We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends on what you expect”

Wiener Royal Orchester
Ranked #176 of 562 things to do in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The "Vienna Royal Orchestra" presents in the course of the Gala one for Vienna unique selection of "Viennese music", with pieces from Mozart, Strauss, Lanner and Haydn, symbols of an era that filled hearts with emotions, warmness, romance and passion. Accompanied by Vienna opera singers and the Viennese dancers, the audience will be fascinated by this "most charming" music.
Istanbul Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Depends on what you expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The ticket sellers are saying a lot of things but there are 2 places where the concert takes place. In winter its in Beethovenplatz 1 and in summer in Palais Eschenbach. I watched the one in the Palais Eschenbach and these are the facts;
1- The room is for around 200 people, looks nice and is well air conditioned but it is not a Palace. The name is deceiving; still a nice historic room built in 1872; its a nice big over 200m2 room thats in a building which I suggest that you go and see before buying tickets.
2- The orchestra is only 10 people and they are good, well the one I listened to was more than good. Do not expect a large stage but even if you have a seat in the middle you get a good view.
3- It is for tourist and you may expect to see 2 people dancing and 2 people singing opera. Its 90 minutes of classical music and to make it fun they have added those. Dancers and singers are good but they are just supplements to the music, they are not the main point of interest.
4- If you are a professional you may complain but if you want to have good time and listen to good music you will be satisfied.
5- Do not get the dinner or the seats on the front, bargain and get seats in the middle for around €40. It will be well spent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bahadiryildiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    20
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice show, well done.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

After considering the various Mozart/Strauss concerts offered throughout Vienna, we selected the Royal Weiner Orch based on reasonable price E39 and proximity to our hotel on Parkring Strasse. Was very impressed with the fidelity of the 10 piece orch plus 2 dancers and 2 singers. The lead violinist a gorgeous woman and bass violin player were spectacular. All performers were pro and accomplished. The room was up a few flights in an old school and felt like an old baroque chapel of sorts. The brochure was a bit of a bait n switch but upon inquiry it was pointed out to me that the current venue is pictured on the back and the performers on the brochure had largely moved on in the 10 years since printing. Still though it was a good show for a classic rock dude like me who played clarinet growing up. Standing O worthy. Next time I will step it up to the bigger Musika house a block over and see how they do it over there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daveinthe843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
238 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening's entertainment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I am not an officianado of classical music, but I can tell when a piece is being played with skill and passion. My wife and I bought our tickets for this event from in front of the Opera House and it was never portrayed as a large concert in a large concert hall - for wont of a better term it's an 'intimate gig' for small ensemble (9 musicians) - we did get however get 10 Euros each off the ticket price and a free intermission drink. The musicians are very adept and certainly seemed to be having fun (more so in the second half of the event), interacting with the audience. Having a couple of dancers wrked well for some of the items - but they were more limited by space than skill.

In summary - don't take it seriously and you will enjoy the evening assuming you like Mozart and Strauss.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fen_Scorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle,TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening of music and dance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We enjoyed this orchestra on a cold November night. The music, dance, and solo performances were outstanding. The musicians, singers and dancers were extremely talented. It was well worth the price of admission, highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank wallace11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We attended three similar sized ensemble concerts. This was the most entertaining, balanced and representative of the music. Consistent with other review comments. Negative and Positive. Good virtuoso performances. Did not feel taken for granted or ripped off (unlike other ensembles attended).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ElceyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wiener Royal Orchester also viewed

 

Been to Wiener Royal Orchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing