We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Wien Messe
Ranked #137 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First time staying in this chain. Often low cost hotels feel a bit ...grim. This was quite the opposite. Clean as a pin, bright, comfortable and very well thought out. I have paid a lot more for a lot less many times. Big comfy airy bedroom. Free and effective wifi. A nice bar and simple but good options on breakfast and snacks. The biggest plus was the staff - over four days we dealt with some super helpful and sincerely warm people, particularly the women at reception. We good good advice on food, transport and sightseeing.

An odd thing - no safe in rooms you have to sign in and out to the down stairs safe every time you leave your room eg in the case of laptop which is annoying and hard on the staff too.

Hansys restaurant good - five mins up the road. There are shops and a grocery in the u-bahn station - lots of activity there whereas at street level it seems like there is not much other than offices at first glance.

Overall impressed by the IBIS model and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eveamrotcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h2736, Manager at Hotel Ibis Wien Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Wien Messe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Gerhard Tuschetschläger
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at the Ibis Wien Messe for 4 nights in a double room on the second floor facing the courtyard. It is located down the street from the metro stop Vogartenstrabe and we decided to purchase a 3 day metro pass (cost 15.40 euros per person vs. 2.40 euros single ride) for the convenience.

The room is a great value for Vienna! Although it was on the smaller size, it is fine for two people who plan to spend most of the day exploring the city. The bed was very comfortable, there was a long working desk, small television and a small area for clothing storage. The bathroom is not only small but also headache inducing, with bright flickering fluorescent lights and white washed amenities.

Check in and out were very smooth. Be prepared to pay the city tax per person per night upon check out. I did not eat in the restaurant and cannot comment on it.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to travel to Vienna on a budget. You will not find much better at this price range.

Budget Eats: Bakery down the street called Anker was great for breakfasts. Happy Noodles offers delicious noodle boxes on Leopoldstadt for about 4 euros. The sausage stand between the Opera House and Albertina proved to be one of the best in the city - tons of variety and good prices. Praterstern has a Billa grocery store, Mcdondalds and Turkis (Kebabs) all of which are somewhat good value and within walking distance of Ibis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ExploreWithMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h2736, Manager at Hotel Ibis Wien Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Wien Messe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Gerhard Tuschetschläger
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at the Ibis Hotel Wien Messe for 4 nights while visiting Vienna. Check in was quick and seamless and within minutes we were already in our room. Our room faced the inner courtyard which was quite boring to look at but was shaded which kept our room cool.

The room is a decent size and the beds and pillows are very comfortable. The wifi was mediocre and a few times we were unable to access it. The air conditioning worked very well and was great to have during the heatwave that central Europe was experiencing.

The hotel is easy to get to from the train station (1 transfer) and only 4 metro stops away from Stephansplatz in the heart of the Vienna tourist district.

There are many shops and bakeries in the area and a Billa located around the corner.

While we stayed at the regular Ibis and not the budget, the price for the regular is still very budget friendly considering the high cost of accommodation in the city.

Overall I would recommend the Hotel Ibis Wien Messe to anyone visiting Vienna who is looking for stress-free, comfortable, and affordable accommodation. I will definitely be staying here on my next visit to Vienna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street if you want to see any activity outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h2736, Manager at Hotel Ibis Wien Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Wien Messe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Gerhard Tuschetschläger
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel has a good location. Not downtown, but close to a subway station, then it`s easy to reach the main attractions of Vien. Room is good. The staff is also good. Breakfast is great, but could be better for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h2736, Manager at Hotel Ibis Wien Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Wien Messe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Gerhard Tuschetschläger
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Miro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
h2736, Manager at Hotel Ibis Wien Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Pros;

-- Location. You can get to and from the airport with the S Bahn that stops at the station just 5 minutes walk to the hotel. Two metro lines also at the same station.

-- Free WiFI

-- Comfortable bed and large room

Cons;

-- There is a large window (which is great) but the curtains are not sufficient to block the light. Usually there are 4 pieces of curtain (3 dark and one light) but in room 429 there were only 3 pieces (2 dark and 1 light).

-- The air conditioning control unit emits red, blue and orange lights that are quite bright and annoying. When the room is dark it feels like you are in a casino, a disco or on a flight path due to these persistent lights blinking.

Bottomline;

I gave it 4 tripadvisor stars despite the technical glitches because it is very clean and reasonably priced for Vienna...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Not Your B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h2736, Manager at Hotel Ibis Wien Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Wien Messe. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gerhard Tuschetschläger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Considering prices for Hotels in Vienna, this is very good value.

Location is good, only 2-3 metro station from city center and reachable by foot as well in 15-20 min. Very close to Prater.

Spacious room, not like other Ibis hotels where you can barely fit with the luggage.

Very nice continental breakfast with choices for everyone and served in cosy restaurant.

They have hotel parking for 14 EURO per day, however you can also park for free on a street very close to the hotel which looks very safe. We left our car there.

Reception ladies are not very helpful, it took them 30 min to figure out in their system that I had already pre-paid the room and breakfast. Although I kept repeating this and I also showed them the reservation & payment confirmation.


This is not a luxury hotel, however if you are looking for very good value for the money and a nice & clean place to stay this is the one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista_Dutca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h2736, Manager at Hotel Ibis Wien Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Wien Messe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Regarding our reception team I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Gerhard Tuschetschläger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#165 of 359 in Vienna
1,718 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#94 of 359 in Vienna
935 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Döbling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#56 of 359 in Vienna
1,066 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Leopoldstadt
Austria Trend Hotel Messe Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Wien Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Wien Messe

Address: Lassallestrasse 7A, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#130 Business Hotel in Vienna
#134 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £49 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Wien Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Wien Messe is a stone's throw from the exhibition center and Prater park. The nearby subway provides quick access to the city center, Austria Center and UNO City. The hotel is ideally located for trips to Donauinsel (Danube Island) or the Old Danube, and to many interesting sights in and around Vienna. You can access the airport directly by train. Whether you are here for business or for a cultural getaway, the 158 rooms offer contemporary comfort for a carefree stay in the Austrian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ibis Wien Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Vienna
Ibis Hotel Wien Mariahilf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing