We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Urban Chique and very hospitable management!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Daniel Vienna
Ranked #130 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Urban Chique and very hospitable management!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went here to grab a quick bite on a sunday evening - nice urban chique place with modern and elegant menu. Decided to install myself there today to get some work done. As a modern business nomad, that's what you do. The staff are very friendly and make sure you come short nothing. When at some point builders started drilling which was very noisy, the manager came to apologise for that. I definately go back here, and who knows, maybe I will stay over.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotoriousGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear NotoriousGemini,

how nice! We are honored and I want thank you for you refforts and your kind words! We truly appreciate it!

We are looking forward welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,
Eva and the Daniel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    226
    92
    35
    14
See reviews for
50
286
35
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
VENICE, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed at the Daniel as a solo traveler for 3 nights. I had a nice quiet panorama room on the back side of hotel. The hotel is a great value for the price. The staff were super helpful and very friendly.Tthe room was minimal, clean, stylish and cozy. The location is nice in that you can walk to Belvedere gardens, and the only reason I'm giving it 4 stars because is if you want to walk out of your hotel and be in the mix of restaurants etc, you wont find this here. Being a solo traveler its sometimes nice to be in a more accessible location.
But the restaurant at Daniel is great, and if you don't mind hopping on public transport or in a cab if its late, then this hotel is awesome, and if traveling out of Vienna by train then the location is helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are in need of some R&R.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABWVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear ABWVenice,

we are glad that you were satisfied with your stay. Your praising words have been forwarded to our staff – such a positive feedback encourages further guest relation initiatives and I’m sure they appreciate it.

We are looking forward welcoming you to our hotel soon again!

Best regards from Vienna,
Eva and the Daniel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is quite great - it is not a large American chain, it feels very unique and down to earth, they have a very clear POV and design sensibility and the staff was quite nice!

I personally LOVED their own shower products - wanted to buy some (you can) but I was afraid I already had limited space in my bag for it.

The room was quite nice - great shower pressure, clean, cool, modern, concrete and wood. No frills - just honest. Perfect for couples - wouldn't recommend for kids - not the right vibe.

Room Tip: Try to get the corner rooms and ask for view to downtown - not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Alejandro A,

thank you so much for your praising words! It's a great pleasure reading, that you are pleased with our customer service and that your hotel room was to your satisfaction.

I hope you'll come back soon again - but with less baggage that you can take a Daniel Shower Gel with you ;-)

Best regards from Vienna,
Eva and the Hotel Daniel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Spent two nights in Hotel Daniel in Vienna on weekend getaway. Absolutely loved the style, the feel and atmosphere. Staff was very helpful and professional, restaurant and food great. Room was a bit small, but for the few days perfectly enough for what we needed. The urban chic factor was very unique and I will for sure come back on my future trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Lucia K,

thank you so much for your great and extensive review. It's a great pleasure reading that you enjoyed the stay and our hotel concept. Your praising words have been forwarded to our staff – such a positive feedback encourages further guest relation initiatives and I’m sure, they appreciate it.

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards,
Eva and the Hotel Daniel Vienna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I'd really would love to give this hotel a 5* rating because the concept, the staff and the amazing bakery downstairs (try their Pavlova cake ... delicious) ... unfortunately there is one drawback ... the noise from the street! The hotel is located next to a very large avenue and while usually after a day of work, I would easily fall asleep despite the noise ... if you wake up a first time hoping to go for another "round" ... forget it ... the traffic will prevent that :-(
I know it would cost a fortune to soundproof such a place as it all made of glass so I would face a dilemma if I had to come back! A real pity because I loved the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matsounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Matsounet,

thank you so much for taking your valuable time to describe your stay at Hotel Daniel Vienna. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our hotel concept.

We are sorry to hear, that you couldn’t sleep because of too much noise. As a city hotel we are located nearby the highway. Our rooms are sound-proofed as much as possible. Unfortunately, our hands are tied, because the house is a heritage-protected. Upon request, we may also be able to provide you with a room located against our quieter back – in direction Castle Belvedere. Please do not hesitate contacting us directly when making your next reservation and we will do our outmost supporting you to find most convenient solution.

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards,
Eva and the Hotel Daniel Vienna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Right next door to the Belvedere (although a tad out of the city centre – 10 mins on the tram) the Hotel Daniel is a top place to stay in Vienna.

Laid back but very professional, this hotel has an excellent feel about it. Very stylish but not in any way lacking in substance. The rooms have everything you need, with incredibly comfortable beds and super-soft duvets. Some won’t like the fact that the shower is a glass box in the middle of the room, but I thought it was fun; it was also a fantastic shower.

They have a fantastic breakfast too – as everyone says. Book in advance to save a few Euro. The ‘Bakery’ is not only good for breakfast though, I sampled a very nice lunch there and it’s also a good place for a drink at night.

Finally, I found all the staff very friendly.

Would highly recommend as a place to explore the city. Probably better for people more open to a different type of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as it won't be overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peejay_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear peejay_london,

thank you very much for your nice review and the kind words about our Hotel Daniel Vienna. It was entirely our pleasure having you as guest! Good that we were able to inspire you with our concept and the food in our Bakery.

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards,
yours Hotel Daniel Vienna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inbetween
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Much thought has gone into the urban chic of Hotel Daniel. Locals flock to the delicious bakery/deli for breakfast on a saturday and sunday morning, so make sure - if you're a guest - you get down there early!

The rooms are comfortable, with an urban unfinished edge to go with the hints of luxury such as an incredibly comfortable bed, soft duvets and pillows. If you choose a luxury room, you can swing in a hammock with views of the city in the distance, including the Prater big wheel, especially dramatic when illuminated at night.

The staff are laid-back and friendly, the clientele on the 20/30/40something side of hipsterish, though still largely german-speaking at the moment. I was in Vienna for the first time, working on a piece on the city for the UK press, and I was very impressed with this hotel. When so much of Vienna is museum-like, historical however impressive, it was refreshing each evening to return to a place with a contemporary feel, and just a 10minute tram ride from the centre.

Another bonus, the Belvedere Palace and gardens are right next door, and are also dramatically lit at night.

I have no reservations in recommending that you make reservations at the Hotel Daniel. And, remember, get down to breakfast a good time at the weekend before Wien's hipster crowd turns up.

Finally, try to book a room with city views. The other side is on a very busy main road!

Room Tip: luxury room with a hammock facing the city. the other side is a very busy main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jah326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear jah326,

thank you so much for your great and extensive review! It’s a great pleasure reading that you enjoyed the customer service, location and that the hotel room was to your satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel soon again!

Kind regards,
the Hotel Daniel Vienna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#34 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Wieden
Pakat Suites Hotel
Pakat Suites Hotel
#149 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel Vienna

Property: Hotel Daniel Vienna
Address: Landstrasser Guertel 5, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the motto "Urban Stay - Smart Luxury", 116 fully re-interpreted, contemporary and luxury rooms await modern travellers at Hotel Daniel Vienna. Far from any sort of 'hotel chain charm', here it's the unusual details that surprise guests: Art by Erwin Wurm, bees on the roof, rooms with hammocks and urban gardening in the front garden - which is exactly where you'll find the 'room on wheels', a caravan, that is fully equipped for comfort. Furthermore, there's free WiFi, bike and Vespa rental and our very own hotel shop. Whether visiting for a business meeting or chilling out with friends, the 'Bakery' in the loft-like ground floor of the hotel attracts people with its easy-going style, which extends throughout the interior design to the international menu, which includes delicious cake offers. And it's all in the best location - right next to Schloss Belvedere (Belvedere Palace) and Vienna's main train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Daniel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing