We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Ranked #166 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. At check in we were offered an upgraded room at no extra charge, pleasant start to stay. Room was large with a lovely bathroom andwas comfortable. The breakfast items offered were more than adequate and everything of good quality. The position of the hotel is excellent being just a few yards off Mariahilfer Strasse where there is an underground station. We would love to return to Vienna and to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JungerSchwung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fuerst Metternich
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very nice hotel, in good location next to Maria-Hilfer strasse, one of the major shopping zones, and 1 min walk from metro station. The room we stayed was really nice, with good and comfy beds, nice bathroom, very clean and nicely decorated. We were upgraded to this superior room without surcharge, which was really nice from them. We had a really good sleep. Reception staff was really kind and helpful. Parking is available 2 min from the hotel. Parking system is a bit complicated to understand, but we managed somehow. The only thing that wasn't perfect about the room, is that it was really dark, almost no daylight at all, so we had a feeling in the mornings that there is no sun at all outside. Some of the breakfast staff weren't really pleasant, you couldn't almost hear "good morning", "good buy" or "thank you" from them. I guess that they are not that delightful with their job, but hey....it is not our problem. But all the other hotel staff are more than pleasant and kind. Also I think that the breakfast is a bit limited for the price of almost 14 EURO per person. It is basically continental breakfast, with not even one hot meal option. Those are really just minor disadvantages, we were generally quite happy with this hotel, and would recommend it to everybody as a nice option for the weekend stay in Vienna. Just note-the value for money is like in any hotel in Vienna, it is overpriced for what you get, but on the other hand you have to count on this when you go to Vienna generally.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It was suggested to us by a friend (who lives in Vienna) to stay in the 7th District during our brief stay here in early January this year.

The entrance to Hotel Fuerst Metternich is deceptive, as we mistook the sign for an American Bar (which actually is on the lower level of the Hotel's premises). The room we stayed in was small, but comfortable and suited our needs. The location was within in very close proximity to Zieglergasse, which opened up the whole city to us via the metro underground.

The wifi was excellent, and the room was clean, however, we didn't feel as though our room was particually 'boutqiue', as advertised. With that said, we were happy with the Hotel's service and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha-and-Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Fuerst Metternich, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks a lot for your friendly feedback and the time you spent for writing it!
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and would be happy to welcoming you, your friends of familiy (again).
Kind regards from your Hotel Fürst Metternich-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I was staying for a week in Vienna and I booked a comfort double room in furst Metternich which is much better than the ordinary double room in terms of size, view from the window and room setup.
After I checked in I realized that there wifi doesn't reach my room because it's in the higher floors
It was very disappointing because Internet is very important to plan things.
I had to tell the receptionist who, at the begining, said that I have to wait for technician and such stuff...but then she sympathized with me and gave me another room in a lower floor closer to the wifi hub. The new room was small and depressing with no view.
I even was not refunded the difference.
The hotel is really nice and very well located with proximity to everything that someone would need. But it's a shame that they don't care about the comfort of their guests.

Room Tip: Make sure that wifi is working before u book
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fayrouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Fuerst Metternich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

First of all, I want to thank you for your Feedback. It helps us, to improve our services.
I am really sorry, that you had some problems with WiFi. It should also work in the upper floors. We will check and fix that.
Our receptionists are adviced to offer room changes if there are some problems and you should get the same category. If there was no other superior room available, of course they should have offered you price reduction or something else. We do always aim to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible! If you send me an E-Mail, I can have a look at your reservation, maybe we can still offer you something. Please get back to me at Anita.schlattner@austrotel.at (hotel-Manager)
I hope that you could still enjoy your stay and everything else was ok!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

the location is perfect, really close to the shopping street and to the metro line, in 2 stop you are in the center of wien ! Our room was in the first floor and was ok: clean, with cable tv and fridge. Just the door was old and overloocking was in courtyard. Staff was gentle and smiling, expecially the lady.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pit-Roma-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Fuerst Metternich, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback and the time you spent for writing it! We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you have been confident. I will forward your feedback also to our receptionist! We would be happy to welcoming you, your family or friends again in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The title says it all except for Breakfast. We only needed to fill up at the excellent breakfast buffet to keep us going well into the afternoon; a huge choice of classic European breakfast items, even Champagne and proper English tea. The room we had was delightful and the bathroom, with bath as requested, clean and well maintained during our visit. The dining room staff were helpful, friendly and, discretely, very efficient. Likewise the reception staff who were very welcoming; our request for an extra pillow when we had arrived about 10pm was dealt with quickly and pleasantly. As a hotel to stay in that is not quite in the city centre it was very convenient to the U Bahn, with 2 stations nearby and it is no more than a leasurely 30 minutes stroll to the museums, galleries and cultural heart of the old city. In a quiet street about 500 metres from Mariahilfstrasse, a popular shopping street with a wide variety of eateries and some very classy shops, I cannot conjure up anything negative to say at all. The hotel building itself also has a charm and style of its own.Thanks Hotel Fuerst Metternich for helping to make our first trip to Vienna so memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Fuerst Metternich, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your nice words about our hotel and hotel staff! It is our pleasure to make our guests stay as convenient as possible!
We are happy that you enjoyed the special charme of our art nouveau building as well as our location, breakfast and staff!
We would be happy to welcoming you, your friends or family again in out hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It is an old inconspicuous house, close to the famous "Naschmarkt" and next to "Mariahilferstraße". In few minutes you reach the citycenter by foot.
The location is central in Vienna, friendly staff, good breakfast, very nice bar "Barfly`s", there is really nothing to complain - just go there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4HHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Fuerst Metternich, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your friendly feedback and the time you spent for writing it. We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have been confident. We would be happy to welcoming you, your friends or familiy again!
Your Hotel Fürst Metternich Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Austria Trend Hotel Anatol Wien
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Mariahilf
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Pension Corvinus
Hotel Pension Corvinus
#177 of 361 in Vienna
148 reviews
Mariahilf
Arthotel ANA Boutique Six
Arthotel ANA Boutique Six
#213 of 361 in Vienna
365 reviews
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#164 of 361 in Vienna
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerst Metternich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerst Metternich

Address: Esterhazygasse 33, Vienna 1060, Austria (Formerly Austrotel Fuerst Metternich)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#124 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £56 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fuerst Metternich 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to present the rich in traditon Boutique Hotel Fürst Metternich in hostoric splendor as an individual, family run boutique hotelTradition & FlairThe Hotel Fürst Metternich offers its guests the unique flair of Vienna at the turn of the 19th to the 20th century. The building in the style of the German Neo-Renaissance was built in 1896 and is embedded in a row of houses with typical Viennese character. A special highlight is the preferred downtown location in a quiet side street of the shopping boulevard “Mariahilfer Straße“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fuerst Metternich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrotel Fuerst Metternich Vienna
Austrotel Fuerst Metternich Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing