We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saint Shermin
Ranked #19 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Its a pension.. a huge flat that was divided wisely into several rooms with a reception and a dinning room. Beside of its superb location and cleanness (really good), we could not find any further superlatives regarding this hotel.The staff members do not attend the place all the time, and sometimes the only stuff member is too busy in the reception and cannot prepare your eggs for breakfast :) For sure It's an OK place to be in Vienna, but if you are looking for a small, warm & cozy place, this is not the one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shavner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sissy F, Inhaber at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guests from Madrid,
Thank you for taking the trouble to rate. Sorry that our employees could not take enough time for you. We will discuss this topic in the team. Basically an employee is solely responsible for the guests to cherish for breakfast one another assistant in the reception. Mostly this works well and it is a pity that we could not offer this service.

Maybe you give us another chance on your next visit to Vienna.

Yours
Sissy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint Shermin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Recently on a trip thru Central Europe, my family and I had the pleasure to stay at the Hotel Saint Sherman. The Saint Sherman is a small and lovely "boutique" hotel close to the center on Vienna. They have about 12 rooms, each with its own name, such as the "Freud" room. Even though the staff are not at the desk on a 24/7 basis, they are always available. The staff could not be friendlier and more helpful, always helping us find our way and and giving great recommendations on what to see and where to eat.

The location could not be better. If you don't mind walking 10 to 15 minutes, the Saint Sherman is in walking distance to many attractions. We hardly had to take a bus or metro anywhere.

If you like staying at a small, hip, boutique hotel, I give my highest recommendation to staying at the Hotel Saint Sherman!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityguyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sissy F, Inhaber at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest from NY,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Vienna. We are especially pleased that you were happy with your choice and write this nice review. As we decided in 2012 to take over this hotel and renovate, we wanted to move Vienna and Viennese issues to the fore. Therefore our rooms remember at the St. Stephen's Cathedral, to Siegfried Freud and Maria Theresa. Each room has a different theme.

Our rooms are fully equipped like a hotel, but we can not personally occupied our front desk for 24 hours. We are just too small. But we are pleased that you have taken our phone service is available and we were satisfied.

See you in Vienna again.
Yours Sissy Freud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This Pension is actually quite nice. It is extremely well located for access to central Vienna and attractions as well as great Public transport access. The reception is only manned in the morning and a few hours in the evening, but you can call and someone will respond fairly quickly if needed. They advertise availability of CNN, but it did not ever work despite four or more calls to their support who finally just removed the channel from the list. The place is very clean and does have excellent daily servicing of the rooms. The elevator practically never works, but fortunately it is just one long flight of stairs to tote your luggage. Overall quite nice with a great restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the apartment for one week, it is excellent location for the local transport network. The apartment is spacious and well equipped and clean. WIFI very good and location is very quiet. I recommend taking an IPOD / Phone with music as the music system is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is located in a very convenient location and getting here from the Wien Westbahnhoff was not at all a problem for us. We walked out of the station and flagged a cab, the driver knew the hotel and we reached the hotel within 15 minutes from the station.

We were given a code to enter the building, the hotel per se occupies one level in the building. There is an elevator so one does not need to heave bags up.The code was sent to us on email since the front office/reception is not manned for all 24 hours. The staff are very helpful, courteous and eager to help.

Coming to the room itself, very spacious by European standards, modern and a good television with some wonderful channels which my son enjoyed watching. Unfortunately during our stay there Vienna was experiencing some torrid rains and we we were confined to the room out of no choice. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was good as well. The shower cubicle was tad small but the water flow and the temperature was excellent.

Come out of the hotel, turn left and on the opposite side is a Billa supermarket where you could pick up stuff to eat or any consumables. There was also a patteserie /coffee shop on the same pavement as the hotel, I dont recall the name but it is a part of a chain and we had our breakfast there. The hotel also served breakfast and I some some guests in the dining room but we preferred to eat out. We walked from there to the Nachtmarket, just a 7 minute walk and enoyed suntering around in the afteroon there where we had lunch as well.

If the weather was good we would have used the metro and walked around due to the location of the hotel.

On the day of our departure, the staff at the reception called for a taxi which came within 5-7 minutes and we took around 10 minutes ( Sunday early morning) to reach Wien Meidling station. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrashRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was hesitant When wife told me she booked a Pension in Vienna. As I'm very picky and prefers Hotels. But was I in for a shock. The room was super clean, and big especially for European standards. Bathroom was clean a good size, you gotta remember your in Europe and not North America!

Since we were there on a Sunday and holiday Monday, pretty much everything was closed. So we decided to get the breakfast at the hotel for $10 euro per person per day. Breakfast was excellent and it wasn't your typical "North American" breakfast (we like to try local food while travelling). Viktoria even prepared breakfast for us on our last night, as we had an early train to Prague the next morning.

We also encountered 2 other friendly staffs (we didn't catch their name) who gave us tips on transportation, attractions, and answered any concerns we had.

To me I COULDN'T tell this was not a full service hotel. Yes there's no reception 24/7. But I do believe you can reach them by phone outside office hours if an emergency arises.

If anything I think it's better than a full service hotel. It's so quiet unlike a "hotel" you don't have to worry about having to hear other guest slamming their door or running up and down a long hallway in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Tram 62 takes you to and from Wien Miedling station.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Il0verice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sissy F, Inhaber at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We are not trying to be all things to all people!

Dear guests from Canada!
We are pleased, if we could have shocked you in such a pleasant manner. Thank you for this exceptional rating. We can not please everbody , but guests who appreciate a small family hotel, are warmly welcomed.

We are looking forward to see you again in Vienna
Yours Sissy Freud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed with my mother just for one day, unfortunately, and it was the best experience in Vienna! Room was veeery clean, big, comfortable, bathroom has everything that you need, small but beautiful, it is in walking distance from the center! We liked the style, staff, atmosphere, breakfast, and the most important, we felt like we were home! Thank you for this experience and we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 361 in Vienna
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,371 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Shermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Shermin

Address: Rilkeplatz 7, Vienna 1040, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#18 Business Hotel in Vienna
#18 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £84 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Shermin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish, family-run Hotel Shermin offers modern accommodation in the centre of Vienna, just a 5-minute walk from the Karlsplatz Underground Station. The daily breakfast buffet includes traditional Viennese coffee. Free Wi-Fi is available.The spacious, individually furnished rooms come with a private bathroom, minibar, seating area, and a flat-screen TV. Room themes include Viennese sights such as the Augarten Park or the Lainzer Zoo's Hermes Villa, which was once the hunting residence of the imperial family.The Shermin Hotel has a convenient and quiet location close to the State Opera and St. Charles Church. The Kärntner Straße shopping area is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saint Shermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shermin Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing