We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky”
Review of pentahotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
pentahotel Vienna
Ranked #63 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great modern rooms, very clean and well equipped. Small touches like walk-in showers and anti-fog mirrors add a lot to the room. We did have a bit of difficulty accessing all of the TV channels - but that could have been our fault. Wifi worked fine and was fast.

The reception area is more like a bar, and very stylish. There are TVs, a pool table and PS4 to entertain you as you have a drink in the evenings. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a nice quiet area, about 10 min walk to nearest underground station, so convenient to explore the rest of Vienna.

Breakfast was fairly expensive, but there was a huge variety on offer and is buffet style, so if you eat a lot it is well worth the money.

Considering the price of accommodation in Vienna, this is a great find and excellent value.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Executive summary

Pros - Friendly and helpful staff, location is not bad, really great shower, gym (small but sufficient) and sauna

Cons - Air conditioning in room was not working*, lack of in-room facilities

Overall the broken air conditioning caused some restless nights, thus other qualities of the hotel were overshadowed.

*Stayed for 5 nights, eventually ask to change room for the last night, given the hot weather and poor sleep. The last evening was much better, so credit to the staff but surely they must know this is an on-going issue with room 409? (I hope they get management to fix this soon)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank JonoMichaelL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, General Manager at pentahotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear valued guest Jono168,

thank you very much for having taken your time posting your stay epxerience with tripadvisor.

I am happy you enjoyed the wellness area, the compliment regarding my staff is already shared with them.
I apologize for the inconvenience the broken air-condition in your room did cause.
Fortunately we did fix the problem so that it would be my pleasure to welcome you again for your next trip to Vienna now again with a every-day working air-con in the room.

Have a great time for you and your beloved ones,

Kind regards,
Peter Redle
General Manager
pentahotel Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were booked into this downtown hotel by Austrian Airlines after our flight was canceled. So our visit to Vienna was a total fluke. We made the most of it and this hotel was perfect for our needs. The place was really quiet (we needed sleep after a crazy travel day) and it's very close to all the downtown sites. We didn't pay for the room so we don't know the pricing structure. Yes, rooms are small, and as previous poster said there's no safe in the room. However; it's clean and it feels very sure. I'd stay here again in a pinch. Very basic ... But again clean and reliable. Terrific buffet breakfast!! We walked to all major sites, Hofberg Castle, St Stephens etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOBEAVS96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Pentahotel for 3 nights in October
The perfect place for a vacation, staff very friendly, clean room ,This is a hotel for relax for couples, family....
recommendations for this hotel we be cam again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dina149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

While centrally located this hotel was a total disappointment. The interior decor looks to have been designed by someone on some sort of chemical high. The rooms are very small and poorly equipped. No safe, no mini bar. The lobby bar doubles as the "front desk". while we were trying to order drinks the bar tender was repeatedly distracted by people coming to the front desk or answering the phone. It took 20 minutes to get our party of 6 served. There is a pool table right next to the bar which was annoying. The air conditioning was not working for 2 of the 3 nights we were there. The bar tender/front desk clerk was little help. On a positive note, the breakfast was quite good. Stay clear!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

All of these words, mentioned by other reviewers, describe this hotel. What a breath of fresh air from the norm. Spacious rooms, super friendly staff and good location.

The only criticism is the restaurant with its limited menu. If you like burgers then fine. However, I ordered one and it was served cold, ordered another and it was cold and gave up and went out to the local area where there are many fine restaurants.

Apart from the restaurant I really enjoyed my stay and I can recommend this hotel for a quite unique experience. Keep your phones charged because you will want to take so many photographs of the decor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Pentahotel for 2 nights in May. It was exactly what we expected when we walked in from reading other reviews: you check in with a bartender (which was totally fine) and it has a club/lounge-like atmosphere, with disco balls above the bar.

Our room was very comfortable (although the pillows were flat and down, I should've asked for more), with a nice tub. The food at the bar was good, and the breakfast buffet was very substantial and included Cava. We played pool one night, and the bar is open 24 hours, which made checking in at midnight easy.

The hotel's decor is very fun, although a bit much especially for older and more conservative guests and also seems like it's the kind of trendy that won't be cool soon, if not already on its way out.

Overall, though, we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wheressarawaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
Falkensteiner Hotel Wien Margareten
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 359 in Vienna
1,120 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#41 of 359 in Vienna
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#68 of 359 in Vienna
1,146 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#53 of 359 in Vienna
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Vienna

Address: Margaretenstrasse 92 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Vienna
#45 Family Hotel in Vienna
#48 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £65 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revolution in the way you sleep, eat, drink and relax is coming to Vienna. The beautiful city may have a timeless elegance and charm, but sometimes things need to be shaken up a little bit. The pentahotel Vienna takes what you’d expect from a hotel and shakes off the stiff formality of a traditional reception area and replaces it with a laid-back pentalounge that’s cool, relaxing and elegant - perfect as a neighbourhood hub. We like to do things differently, but also know the things that make your stay unforgettable; all the comfort and convenience you need, and none of the pointless gimmicks that you don’t. Our practical, comfortable guestrooms ensure a sound night’s pentasleep. The pentapeople always provide a sense of lively community amongst hotel guests, drop-in customers and hotel associates and give our guests pentafun and surprise in lounge and guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing