We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No. Just don't do it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Daniel Vienna
Ranked #123 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

So I have arrived at this accomodation unit in some day, being a little tired after the flight and being quite eager to get some rest. The young lady from the reception and, generally, the reception staff are nice guys which are trying to do their best to satisfy the customer. Unfortunatelly, their options are limited due to faulty management of the “hotel”. Got some technical problems with the shower cabin, but they were fixed. The room was cleaned daily. Oh, and let's not forget the WiFi, which was somehow working. It gets 6 out of 10. Unfortunatelly, here is where the good things ends. What follows… well, better read it than live it.

“Urban stay”. That’s the perfect excuse used by this so-called hotel while they ask for 120+ euro/night (forget the 92 euro/night which they say on the website, it is just a nice story meant to attract potential customers) in exchange for not just poor, but terrible conditions (also, forget the glossy and glamorous pictures from the website, they are 5% truth and 95% photoshop. See the pictures attached). It is simply a proof of rudeness to ask for this amount of money when what you offer is a room with no wardrobe, no refrigerator, with a unfinished ceiling, with cracks in the roof and walls and which looks like a prison cell from the fifties. I am honestly not able to understand this creepy concept of “urban stay” when the room has very serious lack of privacy (in order for you to take a shower, you need to close the blinds so people outside or from the vis-à-vis building will not be able to watch you inside the shower cabin, which has a glass wall facing the window) and very serious lack of food hygiene. I say lack of food hygiene because the management of this so-called hotel decided that they are so dog-friendly that dogs are allowed to roam inside the breakfast area during the breakfast time. I personally have seen a man with a large dog (a golden retriever) entering the breakfast area while people were eating. I am truly sorry that I did not take pictures of this event, but I think I have been too shocked when I have seen that the dog was not wearing a muzzle (so there was the danger of people being bitten by the animal) and that it was touching the tables surface with its tail (there was the very high possibility of getting dog hair in your food). I have discussed this with the staff from the breakfast and the reception but they claimed that this is ok and that this is a usual practice. This is definitely NOT ok, this is just a lack of common sense from the management of the hotel which allowed this, this is not just some weird “urban neo-hipster stay” concept! This fact made me not to have breakfast anymore is this so-called hotel. They are anyway saying on the website that they would rather eat their own breakfast instead of sharing it – well, enjoy your food with dog hares, gentlemen! Mahlzeit!

All these events made me shorten my stay in this miserable “hotel” by 3 nights. I have booked a real hotel and stayed there for the rest of my visit in Vienna. For sure, I will never-ever come again to this so-called hotel Daniel and I will also strongly advise other people to avoid it. The management of this “hotel” has to learn that either they lower the prices (40-50 euro/room/night is a more appropriate price for the current conditions), either they raise the accomodation standards so the building can really be called a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Călin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Even that we didn't like a lot of things about Daniel, we consider it a good place. It's just not for us. The rooms are too trendy and too noisy and if you are not a designer or dj or some other hipster like person, than here is a big chance that you will find this place kinda strange, but ... The breakfast is amazing, some other food in the restaurant, too. The shop on the reception sells some nice stuff. Worth a visit in any case.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The 'wow' factor begins as you approach the hotel and enter the lobby, mid-ccentury architecture with a 21st Century twist. Friendly, welcoming staff looked after us, both on reception and in the bohemian dining area. Requested a room with a view we were relocated to the top floor with stunning views over Vienna. The room was chic, with a nod to brutalism, yet comfortable whilst minimalist in character. The best hotel I've stayed in bar none!

Room Tip: Top three floors facing West or East for the views over Schloss Belvedere and the city of Vienna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAJOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A tall, glass building, with rooms with a lot of glass and a lot of view! The design of the rooms is really spectacular.
TheSmart rooms are small, but very wel equipped, the see-through shower is a real architectural feature. The space does not feel cramped at all. I only missed a closet, or more space to hang my clothes up.
The hotel is near a large ringway and the constant noise did bother us. We asked for a room at the back in the morning (we stayed 2 days) and they promptly offered us a room at the side on the ground floor. No extra fees, just an appology for the noise. As i said, great service. And always with a smile!
Breakfast was really great! Lots of choice in bread, cereals, yoghurts, ... you could even have your omelet made while you were waiting.
We are early risers, so we always had space, but on sunday around ten, the breakfast area was cramped, with line in front of the coffee machine... prove of how good the breakfast is.
The lounge is also very trendy, but comfortable, as is the restaurant. Good food, friendly service, ok prices.
Only disadvantage this hotel has, is that it is quite far from the U-bahn.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper, ask a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liesebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Great hotel in terms of it's edgy style - post industrial chic in rooms.....no work space in room i.e. a desk which is a downside as here to work!

Room located on 1st floor at front of hotel not very well sound proofed and is on a very busy road - bring ear plugs or request room at back of hotel.

Daniel Bakery recommended place to eat - even if not staying in hotel. If you know Pizza East in London its kinda like that style.

Overall I would not come back here on a business tip BUT for a leisure trip hotel is spot on!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbicanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Mostly suitably for young couples.
Kinky and fun hotel! I loved the trasparent shower.
Great lounge with great food.
Crew is very welcoming and smiling all the time, which is not common in Vienna based on my short experiece.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaphands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

pros:
- trendy modern rooms
- humourous signage
- near Prater amusement park
- friendly staff
- free wireless internet and lockers
cons:
- expensive breakfast
- rooms still under minor renovation
- transparent shower (not for families)
- small rooms

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Hotel Schani Wien
#39 of 358 in Vienna
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaisermühlen
Melia Vienna
Melia Vienna
#54 of 358 in Vienna
1,986 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#74 of 358 in Vienna
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel Vienna

Address: Landstrasser Guertel 5, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £72 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the motto "Urban Stay - Smart Luxury", 116 fully re-interpreted, contemporary and luxury rooms await modern travellers at Hotel Daniel Vienna. Far from any sort of 'hotel chain charm', here it's the unusual details that surprise guests: Art by Erwin Wurm, bees on the roof, rooms with hammocks and urban gardening in the front garden - which is exactly where you'll find the 'room on wheels', a caravan, that is fully equipped for comfort. Furthermore, there's free WiFi, bike and Vespa rental and our very own hotel shop. Whether visiting for a business meeting or chilling out with friends, the 'Bakery' in the loft-like ground floor of the hotel attracts people with its easy-going style, which extends throughout the interior design to the international menu, which includes delicious cake offers. And it's all in the best location - right next to Schloss Belvedere (Belvedere Palace) and Vienna's main train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Daniel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing