We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Exe Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Exe Vienna
Ranked #236 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed a couple of times at this hotel (December 2009, August 2010 and December 2011) and experienced different type of rooms. I'm 90% positive that people leaving bad reviews for this hotel stayed in the smaller building (there are 2) where rooms are not so good-looking as the others in the main (taller) one.

Close to the metro (U-bahn as they call it), you have 5 or 6 stations to the city center.

Clean rooms, decently decorated, very helpful staff (my credit card was rejected for some reason when I made the reservation, but I called the reception and they were kind to reserve my room without any guarantee).

Excellent breakfast consisting of: scrambled eggs, bratwurst (traditional sausage), grilled bacon, cheese (5 types minimum), fresh juice (orange, apple, etc.), coffee, milk, cereals, fresh fruits (pineapple, apples, watermelon, oranges, etc.), fresh pastries every day

Would definitely go back and recommend !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors (5-6-7) if you're facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank STF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

The room was small, the reception was small, the restaurant was small, the gym was small(two exercising bicycles or something like that) the swimming pool was small and the water in it COLD.
Breakfast was poor of choice, with poor quality products, except for the coffee. The personnel were clumsy making a lot of noise during service, breaking dishes every few minutes(this was funny).
The beds were hard like wood planks and small also.
I had to put my right elbow on the sink and sit at a 45 degrees angle in order to fit on the closet, the bathroom had less than 1,5 square meters.
From the dark room you could only see nothing interesting, unless you like watching traffic.
On the positive side, the reception personnel were nice and friendly.
I also had small chatter with other people hosted there during our stay and they were also complaining about all I mentioned and also about climate in the room.

As a conclusion in other countries this ‘motel’ would only be classified as 2 stars.

Room Tip: Just go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liviu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Hello,

my experience in this hotel was terrible because when i saw the room i felt like in a cage, i thought that it wasnt true, it was a small room, but we have pretention, the 4 stars hotel; i change the room in a few second, the second room was the same, very small, the bathroom was for a midget, the breakfast was very poor, and the big surprise was the pool.
O, my Good !That it wasnt a pool, it was a grave where the pig make a bath, believe me.

Please avoid this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and two of us had no heating in rooms. (Each of us stayed in a different room). We were told to use air conditioning as a heating system but in 2 rooms it was out of order and produced only a cold air. I guess the temperature in rooms was cca 10-15 deegres and we had to sleep in clothes! I complained to reception staff twice but no results (they told me that would send some technical support to fix it but nothing happened).
The breakast was served as an open buffet but the cohice was limited, no fresh vegetables at all, only few slices od tomato.
The street where the hotel is located is pretty dirty and the location is not good at all.
If this hotel deserves 4**** then I am Maria Theresa!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svetlana1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Even the hotel is not at the city center, it is easy to go to city center either with a tram or taxi (about 12 €) . The beds are comfortable, there is no noise so you can sleep well.
we enjoyed our breakfast there. The staff were helpful and hospitable.
But the building doesn't have a soul. It is not an expensive hotel and they serve you so well when you think the price that you pay.
There are so many museums to visit and most of themare worth seeing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kurabiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Eurostars Vienna is not a bad hotel, though not excellent. If you consider pros and cons, the pros list will include location (tram stop in front of the hotel), quietness (you sleep very well), comfortable beds, well-qualified and hospitable staff. We wanted to listen to jazz one night and the receptionist found a couple of places with live jazz music and made reservations. Unfortunately, the swimming pool was none too clean. And breakfast was not what you expect at 4*: 3-4 kinds of cheese and ham, of high quality, but very limited choice! To sum it up, pros prevail, and I’d recommend this hotel if you can do without luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I was very pleased with this hotel. Considering the inexpensive price I was a bit worried, but the hotel proved to be very clean and quiet. It is located further outside of town than I expected, but a tram runs right in front of the hotel that takes you right into town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nbear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Eurostars Embassy Hotel
Eurostars Embassy Hotel
#180 of 359 in Vienna
395 reviews
Landstraße
Vienna Sporthotel
Vienna Sporthotel
#177 of 359 in Vienna
189 reviews
Neubau
Alla Lenz Hotel
Alla Lenz Hotel
#225 of 359 in Vienna
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#209 of 359 in Vienna
30 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Vienna

Address: Ottakringer Strasse 34-36, Vienna 1170, Austria (Formerly Mate Hotel)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £52 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exe Vienna is a Vienna hotel that has been able to assimilate the Viennese soul to perfection: deeply rooted in all it is classical but it is still open to new expressions. The Exe Vienna Hotel, set in a hundred-year-old building, has recently been refurbished and remodeled from top to bottom so that its seven floors, its reception rooms and its 115 guest rooms shine with a modern, tranquil air to offer its guests the utmost well-being. Located in the heart of the Hernals, the establishment is endowed with luxurious attractions, allowing you to enjoy the Austrian capital like a true emperor, providing 112 rooms, a heated swimming pool and fitness center (our guest can use them free of charge ), two reception rooms and exquisite view over the city, watered by the Danube. The Hotel Exe Vienna, moreover, offers some extra advantages as free WI-FI, complimentary Guest Computer in the lobby, rent a car service and having a highly qualified personnel.. The location allows our guests to enjoy a dynamic, yet peaceful area like Hernals, with numerous attractions (The Wienner Volksoper, the Neuwaldegg castle, the History Museum, the vast, 80 hectare wooded park area of Schwarzenbergpark) and the nearby Alserstrasse shopping area. In addition, there is a tram stop in front of the hotel and the Alserstrasse metro station is just 150 metres away. From both these points, you will have easy access to any of the city's important tourist sites: Schonbrunn Palace, the State Opera, the Spanish Riding School, the Prater, Belvedere Palace, Liechtenstein Museum, the Hofburg Imperial Palace or the Mariahilferstrasse, the longest shopping street in Europe. If you arrive with a car, or rent a car in the hotel directly you have the possibility to park in the Hotel EXE Vienna (15€per night) Exe Vienna Hotel has 115 very comfortable, peaceful rooms, with modern, elegant decoration. All the rooms have complementary Wi-Fi, Flat Screen TV, minibar, Telephone, Air-Conditioning In- Room Safety box and Bathroom with hair dryer , Telephone, complementary amenities. Please note that the city tax 3,2% is not included in the rate and to be paid in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Exe Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Vienna Hotel Vienna
Eurostars Hotel Vienna
Vienna Eurostars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing