We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value - very nice hotel and nicely maintained”
Review of Hotel City Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Central
Ranked #68 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrific value - very nice hotel and nicely maintained”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is one of about five hotels owned and run by the Schick family. It shows the attention of an owner run facility. It bills itself as a four star but it would not be such in the USA. It has no restaurant, no real bar (just an area that sort of looks like a bar with countertop, bottles, and glasses but never staffed by a barkeep.) OTOH, there is a lovely "wintergarden" that houses the morning breakfast, which is very extensive. Scrambled and hardboiled eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, multiple cereals and yogurts, multiple bread and roll offerings (from sweet to croissant to french bread to ....). Juice, tea, coffee, tomato and mozzarella, sandwich meat and multiple cheeses.

I stayed for five days in a single room - the least expensive. It is postage stamp size but incredibly well laid out so I did not feel really cramped and a great price. Multiple lights - it is better lit than most hotels that are far more expensive. Free wireless internet, quiet (I faced the wintergarten not the street), very nice, helpful and friendly staff. Certainly one of the best things about it is that is is about a block's walk from the subway (Schwedenplatz) - which is easily accessed b yexpress train from the airport or subway from the train station. There is a market just next door and lots of cheap food at the subway stop. Easy walk to multiple tourist attractions. And a gorgeous Sofitel just around the corner that MUST be visited for the amazing garden wall behind its restaurant. Very safe feeling - I was out at night by myself and no worries walking home from subway stop. I would return here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skimeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Skimeup!

Thank you for your comments.

We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and are pleased about your positive evaluation.

With pleasure we can recommend you another Schick Hotel for your next stay, with almost the same location, but with restaurant and bar service: our Hotel Stefanie.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    310
    76
    14
    6
See reviews for
159
335
58
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, we found the staff really friendly particularly the guys at the front desk who helped with all our questions about sight seeing.

We were lucky enough to get an upgrade and found the room to be very clean and spacious.

The hotel is in a very good location and is in walking distance to good resturants and many tourist attractions., a horse and carriage ride is a must!

Would most definately stay at the Hotel City Central again and found it excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalM04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear CalM04!

Thank you for posting your impressions.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel City Central and thank you for your kind compliments for our reception guys and our housekeeping department.

Our wonderful city of Vienna has much to offer and we are particularly pleased that thanks to the recommendations of our staff and the location of the hotel, you had the opportunity to discover many things.

We hope you will visit us soon again and wish you in the meanwhile, a nice summer.

With best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We booked via the Hotels Web site which provided the best tariff, quick confirmation and follow up email prior to arrival. Very helpful and courteous staff. We stayed in room 510, top floor facing internal courtyard, no view but extremely quiet. Transferred noise is always one of our gripes, but here we had a wonderful sleeping environment. The breakfast was included in the price. The breakfast was one of the best and most extensive we have encountered in European Hotels. Not to be missed. We stayed four nights and paid 97E per night around $A 130 which we consider to be excellent value. The Hotel was in a very good location, only two minutes walk to the underground, lines U1 and U4 at Schedenplatz. We purchased a three day ticket for the train, bus and tram which was excellent and good value. The Hotel was also an easy walk, less than 10 minutes to central Vienna around St Stephans Church. Overall quiet, great breakfast, clean comfortable room and very good value for your dollar. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Booked direct via Hotels web site for best tariff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear JohnandAv,

We are delighted to read about your holidays in our Hotel City Central. We appreciate your nice compliments for our staff, the hotel location and especially the breakfast offer. Thank you.

Our Homepage is constantly updated and you can benefit from a guaranteed best rate, so we are sure that you will find an appropriate offer, also for your next Vienna vacation.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We had 3 nights at this hotel and it was a very comfortable stay. Beds were comfortable and bathroom was fine. We were within walking distance of the main areas. Breakfast and internet were included in the rate. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear aussgirl,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are happy to learn that you had a very comfortable stay with us and appreciate your compliments.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in the future and look forward to your next reservation. Vienna is beautiful also in autumn.

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel City Central, which we felt met our needs. On the plus side, the hotel was located just outside the ring road and was within walking distance of the major sights; we only used the U-bahn on one occasion. The staff was friendly and helpful; the hotel made arrangements for us to hear a concert one evening. The breakfast was more than adequate, including the most perfect soft-boiled eggs we found on our trip. Our room was on the courtyard side, so there was no noise from the street; however, the walls were somewhat thin, something to consider in view of the fact that the hotel attracts families with children. The bathroom was immaculate, but the water pressure and temperature was variable to the point of annoyance.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BullwinkleJMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear BullwinkleJMoose,

Thank you for posting your review.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Hotel City Central met your needs.

Your critic regarding the water pressure and temperature has been noticed and already passed to the hotel manager, in order to check and clear these problems. Thank you for steering our attention to it.

We hope, you will nevertheless choose again a Schick Hotel for your next Vienna stay and therefore look forward to your next booking.

With best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We were a party of 6 in 2 rooms over Easter 2011 weekend (3 nights). The hotel is in a quite central position with only a 5 minute walk across the bridge to Schwedenplatz or a 10 minute walk to Stephanplatz! Overall our stay was a good one! Staff were always happy to help out! Breakfast was always fresh with a wide choice. Free wifi is definitely a plus! My only two complaints are 1) on our arrival ikon Saturday, the weather in Vienna was extremely hot and you can imagine that inside a hotel room it is even hotter! We saw an a/c in the room but no controller was available! We went to reception and asked if we could have a controller to operate the a/c. His reply was that it isn't hot enough foe us to be able to let you use the a/c! Sorry but no one can tell me if we are hot or not! Only we can decide that! So no controller was given and none of us could sleep on the first night even though we opened all the windows which caused a lot of noise problems coming from neighbouring bars/clubs! 2) parking at €20.50 a night is a bit too much in my opinion! It cost us €61.50 just to park the car!
One other comment is that the rooms are too small! With 3 beds in the room there was hardly any space to accommodate our luggage!
Would we stay there again: probably not because if it happens to be hot again I wouldnt want to risk it!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonimus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your evaluation. With pleasure we learn that you were satisfied with the hotel location, our breakfast offer and the Internet access.

Regarding the room: our Hotel City Central offers also apartments and family rooms which are bigger than double rooms. With pleasure we will advise you at the time of your next reservation.

Please do accept our sincere excuses for your negative experience with our receptionist. The controllers for the air conditioning were not distributed in the room, at the time of your stay, because we had this just turned on. However, this matter does not excuse the answer you get,
just like the non-delivery of the remote control. Of course, your critic has already been discussed to avoid such happening in future. Again, sorry.

We hope you will still choose again our Hotel for your next stay and so give us the opportunity to show you our quality and service consciousness.

In the meantime, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We spent a couple of days at The City central Hotel, and we can wholeheartly recommend this hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff extremely helpful (We wish to expressly mention and thank Marco Busata for his support in dealing with some minor problems we experienced - not related to the hotel, mind you); in addition the breakfast is excellent both in quality and quantity and the location is perfect, just a short walk from the Schwedenplatz U-Bahn). There is a warning however that we feel obliged to mention: the windows do not have curtains but only small blinds to avoid the morning light. Now if you intend to sleep until late morning and do not want to be awaken by the flood of light at dawn you better wear a sleeper mask.

Room Tip: ask for a internal room to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serena71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Dear guest!

We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation and that you recommend our Hotel City Central.

But we are sorry that you missed the possibility to darken the room, in order to sleep longer in the morning and not be woken by the light.
Kindly note that we do have curtains in the room; these are beside the window and held together by a band, this one needs only to be opened and than you can easily close the curtains.

We regret that we can show you this anymore and kindly ask you to not hesitate to contact our reception, for any support needed during your next stay, in one of our Schick Hotels. We are at your disposal and are pleased to help.

We hope, you will soon visit us again. In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#21 of 361 in Vienna
1,221 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#23 of 361 in Vienna
527 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#18 of 361 in Vienna
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#25 of 361 in Vienna
720 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 361 in Vienna
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Central

Property: Hotel City Central
Address: Taborstrasse 8, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Vienna
#35 Family Hotel in Vienna
#49 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#51 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#68 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City Central 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name already reveals much about the smart Hotel City Central’s advantages. The central location near the 1st District, the historic centre of Vienna, coupled with the employees’ typical Viennese charm and a perfect price-performance ratio, distinguish this hotel. Behind the stylish facade, guests find a perfect refuge for their stay in Vienna. 58 rooms and three individual apartments in a nearby building are all convincing thanks to modern comforts such as air conditioning, FLAT TV with Sky programs, and WLAN (free of charge). A special attraction is the Winter Garden with its pyramid-shaped glass roof where a rich and varied breakfast is served. Covered parking spaces are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Appartements City Central
Appartements City Central Hotel
Best Western Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing