We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay at a budget motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ranked #99 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay at a budget motel”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel with the objective of having a reasonably priced place to stay for several nights to recover from jet lag before continuing our travels in Europe. Upon check in we were actually quite surprised with the overall quality and nice location of this hotel considering the rate. I really can't think of anything that disapointed us about this property. As long as you go into this hotel with realistic expectations that it is a budget hotel and aren't expecting the moon you will probably be satisfied withn your stay. Lots of good restaurants are within easy walking distance, as well as St. Stephans cathedral and Mariahilferstrasse (shopping district). Lastly I want to recognize the front desk staff who were friendly, professional, and very helpful with any enquiries.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hello Philip c,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear, that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a nice experience.


Hope to see you back in Vienna.

Your Meininger Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    390
    115
    20
    14
See reviews for
200
238
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, MI
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Very clean hotel in a quite side street near all the action in Vienna. 15 minute walk to St. Stephens cathedral and lots of places to eat nearby. Nice hostel style kitchen a lounge area downstairs we actually took advantage of. Billa grocery store right around the corner makes cooking in the well appointed community kitchen an easy and inexpensive option. Rooms are very clean, though lighting is an issue. Biggest complaint is the burdensome Wifi login scheme (unique code for each device that must be re input daily) and how ungodly slow the Wifi is. Other than that a fantastic hotel value

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank addrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hello addrake,

thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtwon Sissi.

We already worked on the Wifi and now it is faster.

We hope to see you soon at Meininger Hotel.
Do you know about our other Hotels for example in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Munich..?

Your Meininger-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Travelling as a family of four (with teenagers) we found this hotel is located in a very quiet area, 5 minutes to U-Bahn (metro), Schottenring station- be careful: the right exit to the hotel is only from the U2 line, exit Herminengasse, otherwise you will exit on the other side of the river (double distance to the hotel). The city center is only 10 minutes with metro.
Staff was friendly and our room was quiet, large, clean, but light in the room was inadequate. This made the room depressing at night and this is a serious disadvantage. Moreover, two shades on the windows were broken. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable and there was no fridge in the room. Free WiFi and quiet in the room are advantages, but honestly I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaliThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hello KaliThess,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear, that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a nice experience.

We are working on a new light-concept, so that in future will be brighter in the rooms.

Hope to see you back in Vienna or mabye in one of our other Meininger Hotels e.g. in Berlin, Amsterdam, Frankfurt...

Your Meininger Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Good hotel, clean room, 10 min by foot to the center, 3 min from U2 underground station Schottenring, good bed, good bathroom appliances, not enough electrical light in the room(central).
Free wi-fi
Expensive parking 18 euro/day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MateiGogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello MateiGogu

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a good experience.

The next surveillanced parkinggarage cost 21 Eur pr day, making our parking for 18 Eur cheaper than the other options that are availbe in the area.

Hope to see you back in Vienna.

Your Meininger Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

4 of us stayed at this hotel on 12-13 Dec 2013.

We arrived early and were told that our rooms were not available yet for early check in as they were quite full. We were hoping that they would let us use one of their rooms for 1-2 hours to freshen up as we had just come out from an overnight train trip from Prague but were declined by their receptionist that morning.
Instead we were told to put our luggage in the luggage room (at our own risk) and that we can shower in the basement toilet. We left our luggage there but found out that the toilet doesn't have a shower. We were too tired to kick up a fuss so just changed clothes, freshened up and had breakfast in their cafe. Their cafe served breakfast buffet for E5.90. Nothing to shout about. For that price we expected pastry, eggs etc but they only served bread, canned fruit, either turkey or ham slices and some cheese.
We then started to walk around Vienna and didn't come back to the hotel until about 6pm.
Location was OK, with easy walking distance to 2 underground stations.

The rooms were OK. Separate bathrooms which were great. Showers were great.
Beds were good and pillows were good too.
Lighting in the rooms were a bit dark but not a big issue.
Overall rooms were comfortable for 4 people which was surprising.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iestatiptra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hello tiptraa,

thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtwon Sissi.

Our check-in-time is from 3pm. We always try our best to let you in the room ealier. But you can store your luggage at any time in our Hotel. We are very sorry that it was not possible for you to get into the room before 3pm.

We hope to see you soon at Meininger Hotel.
Do you know about our other Hotels for example in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Munich..?

Your Meininger-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Good hotel for a fair price with a good location that is pretty close to the city center. Rooms were clean and breakfast was ok with a good choice. Parking was a bit difficult because it was in the back of the hotel and with no reservation you might end up without a place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello Bogdan C

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear, that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a nice experience.
We have a limited space for parking, and therefor encourage our guests to reserve it before arrival.

Hope to see you back in Vienna.

Your Meininger Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal - Norte
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Positive:
-It could be called an Hostel "plus"
-Nice recepcionists
-Modern and clean rooms (also spacious) and bathroom
-Next to subway (5 minutes walking)

Negative:
-Although the price is good considering other Vienna hotels (so good quality-relationship), it was overpriced for this kind of hotel
-For the breakfast price (5.9 eur), it could be better: no fresh fruit salad, pastery, scrambled eggs, expresso not includded
-20 minutes walking to city centre
-Beds not very confortable after 2 days - pillows could be improved?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello Biajante

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a good experience.
Our prices changes on daily basis depending on the seasons (christmas/summer ect) and other activities in the city. We will take your suggestions reagding our breakfast up to consideration.

Hope to see you back in Vienna.

Your Meininger Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#57 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#163 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing