We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to relax near Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Wilhelminenberg Wien
Ranked #11 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to relax near Vienna”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is an old palace located in beautiful place 30 minuets drive from Vienna city center and about 50 minuets from the Vienna International airport. at the first impression I thought it is an old hotel without proper maintenance, as the lobby area and the entrance needs a lot of improvements. but as soon as I went to the 3rd floor where I stayed with my wife for one night, we noticed it is totally renovated, the room was specious and renovated, and very comfy. the bathroom is like a modern capsule inside the room, the hotel consists of 3 floors the ground and 1st floor rooms ( all renovated) are all lofts with the bed in the upper part of the room. the 3rd floor is normal rooms but there is no A/C in the rooms. the hotel location is on a hill in the middle of woods, very charming location excellent for relaxing. the service is outstanding, the check-in- check-out was fast and efficient and the house keeping is amassing very very fast . I highly recommend this hotel for conferences, for people who wants to relax while staying near the city. the hotel has excellent WI-FI and it is free of charge and a lot of parking places also free of charge. the view form the terrace is also excellent. there is also a public transportation by bus that stops next to he hotel every hour that takes you to the metro station and from their you can get to the city center, the total journey is about 30-35 minutes. however, I do not recommend his hotel for short stays nor for tourists with no cars. with the same price level you can get a nice hotel in the Belevadair area that is quite but very near to city center.

Room Tip: rooms in the front overlooking the city-skyline, and rooms at the back looks on the trees. no A/C in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatemzaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    100
    42
    15
    12
See reviews for
46
112
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is a treasure. There is not many places, where you can sleep in a real palace. The first impression from outsides is maybe not the best, since the front of the house needs to be repainted. But as soon as you step into it, you get the wow feeling. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Suite which is two connected rooms, where the sofa can be turned in a double bed. So we had in fact a two bedroom suite, perfect the four of us. There is also special pillows available at the front desk.

Even though the Hotel is far out of the city, you are not off the world without a car. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and we never waited longer than 5 minutes until a bus of one of the two lines arrived. From there in a 10 Minute ride to Ottakring where you find U and S-Bahn which bring you fast into the center. There is also a tramline directly connecting to Schönbrunn Castle.
The restaurant was ok, but very special was the perfect service of Mr Brani, who also made my wifes birthday more special. From the Restaurant terrace you have a great view over whole vienna.

There were 2 downsides of the hotel. The first night the heating was not working so it was quite fresh in the room, this was fixed the next day after we complained. The other one is that the WIFI signal in one of our 2 rooms was very weak. Apparently one router was broken and the hotel was waiting for replacement.
I asked the hotel for Airport Pick up which worked fine and was at the end cheaper by paying directly in the car than announced by the hotel. So if you use this service, dont put it on room charge.

Room Tip: For Families, book a suite, its cheaper than 2 rooms in a 3 star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Affolterli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Österreich
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We looked for a location not far from Vienna City to have a workshop out of office and found Hotel Schloss Wilhelminenberg. The hotel is in the 16. district of Vienna, on the hills, 20 min far away from Schönbrunn or from the Ring Street and it is surrounded by a park comprising 120,000 m² of woods, the views over Vienna are just impressive! Thus, you feel immediately relaxed as soon as you arrive a the place. There are two public buslines (46B and 146B) stopping in front of the hotel. This architectural, empire style of the building is very typical for Vienna. Regarding the interiors, we had a conference room for approx 15 people with nice views on Vienna. WLAN was working well and they didn't charge any fees for it. They also offer a PC and printer corner for free. The food they served us (catering) was acceptable, but I had expected something better. The staff was kind and competent and did react quickly on our demands. The atmosphere is all in all okay, the location and views impressive, and even if the state of the furniture and infrastructure is a little bit old, we had the feeling to have chosen the right location for our workshop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very impressed with the building from the outside but once you enter the building you realize the bad state of it.Everywhere you looked you could see the slow decay and the lack of means to repair.Another disappointing thing was the very weak wi fi signal .Even if I got an upgrade overall impression stay the same.Very disappointing for a 4 star hotel.This must have been beautiful once.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melle, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Typical example of looking really great on pictures but not a place I'd recommend in reality.

First impression on arrival was overal nice looking, pretty much like the pictures (castle-like) on the outside. But from close up you could already see the hotel was not so fresh anymore. And that was pretty much the leit-motiv of our entire stay. Given, nothing was really bad or awfull to a point were I wanted to pack and leave but nothing was really good either which for an alleged 4- stars (?!?) hotel is really poor. Everywhere you looked you could see the slow decay and the lack of means to repaear it going from painting scratches (not the end of the world of course) to missing decoration , old elevators, screw drivers to keep the windows closed (seriously?) , water infiltration in the ceiling, poor ceiling decoration.

We took one evening dinner and that was enough to convince us not to take a second one in the hotel, again not bad to the point were you want to speak a solid word with the chef but truly average especially considering the price.

The worst of all was the almost absence of Wifi in the hotel even in the lobby. Strong signal but the signal was of such bad quality my phone and that of pretty much all my kids shut down the connection. This has never happened before in even the most remote parts of the world I have been. And this was a constant phenomenen troughout our 5 day stay.

Last point the overal architecure of the hotel is really boring (19th century inimaginative square) not much you can do about that I guess but overall the boreness extend to the entire hotel were there is absolutely NOTHING to do at all, not even a descent bar if you would be tempted to drink it all away...

The gardens were not much to talk about either in the winter (early spring), probably this gets better in the summer.

So was everything bad, of course not here are the good things:

Our stay was very cheap 75 euro per room per night is of course not much for a 4-star hotel. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. The rooms are spacious and neat, the bathroom even looks kind of modern.The breakfast was quite ok (not a top score but better than the evening food). The immediate proximity of a vaste forest compensates for the lack of activity on the premises.

But really, none of this even remotely closely compensates for the disadvantages, in my book this is a 3-star hotel at best and if they plan on charging more than 75 euro per room I would think twice before booking there, I know I won't ever again for sure...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jules D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This must have been beautiful once. However whoever did the make over seemed to miss the point that beautiful old high ceilings and plaster work should have matching furniture and general styling. A hideous divider in the restaurant and cheap furniture in the bedrooms with thin cheap duvets made the place feel like a below average conference centre. Hotel computer didn't work so an enormous palaver to print out handouts for a talk. Staff seemed like they could care less. Room service finished stupidly early for late arrivals and loud music played by workman meant impossible to work in room during the day. Food mediocre. And miles from Vienna. All a bit well eagles dare and couldn't wait to escape. Glad I wasn't paying for this.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The building is very nice and noble reflecting its history. The rooms are very clean but there is no internet in the rooms. Tv cannot be watched from the bed. Dinner is good. Breakfast is average. A lot of mosquitos in the breakfast area. To have a walk around the hotel is really nice. There is a brasserie very close on the right side of the building. Enjoy the sunset...very clean toilets and beds.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeliha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#158 of 360 in Vienna
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#155 of 360 in Vienna
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Wilhelminenberg Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Wilhelminenberg Wien

Property: Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Wilhelminenberg Wien
Address: Savoyenstrasse 2, Vienna 1160, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Wilhelminenberg Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers noble ambience in stylish & representative rooms, built in the Neo-Empire style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Wilhelminenberg Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing