We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad service and cold soup”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean's One

Ocean's One
Ranked #3,418 of 4,105 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Seafood, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very bad service and cold soup”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was a rainy and cold day in Vienna and we were searching for a warm and tasty soup.
We ended up in this restaurant and we both ordered a goulash soup. The soups arrived and both of them they were not warm at all, so we sent them back. They didn't even apologize for the mistake and the soups were back in a minute after being zapped in the microwave, slightly warmer, but not hot.
The staff was extremely unfriendly to us and the final insult came when we paid the bill because they automatically included 10% for the tip.
I would NOT recommend this place, any restaurant around might be much better for the same price or even cheaper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maia148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    2
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
133 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Over priced, bad quality food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We went there for a dinner during August. We were having a wonderful day before going to that restaurant. It was completely changed after taking the dinner in that restaurant.

We had to wait a long to order for the food though there were not that much rush.
We ordered two Chicken Schnitzel and a non alcoholic fruit drinks. The Schnitzel with French fries costs 7.9 Euro and the fruit drink costs 5.5 Euro.

The quantity of the food was really small. The schnitzel size is not even half of the picture they shown in the menu book. You can get a bigger Schnitzel which tastes better than that of their schnitzel in any street food shop with a much cheaper price. The quality was not good, Schnitzel was not tender or properly cooked. If you compare with the quality and quantity, the foods are way too over priced.

Only good thing was interior decoration.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmsbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great espresso”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Simple but yummy breakfast. Has sign up showing cards accepted but we had to pay with cash. My husband enjoyed his cappuccino too!

Helpful?
Thank KiwiRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Totally agree with all the other reviewers...stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were travelling through Europe by car and Vienna was a pit stop on the way to Zagreb. As it turned out we were in Vienna for lunch so decided to have a bite at Oceans One as it seemed convenient...this is where the good news stops. It was a warm day with bright sunlight, but the sun umbrellas were not raised for the guests, nor were the serving staff interested in the customers, they were too busy stitting with their mates drinking coffee and smoking. Eventually we managed to place an order and during this time asked for the password for the free wifi..you would think we asked the waitress for her first born child. The food may have well have been a frozen microwave meal. It really was the worst meal we had in Europe. When the time came to pay we were informed that they only accepted cash as their EFTPos machine was broken. We refused and indicated we would wait until it was fixed. Miraculously it began to work 5 minutes later, at which point the waitress asked how much of a tip we were going to give her....really?
Stay away...anything is better than this place, even being hungry and thirsty is an improvement.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Noojee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst service in Vienna, Austria”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I am currently living in Vienna Austria and I have to say that this place is by far the worst cafe in Vienna.
The service is awful. I decided to ask for something different for a change and the waiter told me that I made the worst choice. He then proceeded to give me nasty looks and make snide comments about me not being able to find the toilet.
Not sure if the man there was against women, but he was completely put off by me. Don't waste your money here. Go spend it at another place where you are at least treated like a person.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinabell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean's One also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Ocean's One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing