We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to public transportation, nice quiet street, centrally located”
Review of Hotel Nestroy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nestroy
Ranked #176 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Alvarado, Texas
1 review
“Close to public transportation, nice quiet street, centrally located”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel for two nights, the only draw back was we were located in the annex across the street from the main hotel, and only saw hotel staff when we check in and checked out, but for what we needed it was fine, the room was nice and quiet, the bed was very comfortable, close to a grocery store, restaurants, and transportation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    270
    117
    32
    24
See reviews for
104
257
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and stayed here for a short break in Vienna. The hotel is in a good location for the underground system but also sufficiently out of the main city centre to be quiet. The rooms were lovely and the bar and food area had a fantastic sky light. The continental breakfast provided a nice selection. We were a little disappointed that we weren't in the main build but in the annex across the street but this was fine. The best feature, whilst it's something don't I normally look for in a hotel, was the amazing air conditioning. I found the temperature outside uncomfortably hot so it was great to be able to go back to our room and recharge for half an hour in the cool before heading out again. All in all a lovely first visit to the city helped by a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I would give this hotel 3 1/2 stars. It is 4 star hotel but based on my room it is just shy of 4 stars because of a number of small details e.g. only one teabag on the refreshments tray, breakfast not included in stay, no extractor fan in bathroom and decoration is very 1990s (yellow and blue). Notwithstanding this, the room was absolutely fine. You may be able to upgrade and have a better room if you want a more aesthetically pleasing room.

The bed was very comfortable. The functionality of this room means it can be compared to say a chain budget hotel, which is good given that Vienna is quite an expensive city.

The hotel is within walking distance of the main square and the airport train. There is also a tube stop conveniently located within a 2 minute walk from station (it is called Nestroy Platz). We walked a lot and Vienna is a labyrinth so you may wish to consider purchasing a travel card for 72 hours if there for a few days.

Tip. For 20 euros you can buy a return train ticket that takes you from airport into Vienna. The journey is only 16 minutes. Tickets are purchased from self-service machines at arrivals in the airport.

Tip. Ask for more teabags etc at reception they will oblige.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyC915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlauer, General Manager at Hotel Nestroy, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your review here on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to hear, you had a comfortable stay with us, but I regret, that you didn’t feel like in a 4 star Hotel. Please be adviced, that most of the Hotels in Vienna do not include breakfast in theire room rate, it is always to pay seperately, this is also very common throughout most oft he City-Hotels worldwide. Same thing with FREE coffee&tea making arrangements in the guest rooms – this is an extra feature which we offer to our value guests – my staff is always happy to serve more teabags and other refreshments upon request.
Thank’s for your travel-tips for Vienna – other reviewers will appreciate your feedback 
See you soon,

best regards
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Hotel Nestroy is fairly conveniently located, just off Taborstrasse and within walking distance (20 mins or so) of Graben. Our family took several rooms there recently, we normally stay at another hotel but on this particular weekend the number and type of rooms that we required were not available at our usual hotel (nor at several others that I tried) due to the Vienna marathon which had attracted many visitors.

After a fairly long internet search the Hotel Nestroy seemed to tick all the boxes and we reserved several rooms, all on the 3rd and 4th floors. Apart from the matter of the insects, which I deal with below, it is a fairly unremarkable hotel - certainly no more that 3 stars, and expensive for what you get. Breakfast was an extra Euro17 per person, which we declined. We were a group of 9, and we had excellent breakfasts in a local café for a fraction of the Euro153 that the hotel would have charged.

Room 412 was infested with ants. There was clearly a whole colony in the room, and on the second night I saw and killed a queen. We noticed a few ants on the first evening, and the queen on the second evening, and then on further investigation discovered their nest.

When we came to check out we raised this with the duty manager. His indifference and rudeness in relation to an issue that should have been of prime concern to the hotel were shocking . A conscientious and customer-oriented employee would have recognized the distress that insect infestations cause and would have engaged with us in a more meaningful way.

Because of the insect infestation AND because of the poor management response I recommend that travelers avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlauer, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Nestroy, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear value guest,
Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure, having you as our guests.
I really regret, that your experience in our Hotel Nestroy was not as reasonable as our guests could rightly expect when staying with us.
Indeed there were a few ants in room 412 during your stay due to any reason. As we did not get any information about this situation during your stay and once it happened, we unfortunately did not have any possibility to find a solution for this problem, which we usually do.
As your complaint was only adressed at check out, it was a bit hard for me to help – as your only concern was to argue about a cashback, which I declined due to the points mentioned above.
Please be assured, that I am generally here to help and find a solution for almost everything and for every single guest, once I am informed about the cases and once they happen.
Hotel Nestroy Wien is a typical, charming 4-star Hotel located in a silent area near the city center – most of our mutual guests like our location as well as our facilities, amenities and services.

Best regards
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Really nice hotel, very good location near the center (walking distance cca 10 - 15 min), also very close to the metro station. Clean, new and comfy. Ideal for the Vienna sightseeing trip. Also you can park in the garage opposite the hotel. The only bad thing was the lady at the front desk, really, really rude and nervous from the moment we came untill we left, not even polite enough to say thank you and good bye, that spoiled the mood because we expect nice and kind people working at the reception!Otherwise we would come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 419Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hotel was lovely -- clean, nicer & newer inside than we thought (for what we paid), unique rooms. The staff was also very nice & helpful -- we were able to arrange a taxi pick-up from the airport (we were getting in around midnight) through the front desk. Though the hotel was further away from the main attractions, it was not a completely unwalkable distance (if you like to explore that way). There's also two different U-Bahn stops & strassenbahn/bus stops (one of each right around the corner) nearby. Quiet, more residental area so the rooms were peaceful at night. Great steal in terms of price versus amenties! Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The shower was really poor. They forget to organise better! Cafe was good. Discretion and nice place where to stay. Underground is about 10 minutes walking and considering that during Saturday night works 24 hours, I believe was a good option. Just negative to say about glass for the shower.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eliodb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Imlauer Vienna
Imlauer Vienna
#140 of 360 in Vienna
588 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
Hotel KUNSThof
Hotel KUNSThof
#151 of 360 in Vienna
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#136 of 360 in Vienna
981 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#208 of 360 in Vienna
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nestroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nestroy

Property: Hotel Nestroy
Address: Rotensterngasse 10-12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nestroy 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nestroy sits on a quiet street, a 15-minute walk from the Prater amusement park with its giant Ferris wheel. Tarborstraße U-Bahn station is 2 blocks away, and it's a 15-minute walk to St. Stephen's Cathedral and the sights of the historic Old Town. The hotel blends a traditional facade with a contemporary interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Nestroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Imlauer Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing