We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel City Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Central
Ranked #62 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Located a 5 minute walk from Schwedenplatz and the subway, this hotel is well situated for a visit to Vienna. Great service, wonderful breakfast. Rooms were a nice size, quiet with good beds. Free Wi-Fi in rooms. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kagatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear kagatlin,

Thank you very much for your very positive review.

With pleasure we learn about your impressions and are very happy that you would stay again with us.

Waiting for your next reservation, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese Charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

In the 2nd District just a short walk over the bridge from Schwednplatz and metro, tram , and airport bus connections, this hotel more than met our needs for a weekend stay.
The staff is both courteous and professional and accomodated our request to change from a family room to a double and a triple without demur and without the imposition of any additional charge .
Rooms 204 & 205 were clean, spacious and very comfortable and the inclusive breakfast buffet delicious and plentiful.
While there are few restaurants in the immediate area, there are many within a short walk around the Schwedenplatz and more within a 10 minute walk around Stephansplatz.
All in all much enjoyed and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beech71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear beech71,

We are delighted to read that our Hotel City Central more than met your needs for a weekend stay.

We are happy that we had the opportunity to offer you an alternative accommodation and make you feel very comfortable.

As you wrote the Hotel is situated near Schwedenplatz, which offers a great connection to the public transports and the possibility to get to the centre even by foot.

We hope you will choose us again at the time of your next Vienna visit and remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese Charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hotel gets full marks for location, breakfast and service. The room was exactly as I expected from the photos on Tripadvisor but it is a little small - just like other rooms in capital cities in Europe. There is quite a big staff of reception people and they are all excellent. We got a lovely friendly and helpful welcome. They answered any queries we had in a knowledgeable and friendly manner.
Breakfast was much better than you would expect..... there was a great array of fruits, yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses were particularly good, pastries, juices. There was a small selection of hot food. But the clincher for me was the champagne - and it was replenished freely throughout breakfast time. I was surprised to see how many people selected it also... It was good quality and added that little bit extra to the experience. All diningroom staff were pleasant and cleared as was needed and they provided the hot drinks. They were always smiling (no morning grumps here!)
2 mins away is the Schwedenplatz underground station from where you can reach anyplace you like in Vienna. (The Vienna Card was a great plan - it allows you unlimited travel on the Underground for 24 hrs, 48 hrs or 72 hours).
You could walk to Stephenplatz which is the centre of Vienna in about 10 minutes at a slow pace.
All in all, I'd highly recommend this hotel. The reviews I had read here were the reason I chose it and I hope this review gets them a few more well-deserved customers. Well done City Central!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was lovely and quiet as requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stibars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Stibars,

Thank you for your positive review and your nice compliments.

We are very pleased to learn that we have offered you a very nice stay in Vienna and thank you for recommending us.

We hope you will visit us back soon and look forward to your next booking.

In the meanwhile, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Located in the 2nd district, metro station is around 100 meters but if you want Stephans Platz is 10 minute walking, around you can find a varierty of restaurant. Staff is kindly, I got a spacious room but forniture were really old style (as the whole hotel) and wardrobe was vey small, breakfast need to be improved, poor variety of salami and vegetable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Angelo F,

thank you for posting your impressions. We are happy to read that you liked the hotel location and appreciate the proximity to the city centre.

We also read your comments about the room and are glad to learn that you were very satisfied with the size; but unfortunately did not like the furniture. We noticed your critic which will be discussed when planning future renovations.

The breakfast buffet offers a variety of cold cuts and cheese. Regarding the vegetables: we offer cucumber, tomato, red and yellow pepper. Your improvement suggestion regarding salami and further vegetables has been passed to the direction. Thanks for sharing.

We thank you for your constructive criticism, which supports us in optimizing our offer.

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain,

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Great loaction --only walking distance away from central . Easy access from the airport. One Supermarket besdies the Hotel ..Breakfast was amazing ..
My flight arrived in early morning before 6:00 am . The concierge offered me a full complimentary breakfast and arranged for check in around 8:00 am .. What a fantastic service

Room Tip: Wall insulation is a bit thin . This could be th eonly minus that I experienced during my stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walt1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear walt1524,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are delighted to learn that you were very satisfied with the offered service.

We are happy that you could enjoy your Viennese stay, from beginning on, despite a very early arrival! Your nice compliments have been forwarded to the staff, thank you.

Looking forward to your next visit, we wish you a nice autumn.

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The only issue I had during my stay was that the internet did not work in my room but, fortunately, I spent more time outsde the hotel than expected.
The breakfast was amazing and the staff was really kind and helpful!
The location is just perfect - 1 minute walk to metro station and 5 minutes walk to Stefan Platz!
A hotel I would recommend for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: they have smoking rooms in which you can breathe - they do not have that usual horrible smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear oana m,

thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community.

We are sorry to read that at the time of your stay you had some problems with the internet connection. Please do accept our sincere excuses. Fortunately I can already inform you, that we checked this issue and improved this service.

With pleasure we learn that the breakfast offer and our staff fully convinced you and made you feel very comfortable.

We thank you for recommending us and look forward to welcome you back soon.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the first time last year and as it was such a great hotel we returned again. On check in we were advised we had been upgraded to an Apartment. Whilst it’s a one min walk from the Hotel it was well worth it. An amazing Apartment which was so big, separate Kitchen, (with sitting area), Living room with TV, DVD player, and a great size bathroom. The only negative thing I can say about the Apartment is that did not have Air Con. As it was 30deg outside it was a little hot,however when I rang reception and asked for a fan it was bought up within five min and it did save the day.
The hotel staff are great, so very friendly and helpful, I can’t remember the name of the gentleman on reception when we arrived, but he was so friendly and helpful , he welcomed us back to the hotel and also arranged for us to go on a trip the next day. The staff at breakfast were great too, even asking what type of coffee we preferred and always with a smile. A huge choice at breakfast from continental to full English.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, great staff, good rooms and only a ten min walk to the city centre. I will certainly stay here the next time I am in Vienna.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andycap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear andycap1,

What a great pleasure having you back again.

We are very happy that our offer convinced you on your first trip, so that you decided to stay with us again.

We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your re-visit and hope to count you to our regular guests.

Looking forward to your next visit, we wish you a nice summer ending.

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#21 of 358 in Vienna
1,328 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 358 in Vienna
812 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#46 of 358 in Vienna
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#22 of 358 in Vienna
587 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#137 of 358 in Vienna
1,048 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Central

Address: Taborstrasse 8, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Vienna
#49 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#64 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#68 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £68 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City Central 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name already reveals much about the smart Hotel City Central’s advantages. The central location near the 1st District, the historic centre of Vienna, coupled with the employees’ typical Viennese charm and a perfect price-performance ratio, distinguish this hotel. Behind the stylish facade, guests find a perfect refuge for their stay in Vienna. 58 rooms and three individual apartments in a nearby building are all convincing thanks to modern comforts such as air conditioning, FLAT TV with Sky programs, and WLAN (free of charge). A special attraction is the Winter Garden with its pyramid-shaped glass roof where a rich and varied breakfast is served. Covered parking spaces are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Appartements City Central
Appartements City Central Hotel
Best Western Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing