We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Ranked #9 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming and cheap”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Very charming hotel pretty close to the city centre. Only a couple of minutes walk to the nearest underground station, and with plenty of little shops and bars nearby. The breakfast was OK, and the staff were helpful and made me feel at home. I would stay here again if I come back to Vienna, which I probably will do!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScratchMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    100
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
92
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Hotel delivers exactly and all it says it does; unique, clean character rooms, comfy beds, charming courtyard and overall decor, excellent breakfast and friendly, accommodating and helpful staff!
Would most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynleeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We walked from Vienna Train Station (Wien Westbahnhof) to Hotel am Brillantengrund, which was just under a mile away. It was not hard to find, and we stayed for two nights. The location is fairly near to the centre of Vienna, although I would advise visitors to embrace the underground system since the main attractions in the city are fairly spread out. Although the staff were fairly welcoming and provided us with a city map, the reception area could do with a face-lift. It is neither warm nor embracing. After check-in we went off to find our rooms. These were fairly small with a single bed. The rooms were basic but ok. The TV had around 60 channels, but none in English. There was free WiFi throughout which was excellent. The breakfast was self-service, and when we visited, it was fairly quiet. The food options were not exactly memorable, but it was enough to satisfy us for our short stay. The dining area had pictures of a dark haired woman throughout. Whilst this may have been for artistic reasons, personally I would have preferred some pictures of Vienna or Austria; it is tourism accommodation, not someone's home! Overall, Hotel am Brillantengrund was fine. There was nothing wrong with it, but neither was there anything particular special about it either. If you're after somewhere fairly cheap to stay, while you go off exploring Vienna, then I would recommend it. You could do a lot worse!

Room Tip: The rooms we saw all looked the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

A very charming hotel close to the centre of Vienna and very well served by line 3 of U-Bahn. I can't rate breakfast as we always woke up too late :). Staff was fine, free wifi access (good for me as I had to work a little bit), overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Califfo_ducale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin 8
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Clean good size room overlooking small courtyard. I was here in May so it was not too busy. The breakfast is buffet style and pretty good also. Oranges supplied for the squeezing of juice for the lazy like me. Eggs how you like them. All in all good for the price.

Room Tip: First floor is better as the bar area is below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A small hotel walking distance from Westbahnhof, shopping streets and central Vienna tourist attractions. Also close to underground systems for travel further afar.

The staff are very friendly, and extremely helpful. They gave good suggestions as to what to see, where to eat (in addition to their own restaurant), and have city maps free of charge, as well as selling the city travel cards.

The bedroom was very clean, the bed comfortable. In October it was quiet (except for the breakfast preparations). The weather was such that no-one sat in the courtyard in the evening.

Breakfast was excellent. Completely self-service with a good selection of hot and cold dishes, and fruit. Staff frequently replenished supplies.

After checking out the hotel kept our travel case in a locked cupboard, until we were ready to take it away.

Will definitely stay here again when visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximilianAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Spent four nights in a single room at Brillantengrund. I was pleasantly surprised. This is a boutique hotel in an old Viennese courtyard styled home. I settled here due to the reasonable price, and it exceeded my expectations. The room was comfortable and spotless. The bathroom large. I loved the little touch of the chandelier in the room. The onsite restaurant was my go-to at the end of a couple of long days. It's filipino food, (not Austrian; which after days of meat and sausage I found refreshing) amazing and well priced. I had the wok stirfry at least twice. I looked forward to breakfast - fresh squeezed orange juice!

Despite other comments, I found it very conveniently located- 10 minutes (at most) to the Museum Quarter, and walking distance to all of the major sites in the city center. The Schonnbrun palace may require public transportation to access, but there is a metro close by. I choose to walk there, though, and it's definitely doable.

The only negative comment is that noise from the courtyard can carry and bother if you are a light sleeper. If you are a not a morning person, the breakfast preparations may wake you, conversely, if you like to turn in early, dinner is served until 10 and people linger over a drink.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novachik96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
825 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 360 in Vienna
2,168 reviews
Hotel Fabrik
#10 of 113 in Vienna
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Brillantengrund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Brillantengrund

Property: Hotel am Brillantengrund
Address: Bandgasse 4, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Brillantengrund 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel am Brillantengrund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing