We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gemuetlichkeit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #147 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Gemuetlichkeit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you are looking for a few days' accommodation in a centrally-located hotel in the heart of the Innere Stadt, you really can't do better than Hotel Amadeus. It's just round the corner from Stephansplatz and the cathedral and within easy walking distance of the architectural splendours of the Habsburgs, such as the Hofburg and Wiener Staats Oper. Also, the U-bahn is right opposite St. Stephan's. The staff were friendly and helpful and speak English. Breakfast was good, our room was spotless and the price very reasonable for peak season in Vienna. It is not a full service hotel with luncheon, dinner and bar etc., but that doesn't matter as there are plenty of eating and drinking choices within the vicinity. Clientele is varied, but seemed to be mostly German/Austrian from our breakfast room observations.

Thumbs up for this sehr gemütlich establishment !

Room Tip: Maybe higher up to avoid traffic noise, but the street is not too noisy anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    65
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
55
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were 9 friends staying at Hotel Amadeus in Wien and all of us had a very good experience. The hotel is located in the old historical part of Wien, right around the corner from Stephanskirche and all the nice restaurants, bars and classical Wiener cafees.
The breakfast here is special, and served in a very friendly atmosphere, and it is excellent with all you can wish for.
The rooms are spacious, and it is very clean
I recommend this hotel if you are visiting Wien, a very good place to rest your feet after walking around the historical centre of this beautiful and very friendly town.
And the hotel arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and when we should go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

A two day bussines trip to Vienna and thanks to this hotels's perfect location we were able to actually see the town's center and its magnificient palaces and chatedrals. Hotel rooms are spotless, nicely designed with very comfortable bed and delightful linen. Breakfast is very generous and tasteful.
WI-FI is free and in good shape and customer service very helpful and friendly.
We bought a parking ticket at the hotel and paid for it, but it turned out the ticket was not readable by the garage ticketing system so we had to pay the parking once again.
We went to the hotel and complained and the lady at the reception kindly and without hesitation returned the money apologizing profusely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I just completed a 10-day stay at Hotel Amadeus in Vienna. On a quiet street near Stephendom; very friendly and helpful staff; huge breakfasts that catered to all nationalities. My room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable and the all-cotton, ironed linens were wonderful!

Room Tip: One away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindahowe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel from March 28 until April 01 2014. The reason I give 1-worse is the very bad customer service! During the checkout time the reception lady was very impolite and rude, she was literally screaming and yelling at us that 2 taxis were ordered for the airport! She was very concerned primarily that the hotel might get charged for one of the taxis, but she DID NOT care about the customers/us, that we might miss our flight; the receptionist was extremely rude, screaming and screaming consistently; she raised her voice several times with total disrespect to us "how would be possible 2 taxis to come to pick us up" and that we did something very wrong... This is totally unacceptable - when one of the taxi drivers came in and created a problem, the receptionist turned on me/us that it was our fault the 2 taxis were ordered! At this time a local country fellow came in the hotel front door to check in and the receptionist was very polite to him pointing us out being "the bad guys" and saying to him "not to worry", meaning we were some kind of dumb and ignorant, "second hand" people, coming from the U.S. not knowing anything and only creating problems...This was a clear offensive harassment and discrimination towards us! Foreign guys and tourists, please, do not stay in this hotel, you will not be treated the right way. This hotel only supports the locals as giving them special attention, all others and trash... Cheers, Milo Georgiev Boston

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiloYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A nice little hotel in the center of Vienna, close to metro and shopping districts. The room and the bathroom are impeccably clean which is very important. Wi-fi is free of charge. The staff is very helpful and nice. Breakfast was also very good. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

It's a very nice . Small and beautifully with a great design "imperial style" and clean . I have spent some days here for a work-trip and I've had a good time. The breakfast is great with fresh fruit and a good "small espresso" done by the waiters.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superjackpizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#186 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#125 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#77 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#146 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#127 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#58 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Property: Hotel Amadeus
Address: Wildpretmarkt 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amadeus 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the heart of Vienna, the hotel enjoys a superb location in the 1st district of the Austrian capital. Hotel Amadeus is the ideal starting point to explore the beautiful city of Vienna or conduct your business. Cafes and restaurants serving Viennese cuisine as well as elegant shops and boutiques can be found in immediate vicinity. St. Stephan's Cathedral and the Hofburg (Imperial Residence) are only a stone’s throw away from the hotel. Elegance, tranquillity and personal touch ensure that your stay in the Hotel Amadeus will be an enjoyable one. The well-furnished rooms fulfil the needs of both business and private guests and a delicious breakfast makes for good start into the day. We look forward to welcoming you! Elisabeth Pfneisl, General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing