We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would always come back when I visit Vienna!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Shermin
Ranked #18 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

When you travel around the world it is almost impossible to find the perfect place to stay. Luckily it happened to us in Vienna. Hotel Shermin is really the perfect b&b for the city and for a reasonable price that is worth every penny. It looks new all around, nicely decorated and the staff were amazing. The location is literally 5 minutes walk for the old town center. We never took a public transport and we travelled with a baby, we just didn't need to. Breakfast was 10 EUR per person but once again, it was worth it. Dining area is really special and the food was great. If you visit Vienna, this is the place to stay! Don't bother looking anywhere else :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avi1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sissy F, Inhaber at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest from Israel,
thank so much for this kind review.
yours
Sissy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Don't let the outside scare you away. Upon arriving we thought we had made a terrible mistake. Security code to get in, construction on the 1st floor, plastic on the elevator. But once up on the 1st floor where the Hotel is located, it is home away from home. decorated very smartly, staff very friendly and breakfast is excellent and worth the 10 euros they charge. A great selection of breads, meats, cheese and of course made to order omelets. Rooms are large with good internet . Mini bar is well stocked and they even have incidentals if you have forgotten some things. A 10 min walk to the Opera House and maybe 15 to the Palace. A perfect location even in the summer when the prices are double just a few blocks away. Definitely a Hotel to consider and it will only get better. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank conchcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a fantastic place! We stayed 8 nights in July @ this lovely Bed&Breakfast located just a 5 minute walk from the town center. This B&B has lovely and originally decorated and very clean rooms. But also very friendly, helpful staff and good breakfast served in a very stylish room. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank DirckZadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As much as I love traveling, the one thing that can get to me is not having the comforts of home when I hit the road. That being said, I've never stayed in a hotel that made me feel as much at home as the Hotel Saint Shermin did.

From the spacious room to the honesty bar in the lobby there were times where it felt like we were staying with a good friend rather than a hotel. There are only 10 rooms in the Saint Shermin so it was always quite, and the wonderful breakfast that they serve each morning had a very personalized feel.

We stayed in room 18 which is at the end of the hall and overlooks the courtyard of the restaurant below, it was a beautiful view and we never ran into any issues with street noise. The room was extremely comfortable with ample seating. As others have mentioned the bathroom was small but still functional. Décor

We walked all over Vienna and never seemed too far away from the hotel, it was a perfect location very close to the market and Museum Quarter. We took the train in from Munich and out to Prague so the quick 5 minute walk to the Karlsplatz station was also perfect. The only room for improvement I saw was the stairwell that you enter the hotel through. It is shared with the building and was a little run down. It in no way reflects the actual hotel so don't let the first impression get you down!

If you want a large hotel with all the typical amenities (gym, pool etc) than this place isn't for you, but if you want to stay in a hotel with a bed and breakfast feel in a great location than look no further. Overall, the Saint Shermin made our 3 day stay in Vienna that much better and we will absolutely return during our next visit to the city.

Tip: If you need to do laundry while you are in town there is a dry cleaner located right next door. We dropped off a number of clothes that we had dry cleaned/washed and received them back the next day at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in Hotel Shermin from 1st July to 3rd July 2014.
The staffs were really friendly and went all out to serve their customers.
The rooms were very stylish and we love the cleanliness and design of the room.
The location of the hotel is a 5 minutes walk from Karlsplatz U-bahn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neo_SX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I have terminal cancer so I need to be comfortable, to be close to transport and for things to go smoothly.
Initially, things didn't go well as we were sent to the wrong address, with inadequate instructions. Travelling exhausts me and the added hassle was not appreciated.
However, a couple of phone calls and a cab trip later and we were at the correct address. The cab fare was refunded and the staff went out of their way to make up for the mistake.
The Shermin is well located, within walking distance to most sights for a fit and active person, and a short walk to public transport for the rest of us. The rooms are a little small but spotlessly clean and reasonably well appointed. The bed was oh so comfortable.
The staff, however, make the Shermin!
They are efficient, extremely courteous and friendly. I had a couple of "off" days and they went out of their way to ensure that I was comfortable.
You might find a better room but you won't beat the service.
PS Have the scrambled eggs with herbs for breakfast. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that offers all the usual hotel facilities and want staff on hand all the time, this place is not for you. But, if what you want is a small, friendly pension, run by lovely staff and very close to the centre of town then this is perfect.
It was a little difficult to find initially and the entrance on the ground floor is a little off-putting but as soon as you get up to the pension on the first floor it is lovely. It's cosy, very clean and well appointed. Our room was small but totally sufficient for our needs with incredibly comfortable beds and pillows. I was a bit nervous when we arrived that the bar next door had very loud music but in fact could hardly hear a thing in the room and it didn't go on late so didn't affect sleep at all. One couple we spoke with said it was playing classical music one evening and it added to their enjoyment of the stay.
The bathroom was small but well stocked, very clean and with a fantastic shower.
Breakfast was plentiful - bit of a squash in the small dining room - but again just served to reinforce the local "boutique" feel of this little pension.
The staff were lovely, very friendly and could not have been more helpful. True, they aren't around all the time but simple touches like the coffee and biscuits left out for you to help yourself to and the honesty bar in reception just underline the nice and slightly homely feel to this place.
And finally, location. Just outside the Ringstrasse but everything is walkable or a simple tram/train ride away. It could not be easier.
Top marks from me and it added to making a really lovely weekend in Vienna when staying in a large impersonal hotel would have simply served a purpose but contributed nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank funtyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,925 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#17 of 359 in Vienna
664 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,552 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 359 in Vienna
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Shermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Shermin

Address: Rilkeplatz 7, Vienna 1040, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Vienna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#18 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £63 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Shermin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish, family-run Hotel Shermin offers modern accommodation in the centre of Vienna, just a 5-minute walk from the Karlsplatz Underground Station. The daily breakfast buffet includes traditional Viennese coffee. Free Wi-Fi is available.The spacious, individually furnished rooms come with a private bathroom, minibar, seating area, and a flat-screen TV. Room themes include Viennese sights such as the Augarten Park or the Lainzer Zoo's Hermes Villa, which was once the hunting residence of the imperial family.The Shermin Hotel has a convenient and quiet location close to the State Opera and St. Charles Church. The Kärntner Straße shopping area is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint Shermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shermin Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing