We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
922 results
Traveller rating
284
452
135
29
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
452
135
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest kitchen metro station shared kitchen quadruple room budget hotel luggage room city centre billa supermarket minutes walking street noise nice hotel quiet neighborhood per night one night stay wi fi small kitchen hotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 922 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Leaving the hotel today, after 4 nights. Was impressed, given low expectations due to other European hotels of similar cost. Was given a top floor, corner room facing the courtyard after having requested these at booking. So, kudos to Sissi for honoring requests.
Found the 2nd District where the hotel is located to be an oasis of calm, with several stylish and delicious restaurants nearby--particularly Skopnik and Lohn, and Mochi. The hotel is a 5-10 min. walk from the U4/U2 Schottenring stop, as well as teams 1, 2, and 31; and from the Donaukanal, a lively scene most evenings.
The room was found to be spacious, with effective sound-proofing; had comfortable beds; and modern, well-kept up bathroom fixtures. Toilet was separate from shower, a nice accommodation. The hot water kept up throughout.
The room was free of dust, even the out of the way places; and bathroom was kept clean. Housekeeping entered once while we were in, and despite the Do-Not-Disturb sign. They made our beds but didn't change the sheets, an unexpected but in hindsight economically-sensible protocol. The only deficiency the room had was that the lighting was insufficient, which has been noted in previous reviews.
Front desk staff were on hand 24 hours, spoke very decent English; sold us Vienna Cards, laundry soap, and bottles of water (refrigerators in lobby for this, and beer and ice cream); and provided some directions when needed.
Summarily, the hotel worked superbly for a short tourist visit to Vienna. Meininger has a good product here, and I would recommend.

Date of stay: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello,

thank you so much for your detailed review!

We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi and that you would recommend us.

We would like to welcome you at any time in our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Greetings from Vienna,

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

- The room door lock from the inside was broken and the cleaning staff would knock once and enter right away without awaiting reply. Also, questionable higyene of towels and sheets, our bed occasionally wouldn't be made.

+ Great location, just next to the tube station.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello,

thank you for your review.

We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.
We are sorry that you was not satisfied with our cleaning stuff, this is not our standard.
If you put your towels on the floor, they will change them. If not, they do not take them because of the environment.

We would like to welcome you in our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I expected avarage accomodation and service, but I was nicely surprised. Room: big and very clean with comfortable and huge bed. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The best part was the location - very close to center and during the night it was very calm. The breakfast was also fine (lots of things to choose :-)) I can wholeheartedly recommend!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello,

we thank you very much for your nice review and your invested time to write us.

We feel very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Visit our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I wasn't expected something so good. The hotel and room decoration is lovely (Inspired on Sissi of course)

Location: 15 min walking to the subway, 20 min to cathedral (Vienna is very safe also in the night)
Rooms: very clean, spacious, and comfortable
Bed: Excellent also the pillows
Staff: Very friendly and helpful

One bad thing: The heating system was not working very well during my stay.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielnydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Daniel

thank you very much for your Review and your invested time.

We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Price of hotel is reasonable, friendly staff, great location. The breakfast was also great, with a wide selection of food and drink. Rooms are big and clean. Great interior with nice pictures of Sissi everywhere:)

We will definitely return to the Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sasa_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hello,

thank you for your nice review..

Your are welcome at any time at any of our MEININGER Hotels again.
Do you know the MEININGER Hotel in... Amsterdam, Berlin, Brüssels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg?


Your Meininger team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews