We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Hotel City Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Central
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Great location and very good breakfast included with the room rate. The reception staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms need a bit of refurbishing and a touch of modern freshness! Overall great experience and would certainly stay in again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aznavour33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Aznavour33,

We are glad to learnt that you made an overall great experience and would stay again with us.

We noticed your improvement suggestions and look forward to welcome you back soon.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    300
    72
    11
    2
See reviews for
149
327
52
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

All of the reviews I have read are accurate in that the service, breakfast and value are outstanding. The furnishings, carpets and linens are all a bit worn. I stayed in a single room, which may account for this. The room was very clean, so the shabby but not chic of the room was tolerable. What was a bit more difficult was the noise. I could hear my neighbours conversation and the sound of water rushing every time the upstairs neighbours used their bath. Overall, I recommend this hotel given its price and outstanding service.

Helpful?
Thank Fortheus N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Fortheus N,

We thank you for reviewing us and taking this possibility to inform us about your experience.
We noticed your critic regarding the furnishings, the carpet and the lines and already passed your important information to the involved department and our direction. With pleasure we will discuss your important improvement proposals, when planning future renovations.

With pleasure we learn that you were very satisfied with the offered service, the breakfast and our price value ratio; but we regret that you found the room having a bad soundproof and hope that you still spend restful nights with us.

We are happy that you still recommend us and would be pleased to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regard from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I was staying in this hotel during 4 days. The hotel has a wonderful location, just 200-300m from the undergound station and just a 5 mn walk from the Cathedral of St.Stephen. The staff is very professional and nice. I celebrated my birthday during this stay and the staff put in my room a plate of fruit and a bottle of wine. The hotel is ancient but offers all the comfort. However the soundproofing is poor and you can hear all the sounds from your neighbor room, The breakfast is great but it seems that personal is not enough for all demands, Overall a good value for money and I recommend it !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear JoseP5,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel City Central to celebrate your birthday. We are happy that you found it a good value and thank you for your recommendation.

We noticed your remark regarding the sound-proof and still hope you could spend some restful nights.

We assure you that we want to offer each guest a nice stay and the breakfast offer is an important part of it. Your feedback has already been passed to the service staff, thank you.

Wishing you a nice Christmas season, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just returned from a 4day break, ideal location for exploring Vienna. However the hospitality shown was exceptional. Helpful, pleasant, informative, friendly, knowledgeable, and I could go on. Basically they do no wrong.

Room Tip: To the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carly778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear carly778,

We appreciate your nice compliments and are very happy to read how much you enjoyed your holiday in Vienna.

We hope you will keep us in good memories and wish you a joyful Christmas season.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location with an easy walk to the Center of Vienna and a block distance from the underground rail system. The breakfast is spectacular with outstanding service. The desk staff were cheerful and always helpful answering each and every question. The down side is the thin walls so if your neighbors decide to chat the night away you are likely to hear nearly every word.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is isolated from others
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedBlaesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear TedBlaesing,

We are delighted to read that you spend a nice stay at our Hotel City Central and thank you very much for your kind comments.

Your remark regarding the sound-proof has been noticed. We still hope you could spend some restful nights.

Wishing you a nice Christmas season, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It was our second stay in this hotel. It has a good central position in town (just across the bridge from Schwedenplatz, at short walking distance from St. Stephen’s Cathedral). The hotel is set in a nice Art Deco building and offers all modern comfort in a traditional style atmosphere (some refresh in the decoration of the rooms – with attention to details and using professional competences in interior design - would give a plus). The reception staff is extremely friendly and caring, preserving a traditional manner of hospitality. The breakfast is great. In winter the rooms are well heated, offering a restful ambiance. The hotel has its own garage parking, with decent prices at Vienna’s level. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear RCri,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community.

We appreciate your compliments and thank you for taking the chance to also submitt your improvement suggestion. With pleasure we will discuss it, when planning future renovations.

We are happy that you enjoyed your holidays and hope we will again be your first choice, by booking your next Vienna trip.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West London/Surrey
Level Contributor
304 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I spend a lot of time reading Tripadvisor reviews before booking any hotel, and I chose the City Central based on the mainly positive reviews, plus the price and location. We were not disappointed.

Sure, the hotel is not state of the art modern luxury, but it provides you with everything you will need for a stay in Vienna, and the friendliness and warmth of the staff give it a very nice feeling.

The rooms are kept very clean and in good order, it was dated, but not a problem, it did add to the charm, something which I'm certain would be missing at the Sofitel just up the road (for example).

The concept of having to use an actual key with a big fob attached to unlock the room is 20 or 30 years or more out of date now, but on the positive side, this means you have to talk to the reception staff to get your key each time, and therefore you are slowly building the relationship with them, something which would be lacking if you had an entry card to the room.

Breakfast was very nice - a good choice and very well presented. Breakfast staff were always friendly.

Location is great, you can walk to the heart of Vienna in 15 minutes, plus you have a couple of underground stations within 10 minutes walk. Billa supermarket underneath the hotel is very convenient for buying water and snacks.

We also got a free welcome drink on arrival, these little touches really do add up and make a difference.

Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear AFCW,

With pleasure we learn that you choose our Hotel City Central based on the TripAdvisor reviews and our offers.

We are delighted that you describe our staff to be friendly and warm and that this contributed in making you feel comfortable. Thank you for your nice compliments.

We are happy that you enjoyed your holidays and thank you for recommending us to further Vienna visitors.

Wishing you a nice autumn continuation, we send charming regards to South West London/Surrey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#24 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#21 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#25 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#30 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Central

Property: Hotel City Central
Address: Taborstrasse 8, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Vienna
#35 Family Hotel in Vienna
#43 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#49 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#68 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City Central 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name already reveals much about the smart Hotel City Central’s advantages. The central location near the 1st District, the historic centre of Vienna, coupled with the employees’ typical Viennese charm and a perfect price-performance ratio, distinguish this hotel. Behind the stylish facade, guests find a perfect refuge for their stay in Vienna. 58 rooms and three individual apartments in a nearby building are all convincing thanks to modern comforts such as air conditioning, FLAT TV with Sky programs, and WLAN (free of charge). A special attraction is the Winter Garden with its pyramid-shaped glass roof where a rich and varied breakfast is served. Covered parking spaces are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Appartements City Central
Appartements City Central Hotel
Best Western Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing