We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellent experience overall.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Daniel Vienna
Ranked #129 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exellent experience overall.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very special design (may not be everyone), hence you either love it or hate it. It will also depend the type of room u go for - if you can, go for the upper floors, side facing Belvedere & eventually pick a hammock room ;).
We found it nice & interesting and opted to stay there (including family & other friends) when we got married in Vienna this past September.
Location is really great, very well connected with tram line D and metro.
Super clean & pleasant, with some stunning views (depending on your floor & room side).
The staff was friendly and very helpful, including the manager (s), accommodating all we needed - even a welcome dinner for all our guests before the wedding day with a late notice, and a family come together brunch after the wedding.
The bakery / Resto is really a cool and a great place to chill around, be that for a breakfast or a drink / dinner in the evening.
So for us, Daniel's earned a very specific meaning and place in our heart & memories.

Many thanks to each and every staff / manager person we met there and who was involved in anyway making our stay such a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Margarita D,

thank you so much for this wonderful comments - it brings us great pleasure and gratitude.
It is indeed very important to us that our guests always feel welcome. We are very happy that you liked the hotel, the rooms, the breakfast and especially the services of our staff! Of course we will forward this really nice feedback to them.

Thank you again for your kind words. You have made our day!

We hope to welcome you to our hotel soon again.

Kind regards from Vienna
Your team from Hotel Daniel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    234
    94
    35
    15
See reviews for
53
291
35
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The cool, comfortable, clean and fun room with a great view over the city (we had asked for a good one) made up for the bad weather on our weekend in Vienna. It was a great spot to relax and chill out without feeling trapped in a stuffy hotel room. The breakfast buffet was the best I have ever had - the bircher museli made it for me:) The bright open space downstairs in the bar / lobby is a great spot as a bse to hang out when coming and going from the hotel.

Unfortunatley the 'too cool' hipster vibe from the staff was slightly off putting. We got short smart answers from 3 or 4 different staff members when asking for advise or directions. In one case we were told the tram station is 'just across the street' as if clueless, uncool tourists are not worth talking to. This was not helpful when running across the street in the rain to check out the two different tram lines that both pass from opposite the hotel about 50m apart. We were there as paying guests not for a popularity contest. We didn't let the pretentious school yardish atmosphere ruin our use of the hotel but feeling unwelcome definately took from the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view and pay the little extra for a corner one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
HannahDen,

we truly appreciate that you have taken the time to effectively summarize your impressions of our hotel.
Thanks for bringing your perceived negative experience and our lack of services to our attention. It helps us to maintain our high quality standards and to constantly improve our service. We will use your important and helpful information to pay special attention to this.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,
Your team from Hotel Daniel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights to visit the sights of Vienna. A nice hotel with a sparsely decorated room, industrially stripped down chic resulting in a small, narrow space with high ceilings (exposed pipes and wiring) and no cupboard space to speak of. We both enjoy walking, so the relative distance to the city center (about 15 to 20 minutes walk) was alright for us as the weather played along. The clever signage throughout the hotel was cute, and the extensive breakfast buffet was worth the fee. No gymnasium or pool, but the agreement the hotel has with a gym in the area offers a one day gym guest membership for 20 Euro(!)..
Guest services spoke good English but watched us wrestle our suitcases to the front desk instead of assisting us, so pack light or be ready to call for assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Peter G,

thank you for your positive comments about our property and we are very pleased that you felt comfortable staying with us.

It’s important to us that our guests feel comfortable staying in our hotel. We are sorry to hear that nobody helped you with your luggage at the arrival. But we will use your helpful information to do our outmost to improve.

Best regards,
Your team from Hotel Daniel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very nice, clean and comfortable modern hotel. It is near Belvedere palace. The breakfast is very tasty and the bar itself is very cosy and comfortable.
The room has the shower in glass which is a bit uncomfortable if you stay with friends in a room:)
Definitively together with Penta hotel one of the best hotels in Vienna I have seen so far!

Room Tip: If you come earlier there a lockers for the suitcases in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear andrea t,

thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write such an nice review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you where satisfied with your stay :)

Greetings to Barcelona!

Your Hotel Daniel Vienna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

10 mins on the D tram from Stephansdom. Comfortable, quiet, clean, small but cleverly designed bedrooms. Well thought through. Helpful staff. Performance cooked breakfast. Good system of lockers for left luggage. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Norman G,

thank you very much for your nice review. We are very pleased that you liked your stay at our hotel and that you where satisfied with our benefits.

Hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards
Your Hotel Daniel Vienna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at Hotel Daniel in May 2013, lovely spring, nice weather the whole weekend stay.
Just the day before I stayed close the the Daniel in the Prinz Eugen, I wasn't happy there with the fact that it was actually not renovated for quite a while and therefor a bit shabby and unprofessional. But the price was reasonable and being next to the Gürtel, the MAIN road through Vienna, it was pretty well noise absorbant.
The days I spent at Hotel Daniel was just about the opposite. I felt unwelcome by all the signs that told me what is expected from me as a guest and what I am not allowed to do, of course everything sugarcoated with a joke, but I got one of the 50% apartments that were on the side of the Gürtel, but this time without any soundproof windows.

So I paid basically a plenty more for an apartment that doesn't offer cupboards but some hangers, no desk but a bench and no view but noise and an attitude. And some style. Don't get me wrong, I love the hipster style, but the whole concept looks identical to the amazingly well done Michlberger in Berlin, but unlike adding new rules with winks as Daniel is doing, Michlberger are removing them, offering things like hammocks in the rooms for guests to come by or bathrobes to go to their bar ordering Dude styled white russians. Family like.
The bar itself that is attached to the hotel is nice and doesn't disappoint in terms of quality, nice cocktails, nice burgers.
Although as others mentioned here, this place is for some reason a hotspot for people on Sundays and national holidays which makes it feel like you are in a classy Swedish cafe waiting to get your coffee or anything else in the morning queuing for everything one by one.
Not really what you might expect from paying a premium price considering that Vienna has so many amazing breakfast places that you won't need to reserve a table and still offers those peeks in the beloved subcultures, like hot new Cafe Liebling, crazy WerzeugH or the more relaxed Cafe Wirr.
And please don't be confused by the location. The Belvedere is really a lovely place to stroll and the attached art gallery is also worth checking out, but this is almost the suburbs, no subway close that would bring you home after midnight and quite a while to walk for all the other sights to have a look at.
I was quite disappointed.

Room Tip: if you really need to stay put on the extra money to get a room that doesn't point to the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Thorsten R.,

we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the effort you have made to give us your feedback. We highly appreciate your great praise for the bar and the quality of our drinks and burgers.

We regret that the furnishing of our rooms did not meet your expectations.
Since our building is the first fully glassed building in Austria, our hotel is under monumental protection. We are actually not allowed to change the front of the building. But we already got some plans for the future to enhance the sound protection.
Just in case you come back, please ask directly at the reservation, for a room to the backside of the hotel, in a higher floor and with a table inside. These rooms are very quiet.

As per your and other guests feedback a suggestion we have decided to equip our rooms with a desk for working. Whenever we will have the pleasure to welcome you as our guest again, please feel free to contact us directly – we will be delighted to allocate you a room with a desk in it.

We are looking forward to visit us again. We will do everything we can in order to make sure that this negative experience is not the last impression of our hotel.

Kind regards
You Hotel Daniel Vienna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

A very cool hotel. Has the feeling of what a W Hotel might have had if they were still small. Rooms are cool, clean and spacious by European standards. Hotel staff is friendly and fully bilingual. Best feature: The ability to rent Vespa scooters for €15 per day. An absurdly good deal and a GREAT way to see this cool city. The location is great for those leaving Vienna by train for another city...easy access to all of the stations via public transit or (relatively) cheap taxi. Would ABSOLUTELY go back here on our next visit to Vienna.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank onlifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear onlifeguard,

many thank for taking your valuable time writing this nice review. We appreciate it!

See you at your next visit in Vienna! :)

Kind regards
Your team from Hotel Daniel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Wieden
Pakat Suites Hotel
Pakat Suites Hotel
#168 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel Vienna

Property: Hotel Daniel Vienna
Address: Landstrasser Guertel 5, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the motto "Urban Stay - Smart Luxury", 116 fully re-interpreted, contemporary and luxury rooms await modern travellers at Hotel Daniel Vienna. Far from any sort of 'hotel chain charm', here it's the unusual details that surprise guests: Art by Erwin Wurm, bees on the roof, rooms with hammocks and urban gardening in the front garden - which is exactly where you'll find the 'room on wheels', a caravan, that is fully equipped for comfort. Furthermore, there's free WiFi, bike and Vespa rental and our very own hotel shop. Whether visiting for a business meeting or chilling out with friends, the 'Bakery' in the loft-like ground floor of the hotel attracts people with its easy-going style, which extends throughout the interior design to the international menu, which includes delicious cake offers. And it's all in the best location - right next to Schloss Belvedere (Belvedere Palace) and Vienna's main train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Daniel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing