We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ranked #106 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

- The room door lock from the inside was broken and the cleaning staff would knock once and enter right away without awaiting reply. Also, questionable higyene of towels and sheets, our bed occasionally wouldn't be made.

+ Great location, just next to the tube station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello,

thank you for your review.

We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.
We are sorry that you was not satisfied with our cleaning stuff, this is not our standard.
If you put your towels on the floor, they will change them. If not, they do not take them because of the environment.

We would like to welcome you in our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Your MEININGER – Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    400
    116
    21
    14
See reviews for
206
239
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I expected avarage accomodation and service, but I was nicely surprised. Room: big and very clean with comfortable and huge bed. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The best part was the location - very close to center and during the night it was very calm. The breakfast was also fine (lots of things to choose :-)) I can wholeheartedly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello,

we thank you very much for your nice review and your invested time to write us.

We feel very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Visit our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Your MEININGER – Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I wasn't expected something so good. The hotel and room decoration is lovely (Inspired on Sissi of course)

Location: 15 min walking to the subway, 20 min to cathedral (Vienna is very safe also in the night)
Rooms: very clean, spacious, and comfortable
Bed: Excellent also the pillows
Staff: Very friendly and helpful

One bad thing: The heating system was not working very well during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Daniel

thank you very much for your Review and your invested time.

We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Price of hotel is reasonable, friendly staff, great location. The breakfast was also great, with a wide selection of food and drink. Rooms are big and clean. Great interior with nice pictures of Sissi everywhere:)

We will definitely return to the Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello,

thank you for your nice review..

Your are welcome at any time at any of our MEININGER Hotels again.
Do you know the MEININGER Hotel in... Amsterdam, Berlin, Brüssels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg?


Your Meininger team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was ok for its price range, we were 3 girls in one room and had a good time there. We had 2 normal beds, the third one was a convirtible bed. Everything was clean, heaters strong enough. Breakfast there is totally worth it, you get the same as in the city for half the price.
We had internet in the rooms (though slow) and the staff was nice.
Worth it for a trip with friends but nothing fancy to expect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Nathalie,

thank you very much for your review.

We feel very happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We checked into a triple room, however, we had only two beds and a couch. After a quick phone call they moved us to a much bigger room with 4 beds which was nice.

Hotel is in a good location, 3 mins to the metro and only a 15min walk along the river to the city center. Breakfast was 6€uro per person and I think is good value. No hot food but a good selection of cold cuts, fruit, muesli, yogurt etc..

Wifi was good and really had no complaints for our one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hello Ash P,

thank you very much for your review.

We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.
During your next stay at our Hotel you can check our guest kitchen for preparing some hot Food for your breakfast.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin 11
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were three men in our late 20s staying there in March 2014. From the airport we took the S bahn to Praterstern Station. Hotel was 1.3km walk from that station. If you're not up to that walk, the Schottenring station is less than 200metres from the door of the hotel.

The hotel is a very continental hostel. Outside it doesn't look great, but everything beyond that is perfect. The staff were very nice and spoke very good English. They were very helpful. The reception area was very nice.

The room was a glorified hotel room. The décor was very nice. The room was en suite with four beds. There was a separate WC from shower unit to allow for efficiency. We were on the fourth floor and the Wi-Fi was good all weekend.

The only downside was there were Church bells ringing as early as 9am. There was breakfast available up to 10:30am for €5.90 which was continental breakfast (eggs, cold meats, cereal, pastries).

There were drinks and beer available 24 hours and a pool room also. It was 1.5km from the Stephansplatz, the very heart of Vienna. A nice tip is an area very near the nearby bridge of night clubs and Bars: Bermuda, Cuban bar, Castleblanca. It's also walking distance to the "Why Not" gay club.

It's also about 2km walk to the main channel of the Danube. The room was comfortable, clean, warm and spacious with lockers so overall we were happy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello Lorii,

Thank you for your review.
We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi.

Your are very welcome at any time at any of our MEININGER Hotels again.
Do you also know about our Hotels in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussesl, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Cologne, London, Munich and Salzburg?


Your Meininger team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#157 of 360 in Vienna
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#54 of 360 in Vienna
583 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing