We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Daniel Vienna
Ranked #126 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Awesome hotel!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My boyfriend and I were there for 4 days in summer. The receptionist was nice and helpful. Our room was clean and everything was in place. We had a nice view and it was good that we had air condition, because the room would be so warm if you didn't had it on. Their restaurant was cozy and relaxing. The food was good and their drinks. There was only one thing and that was that the kitchen closed so early. I wish they could had it longer. But if you couldn't make it, they have some cakes and cookies for sale.
The location was good. The tram wasn't so far away, and the train to the airport too. If you want too see the Belvedere, you could just walk there. It will only take you 5 min too walk. I was very pleased with this hotel and I highly recommend it for couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djærika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Djaerika,

thank you very much for your review and the kind words about your stay. It’s good to hear, that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel Daniel Vienna.

Only your comment to the opening hours in the restaurant “Bakery” was not too clear to us. You write that our kitchen closes “too early”. This has taken us by surprise as we offer warm meals from 6 am until 11 pm. We think that for most of the readers here on Tripadvisor your comment could be misleading, as these are times, which normally suit our guests very well and give you plenty of time to enjoy all our great food in the Bakery. However, for your next stay, please only ask one of our friendly receptionists. He or she will be more than happy to give you suggestions regarding restaurants which are open the whole night, wherefrom we’ve got some really good ones in Vienna!

Looking forward to hearing from you and welcome you soon again in our Daniel Vienna!

Kind regards
Your team from Hotel Daniel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    241
    97
    36
    15
See reviews for
59
299
37
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful, and I would rate them highly. The breakfast was simple, but very nice.

The location is excellent and it is easy to get out and about from the hotel.

Facilities at the hotel were limited, with the rooms being rather spartan. I felt that they would be perfectly adequate for a single or couple, but more than that and there would not be adequate space or storage.

It is also worth noting that the toilet was a small cramped room, and the shower was a single cubicle in the room with a glass door and window on two sides. Not good if you want to maintain a level of privacy.

Room Tip: Ask ahead if you are more than a couple or single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_King14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Adrian King14,

thank you for your feedback. It's a great pleasure reading that you enjoyed the hotel breakfast and our customer service!

We are aware that especially guests who are staying for a longer period of time, the space to store luggage in certain rooms are limited. In such case we do provide our guests with alternative storage solutions which can be arranged through the front desk.

As a typical design hotel we are aware that our hotel is unique when it comes to interior and colour design. We are sorry to read that you didn’t feel comfortable with this concept.

We will do everything we can in order to make sure that this negative experience is not the last impression of our hotel and we are hoping you will give us another chance.

Best regards from Vienna,
The Hotel Daniel Vienna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

First of all the hotel has a good location (approx. 30 minutes by train from the airport) and the train station is just a two-minutes walk away.

The hotel looks just ok from the outside but if you go inside you experience a very warm and stylish atmosphere.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean. I liked the furnishings in the room. The shower was located in the room so you can have a look inside when someone is showering (not suitable if you travel with your familiy or friends you do not want to see naked).

Furthermore, I would like to emphasize the bed which was very comfortable.

We stayed two nights at Daniel Vienna and we had breakfast there once (on a Sunday). The costs were 15 euros per person and unfortunately (well good for the hotel) it was very crowded. We arrived at around 9:30 (on weekends breakfast is until 12 pm) and it was very difficult to get a table. Furthermore, there were long waiting lines in front of the buffet. Therefore I would not recommend the breakfast there if you want to enjoy a comfy breakfast. The selection of food was good (bread, coffee, juice, eggs, cheese, fruits, muesli....).

The restaurant is also very stylish and a nice opportunity to eat if you are too exhausted to drive to the city center. They have salads, burgers, sandwiches and some other meals.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Daniel Vienna. Nice hotel with a good price.

There is just one niggle: If you stay there longer than 2-3 days, keep in mind that the room does not have a wardrobe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Isabel C,

thank you very much for your detailed and very nice review about your stay at Hotel Daniel Vienna.
We are very sorry that you did not felt comfortable at our breakfast. We know that we are very crowded on week-ends because the Bakery breakfast is almost popular to the habitants in Vienna and a favored meeting place. Of course we pay attention that our hotel guests can have a table first :)

Hope to see you soon again, when you will make a stop in Vienna in future!

Kind regards
Your team from Hotel Daniel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Swoon over your view of Schloss Belvedere when you book a chic hammock room at the Daniel. Our room also overlooked the city, and the night lights were divine. Loved the uber-minimalist decor, the puffy duvet, the glass shower in the middle of the room, and the hammock. We hopped on the tram right outside the hotel for our daily downtown excursions, and strolled through the Belvedere en route to the Klimts. The breakfast was fresh and funky, and the staff couldn't have been warmer. What a fabulous way to start the day. Can't wait to return when the opera is in season.

Room Tip: Ask for a hammock room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Devo18,

what a great review! Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to describe your stay at Hotel Daniel Vienna.
We are very pleased that you liked your stay and that you were so happy with our staff!

Hope that you will come back as soon as possible :)

Warm regards
your team from Hotel Daniel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I had a great weekend trip to Vienna, and the Daniel was the perfect hotel for this. The hotel was relatively easy to find with good connections for public transportation. The tram stop is just across the street, and the city center is a 15-25min walk away. The hotel is modern and cool, and the breakfast was just fantastic! Our room was big and comfortable. The glass walls to the shower don't offer much privacy from the rest of the room, but for us it was fine. Overall we were very happy customers and would gladly recommend this hotel. Great value for money. The staff was also very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertAndJenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear RobertAndJenna,

thank you so much for your nice review about your stay at Hotel Daniel Vienna. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you where happy with the room and breakfast.

Hope too see you soon :)

Kind regards
Your team from Hotel Daniel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A very cool hotel. The bare walls are perhaps a bit too bare for our taste and form prevails over function sometimes but we knew what we were getting into. The hotel is very good at branding itself as cool and it kinda works. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic, one of the best on our trip. The location could be a bit better, though. It’s within walking distance if you can tolerate a 30-minute walk or so.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bettercallpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Bettercallpaul,

thank you very much for your nice review and the kind words about our hotel Daniel :)
We are very pleased that you liked your stay and the breakfast.
To get to the city center you can also take the public transports, so it takes you only 5 minutes. In summer we rent also our bikes or vespas – that is often a good alternative for our guests – maybe you will try this the next time? :)

Hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards
Your Hotel Daniel Vienna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notitngham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Finding Hotel Daniel was through an internet search. And so glad that I did. My need to visit Vienna was for a conference. Unspoilt city, preserved. Beautiful. Hotel Daniel was modern, quirky and hip! The staff were courteous, polite; of esp. note was the Café staff when attending for breakfast or dinner. Great value for money and style. Since returning to the UK, have been recommending to friends and colleagues to visit Vienna and stay at the hotel. Hope it pays off. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INordstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear INordstra,

first of all we would like to thank you so much for your nice review and the praising words to our hotel and our staff.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to come back one day :)

We are looking forward to welcome your friends soon in Vinna!

Best regards from Austria
Your Hotel Daniel Vienna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#37 of 360 in Vienna
702 reviews
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
pentahotel Vienna
pentahotel Vienna
#68 of 360 in Vienna
1,531 reviews
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand - Your Hotel In The City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel Vienna

Property: Hotel Daniel Vienna
Address: Landstrasser Guertel 5, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the motto "Urban Stay - Smart Luxury", 116 fully re-interpreted, contemporary and luxury rooms await modern travellers at Hotel Daniel Vienna. Far from any sort of 'hotel chain charm', here it's the unusual details that surprise guests: Art by Erwin Wurm, bees on the roof, rooms with hammocks and urban gardening in the front garden - which is exactly where you'll find the 'room on wheels', a caravan, that is fully equipped for comfort. Furthermore, there's free WiFi, bike and Vespa rental and our very own hotel shop. Whether visiting for a business meeting or chilling out with friends, the 'Bakery' in the loft-like ground floor of the hotel attracts people with its easy-going style, which extends throughout the interior design to the international menu, which includes delicious cake offers. And it's all in the best location - right next to Schloss Belvedere (Belvedere Palace) and Vienna's main train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Daniel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing