We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive hotel”
Review of Mercure Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Wien City
Ranked #126 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Quite frankly, I was deeply unimpressed by this hotel. Once one asks for more than 200 Euros per night for a room, it seems ridiculous that basic things such as wireless internet access do not work properly. The location is unfortunate, directly next to a major street. Breakfast is weirdly serviced. I am not saying that the place is a catastrophe, but there is a severe discrepancy between actual performance and price range.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlkoreander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita K, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards from Vienna,

Anita Köstler
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

It's a really nice hotel, in convenient place of town, close to city center.
Rooms are nice, silent, beds are comfy, you'll get everything you need and a little bit more.
Breakfast is good, plenty of choice for everyone.

I would rate it with "very good" but I gave it average because of one major flaw...no Wi-Fi in room.
My friends told me they had Wi-Fi signal in their rooms, but I didn't.
This can't be four star hotel if you don't have internet access in all rooms.
So, ask for Wi-Fi covered room at reception.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooran_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita K, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

thank you for taking your time to tell everybody here on Tripadvisor about your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback and would like to apologize for the inconvenieces concerning the missing wifi signal in your first room. Unfortunately not all our rooms have perfect access but we are currently changing our provider to be able to offer perfect interent access in every room.

We hope you will give us another chance! See you soon in Vienna,

Anita Köstler
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel for two nights..perfect location to explore Vienna...lovely staff,very helpful,gave good tips about the city and places to visit. Good room with nice facilities..not big but nice, comfortable and cozy..

Room Tip: Higher floor gives good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita K, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Jogendra,

thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at our hotel Mercure Wien City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
"Smiling is our success" - in the past, now and in the future - this is what we promise you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards from Vienna,

Anita Köstler
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We only stayed for one night but it was such a good experience! The Mercure Wien City is well located, from the Schweden Platz metro you can easily walk with your luggages. The staff were amazingly friendly and welcoming, we've got a free upgrade and the room was very nice. Not too large neither too small, I loved the bathroom and amenities. The breakfast was rich and tasty. Loved the one-night-in, would probably stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita K, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Larissa,

what a big happiness to read your comments about the Mercure Wien City.
Thank you for your positive and nice words about our hotel and the staff.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our house and be sure we make everything that also your next Viennatrip will be unforgettable!

Have a nice evening, best regards from Austria, see you soon,

Anita Köstler
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jccotrim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anita K, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed in the Hotel over the new year period including new years. We have booked a "privalege" room. This gave a few extras like a few free drinks from the mini bar etc..Rooms are modern though very small.. but cosy and clean. If you have a lot of luggage the room size maybe an issue. Internet not great in the room, had to go to reception to get a decent signal. Breakfast was good no complaints with a very helpful recpetion staff. The cost was expensive but this was purly down to a late booking over the New years eve period so was not an issue ...Overall very happy with the hotel and perfect for a long weekend in Vienna..Location 5 minutes from City Centre ( Cathederal Stephanplatz) so was quiet at night...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with decent internet coverage if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headtheball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita K, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

the entire team of the Hotel Mercure Wien City would like to thank you for your positive and reassuring feedback. We love to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated Privilege rooms and had a fun time over new year in Vienna.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards from Vienna,

Anita Köstler
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I am staying in this hotel almost every week.

Staff is always warm and helpful.
Rooms are clean.
Breakfast are tasty.
Room equipment is sufficient.

Sometimes wireless internet struggles in the corner rooms.
I miss swimming pool or gym in this hotel to rate as excelent.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with the garden view, the opposite street view can be rushy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita K, Front Office Manager at Mercure Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Daniel,

it was a pleasure for us to read your nice comments about the Mercure Wien City here on Tripadvisor. There is a public swimming pool just around the corner of the hotel that is also equipped with a sauna. We are happy to show you where on your next visit.

We know how important a stable internet connection is nowadays and are upgrading our wifi system at the moment. Soon you will be able to connect to the internet in every room.

Thank you again and see you soon.

Best regards,

Anita Köstler
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#101 of 359 in Vienna
1,567 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Wien City
Novotel Wien City
#127 of 359 in Vienna
1,489 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#40 of 359 in Vienna
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Adagio Vienna City
Adagio Vienna City
#142 of 359 in Vienna
878 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wien City

Address: Hollandstrasse 3 | 1020 Wien, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#119 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £67 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Wien City is located in a quiet area only a short walk away from Vienna's bustling center, home to sights such as St. Stephen's Cathedral, Hofburg Palace or Prater park. The Danube Canal, found on the hotel's doorstep, is a gateway to rest and relaxation, be it walking, cycling or simply taking in the sun. Near to the convention center, UNO City and the Austria Center. Rooms were renovated in 2016, and the hotel's own undercover car park is ideal for ensuring a successful stay and arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wien City Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Wien City
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing