We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate place to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ranked #109 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed there with my 2 friends for 20 days and enjoyed myself a lot.
Room was big in size, clean
Great Location
Friendly Staff
Very Nice Kitchen
We used to play Billiards and Fooseball most of the time and n the reamining time we cooked food there only.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ankitmittal1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello,

thank you for your review.

We feel happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.
It is very nice to hear, that you were looking foward to us the guestkitchen.

We would like to welcome you in our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Leaving the hotel today, after 4 nights. Was impressed, given low expectations due to other European hotels of similar cost. Was given a top floor, corner room facing the courtyard after having requested these at booking. So, kudos to Sissi for honoring requests.
Found the 2nd District where the hotel is located to be an oasis of calm, with several stylish and delicious restaurants nearby--particularly Skopnik and Lohn, and Mochi. The hotel is a 5-10 min. walk from the U4/U2 Schottenring stop, as well as teams 1, 2, and 31; and from the Donaukanal, a lively scene most evenings.
The room was found to be spacious, with effective sound-proofing; had comfortable beds; and modern, well-kept up bathroom fixtures. Toilet was separate from shower, a nice accommodation. The hot water kept up throughout.
The room was free of dust, even the out of the way places; and bathroom was kept clean. Housekeeping entered once while we were in, and despite the Do-Not-Disturb sign. They made our beds but didn't change the sheets, an unexpected but in hindsight economically-sensible protocol. The only deficiency the room had was that the lighting was insufficient, which has been noted in previous reviews.
Front desk staff were on hand 24 hours, spoke very decent English; sold us Vienna Cards, laundry soap, and bottles of water (refrigerators in lobby for this, and beer and ice cream); and provided some directions when needed.
Summarily, the hotel worked superbly for a short tourist visit to Vienna. Meininger has a good product here, and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello,

thank you so much for your detailed review!

We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi and that you would recommend us.

We would like to welcome you at any time in our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Greetings from Vienna,

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

- The room door lock from the inside was broken and the cleaning staff would knock once and enter right away without awaiting reply. Also, questionable higyene of towels and sheets, our bed occasionally wouldn't be made.

+ Great location, just next to the tube station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello,

thank you for your review.

We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.
We are sorry that you was not satisfied with our cleaning stuff, this is not our standard.
If you put your towels on the floor, they will change them. If not, they do not take them because of the environment.

We would like to welcome you in our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I expected avarage accomodation and service, but I was nicely surprised. Room: big and very clean with comfortable and huge bed. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The best part was the location - very close to center and during the night it was very calm. The breakfast was also fine (lots of things to choose :-)) I can wholeheartedly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello,

we thank you very much for your nice review and your invested time to write us.

We feel very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Visit our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I wasn't expected something so good. The hotel and room decoration is lovely (Inspired on Sissi of course)

Location: 15 min walking to the subway, 20 min to cathedral (Vienna is very safe also in the night)
Rooms: very clean, spacious, and comfortable
Bed: Excellent also the pillows
Staff: Very friendly and helpful

One bad thing: The heating system was not working very well during my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielnydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Daniel

thank you very much for your Review and your invested time.

We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Price of hotel is reasonable, friendly staff, great location. The breakfast was also great, with a wide selection of food and drink. Rooms are big and clean. Great interior with nice pictures of Sissi everywhere:)

We will definitely return to the Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sasa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hello,

thank you for your nice review..

Your are welcome at any time at any of our MEININGER Hotels again.
Do you know the MEININGER Hotel in... Amsterdam, Berlin, Brüssels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg?


Your Meininger team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was ok for its price range, we were 3 girls in one room and had a good time there. We had 2 normal beds, the third one was a convirtible bed. Everything was clean, heaters strong enough. Breakfast there is totally worth it, you get the same as in the city for half the price.
We had internet in the rooms (though slow) and the staff was nice.
Worth it for a trip with friends but nothing fancy to expect.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Nathalie,

thank you very much for your review.

We feel very happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#56 of 358 in Vienna
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#155 of 358 in Vienna
386 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#51 of 358 in Vienna
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £41 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing