We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ranked #111 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

It's a very basic hotel, without any luxury, but well worth its price. It's clean, the rooms are very decent. We had a basic room that even included a small couch.
It's a 5 min walk to the subway, which takes you in less than 10 mins to the city center. The restaurants nearby are great. We enjoyed Das Heinz, just across the river and Schöne Perle for dinner and once for brunch. On the Karmelitermarkt there are also plenty of place to have brunch. I would not take the breakfast in the hotel, since Vienna has many brunch places that are much much better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby88472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear bobby88472,

thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

it was a the best hotel in wienna with one i ever see! servise kind and helpfull, kitchen with good staff, rooms are very cleaning. I was feeling like my home. Staff are speaks very good english. Hotel are situated near the Uban, so communication was easy. Very good prices. I recomended this one for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear maria r,

thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I will admit that I was a bit nervous about staying in a hotel/hostel for €50 per night. I am usually super picky about cleanliness and weary of bargains that seem too good to be true, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that the Meininger Wien Sissi was absolutely the cleanest hotel we have seen in Europe.
The room was comfortable, and the shared kitchen downstairs was actually a nice little bonus. WiFi worked well.
I did not find that the hotel was as quiet as others have described, but it was certainly tolerable for me and my light sleep patterns.
As far as the "locked" room: there is a big room with shelves for suitcases to which all guests have access. There are also lockers available. The lockers are small, but can accomodate a small bag with a laptop. The lockers are free (€5 deposit for the key). The system worked well for us and we did not have any problems.
If we return to Vienna, I will definitely try to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the stairwell (which gets loud and echo-y).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear bsgf ,

thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Some hotels make you feel like home, other try to do so, this one is HOTEL and nothing more, with no intention to change a bit of it.

The hotel has everything you need in your city trip. It's not far from the the city-center, even closer to the metro-station, the staff speaks good English, the quite good breakfast is being served by reasanable price, the building of the hotel new and accurate.

Rooms are big and the furniture is comfortable. Though we had some difficulties as there was no safe in the room...

Everything is in order as I've said. But some unexplainable lack of the atmosphere of hospitality does not allow me to put an Excellent mark to the hotel... On our check-out day chamber-maid tryed to enter the room tree times before we have left, like they could not wait till we leave...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VasilyMalygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello VasilyMalygin ,

thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

We feel very sorry that the chamber-maid tried to come into your room before you have left the room. This is not our standard.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Nice hotel close to city center. Room was big enough. Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk. Clean. Quiet area. Wi-Fi very good. If you arrive by car, parking at the hotel isn't easy- too small and around you need short time parking ticket which you have to renew every 2 hours - ridiculous.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Călin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello 1963 Calin,

thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

New, modern, clean, fresh hotel situated just 2 blocks away from Underground station Schnottering, or a 20 minutes walk to Rathaus. We enjoyed our stay very much although we skipped breakfast since we had read critics that for 5.90/person/day it wasn't that good. Just round the corner there's Billa supermarket where you can buy whatever you want for breakfast. The room doesn't have a fridge but there's a very nice kitchen just next to the breakfast room where you can store whatever you want. Definitely worthed the money we gave, just 50€/night, we strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nidri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello Nidri,

thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel rooms are new, clean and not too small. The hotel is in walking distance to the most sightseeing points. the staff is friendly. We did not have any breakfast, but the buffet did not look that nice.

1  Thank Lombi27
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello Lombi27,

thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Döbling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#56 of 359 in Vienna
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#52 of 359 in Vienna
708 reviews
Landstraße
JUFA Hotel Wien City
JUFA Hotel Wien City
#63 of 359 in Vienna
838 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#55 of 359 in Vienna
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £36 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing