We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Vienna(Vienna)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$408
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
142
155
40
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
155
40
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscute courtyardretro furniturephilippine fooddisco ballunique hotelwalking distancemuseum quartercentral courtyardwestbahnhof train stationsmall hotelrooms are nice and cleanmain shopping streetdefinitely stay here againnice breakfastcity tripshower headschnitzel
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location is fine.
Service was great, everybody being nice and friendly.
The room was spacy, but otherwise rather ordinary - much like the bathroom, where the shower did not have any mixer (a bore when the hot water is 60 degrees C).
Breakfast was excellent.
If we had been charged 80-90€ per night, these conditions would have matched the price. However, the final account was 125€ per night, which is heavily exaggerated - not least compared to the information on the website, saying "Double/twin rooms from 79€").
So the bottom line is: Nice place, nice name - but even gems can be too costly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troels G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed at the Brillantengrund for five nights while in Vienna to run the marathon and for some business. It's a very unique hotel booked by my business partner, and I have to say I didn't know what to expect based on the reviews. It's in a nice building with an inner courtyard which the rooms are around of. The room itself is very functional: everything is neat, and there's a cool 1950s vibe to the furniture. A highlight for me was the breakfast, with very nice bacon and eggs, and a fruit-squeezer which you could use to make some fresh orange juice. The staff gave it a feeling of a family run hotel, and I liked the art photos on the walls plus the strange garage-like hotel bar. The daily cleaning service was top-notch! All in all my stay was excellent, the only real complaint I have is about some noise at night, as all travellers enter their rooms via the courtyard and some late-night revellers woke me up every night for a few minutes. Definitely recommended, especially if you don't mind walking (I mostly walked to the centre/Naschmarkt/wherever I was going). There are some really nice restaurants in the neighbourhood too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel is decorated in quite a unique way and provides very good facilities. My overall experience was very good. Following are few points on the basis of my experience:
1. Location: Not situated very near to any bus stop or tram stop but all of them are at walkable distance. There are no. of stores and restaurants nearby where one can go.
2. Breakfast: It was very good. They had a small manual juicer with which you can make fresh orange juice for yourself (I just loved it :))
3. Staff and room service: Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room service was also satisfactory.
4. Ambience: This hotel is small but quite impressive in its own way.
We enjoyed our stay here and I will recommend it to people who are looking for a good and decent hotel. For people who understand German following are the instructions I receive from hotel regarding directions from Airport to the hotel:

1.) Per Bus: Richtung WIEN WESTBAHNHOF (über Wien Meidling – Dörfelstrasse). Sie fahren bis zum Westbahnhof. Von dort nehmen Sie die U3 Richtung SIMMERING für nur eine Station zur ZIEGLERGASSE (diese Station ist ca. 350m von unserem Hotel entfernt und den Rest des Weges müssen Sie laufen. Nehmen Sie den Ausgang Zieglergasse und gehen Sie in die Zieglergasse. Dann bis zur Seidengasse dort rechts abbiegen und bis zur nächsten Quergasse = Bandgasse links hinein und Sie sehen dann schon das gelbe Schild mit Hotel) oder Sie nehmen die Straßenbahn 6 oder 18 in Richtung BURGGASSE/STADTHALLE für nur eine Station zum URBAN-LORITZ-PLATZ und dort steigen Sie in die Straßenbahn 49 in Richtung DR.KARL-RENNER-RING um und fahren 2 Stationen bis zur ZIEGLERGASSE (diese Haltestelle ist ca. 90m vom Hotel entfernt. Gehen Sie nun eine Straße weiter in die Richtung in die die Straßenbahn fährt. Dort nach rechts und auf der linken Seite fast am Ende der Straße befindet sich unser Hotel.).

2.) Per Zug (normaler Zug S7 Richtung Wien Floridsdorf oder CAT – dies ist ein Direktzug der 11,-- pro Strecke kostet): nach LANDSTRASSE-WIEN MITTE. In WIEN MITTE steigen Sie in die U3 Richtung OTTAKRING um und fahren bis zur Haltestelle ZIEGLERGASSE (diese Station ist ca. 350m von unserem Hotel entfernt und den Rest des Weges müssen Sie laufen – siehe oben).

Achtung der Flughafen ist außerhalb von Wien und daher müssen Sie wenn Sie vom Flughafen nach Wien fahren zwei Zonen Fahrscheine kaufen, wenn Sie mit dem Zug fahren.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snigdha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The location is good, walk less than 10 minutes from U3 Ziegiergasse station, there is a small supermarket very near hotel. The room is warm & comfortable, the staffs are very friendly, the breakfast is good. There is a small kitchen in the room, where you can prepare some simple snacks. Walk 20 minutes or take U3, one can get MuseumsQuartier, where is near Hofburg etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DLM5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Near to shops and night life this family and group friendly hotel was a welcome break from functional hotels in its price range. Interesting decor, great hearty breakfast Buffett which was topped up generously. Good spot!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews