for 24 hours, then you need to get a new one. If you are travelling on business and need a good wifi connection, this is not the hotel for you.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, for Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us feedback about your stay at Hotel de France.

I am very pleased to read your positive comments and like to thank you for your feedback.
At the same time I should like to point out that we do provide faster internet connection as well, at costs.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel de France in the future again.

Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
203 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

The location of the hotel is very very good, just 10 minits on foot to St.Stephan, next door to Votivkirchen and Rathaus. The room was of medium size and medium comfort, and a bit stuffy. The staff attitude towards their work differs: the receptionist who checked us in was just formal, but the other one, when we asked for changing the room, was vey friendly and helpful; the clearing service on the 1st day was poor, but on the 2nd and 3rd days it was perfect. The Internet (both wared and Wi-Fi) worked a bit slow.

Room Tip: Rooms of equal type differ with size, geometry, set of facilities etc. If it is possible, examine se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, for Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the city centre location. Nevertheless I regret the different service attitude of the Front Office staff and will especially focus on this issue during our next trainings.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful hotel and it was a great experience! The hotel is very well located, it took about 5 minutes walking to come to the Rathaus. Although we have booked a basic room type (Superior), we were well surprised by its spaciousness. The room itself had everything we could possibly need. The only little complaint would be about the speed of the wireless internet connection. But it worked well, so not a big deal at all.
We have also tried the "No.3" restaurant for a dinner. The food was great and the prices are reasonable. The hotel also has a sushi bar which I heard is one of the best in Vienna, unforatunately we did not find enough time to try it out.
The staff at the front desk, as well as in the restaurant and the bar, are true professionals in each and every way. Nothing is too much trouble and every question and request is being dealed with a smile.
I already know where to stay on my next trip to Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanMika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, for Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us such a positive feedback!

I am thrilled to read about your impressions at the Hotel de France and will of course share your comments with the Front Office staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elverum, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

It was very nice, the staff, the breakfast and you could walk to central Wiena! Nothing wrong about the Hotel
The staf helped when we asked for help. Very easy to get a Taxi or othet transportation manly because it was very close to the University..

Room Tip: The roo, for us was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlavNystuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#43 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Josefstadt
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
#166 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#40 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#86 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#97 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna City Hotel de France is the first address for an unparalleled holiday in Vienna, the capital of Austria. In this exclusive hotel no wish stays unfulfilled during your city trip to Vienna. The charming Hotel de France lies in Vienna’s first district right by the famous Ringstrasse, one of the most beautiful boulevards of the world. It is perfect for extensive shopping trips through Vienna. One of Vienna's landmarks the Stephans Dome - is situated in direct proximity to the hotel. Free Wi-Fi and hot buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Vienna
Hotel De France Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing