We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kummer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kummer
Ranked #55 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I decided to stay in the Kummer hotel in my business trip.
I would like thehotel. Very polite and friendly persoonal. The location is very good. It is Quite area and very near of the centre of Vienn.

The hotel is nice looking.

Only one thing i didnt like was very poor brekfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 300975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    378
    78
    20
    8
See reviews for
134
402
50
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
baku
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Large beautiful building, although it is quite old. Room was enormous, with 3+ meters high ceiling, despite some smell of old stuff and creaking floor. Bathroom, on the other hand, was very small and the ventilation inside was not quite good. Breakfast assortment could be better for 4-star hotel.
The staff didn't seem to be quite honest and friendly with me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lala_abbasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very comfortable hotel, clean rooms, service was great, nice breakfast.
perfect location on Mariahilferstrasse shopping street, 10 minutes to Stephanplatz by walk.
The prices is a bit high. I always try to stay in this hotel, when i am in Vienna, but not always can, because of prices

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The service that we received from the staff was outstanding and would go back just to see the staff again. Hotel was in a great location for us to walk to most things. Staff were happy to help with all our questions. Rooms were good but wi-fi was not able to be used in the rooms other than that the hotel staff went out of there way to help.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Location is bang on Mariahilferstrasse (#1 shopping area), and there is U-Bahn station entrance at the back side of the hotel (no vibration though). Walking distance to Ring and city center. Great for Christkindlmarkt-tour.

Room was magnificent, with 3+ meters high ceiling. Otherwise pretty standard setup.
Bathroom, on the other side, was very small, one of the smallest I've seen.

Breakfast assortment could be better for 4-star hotel. And breakfast area is quite crammed, with many small tables put in a small space. Yet waiters at breakfast vere very attentive and helpful - 5 stars for them.
Staff at reception desk is also very helpful.

WiFi is on SwissCom, but you get free 24hr vouchers at reception desk.

For parking hotel has a deal with Generali Center garage - but the garage gate did not work the evening we arrived ... but there are other parking garages around.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omsk, Russia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We wanted a good hotel situated near the underground with major attractions not far away from it. And it perfectly fits this requirement. It's just opposite the underground station, there is a bus stop near it, the old town is within 15-20 min. walk and the street itself is a busy shopping street.
The hotel is very traditional and a bit old-fashioned, an average visitor is a 60+ European and it has certain advantages - it's a quiet and respectable place with good service.
Good breakfast, quite a lot of food to choose from, although not varied from day to day.
The rooms not big and quite cosy, but the bathroom (just a shower and a sink) was incredibly tiny, they have a separate lavatory, which is also very small and what is more - NOT heated. The interior is a bit shabby, although you can see some traces of renovation.
We accepted their offer to have a New Year dinner at their restaurant. It was a 4 course set menu at 49€ per person not including drinks. The decoration was lovely, the service prompt and friendly, the food delicious! We went for a veal steak with pumpkin seed crust for the main course, it was fantastic!
Wi-fi was free and the speed was OK, even in our room on the 5-th floor, I heard some people complain that they didn't have wi-fi in their rooms and had to go to the bar, but it wasn't our case. The only problem - you have to have a new password every 24 hours.
All in all I'd recommend this hotel if you want something quiet and decent, good value for money (though some people say it's a bit pricy, but it was the New Year period who could blame them for charging more?)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May, and enjoyed the grandeur of the entrance and the staircase, as well as the wonderful breakfasts and suppers. Ideally located above the underground and so very easy to go to other parts of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyde-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#41 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#89 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kummer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kummer

Property: Hotel Kummer
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 71A, Vienna 1060, Austria (Formerly Kummer Hotel)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Family Hotel in Vienna
#53 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#104 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kummer 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in traditional building situated in the heart of shopping area, between Westbahnhof & the State Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kummer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kummer Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing