We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ranked #106 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We left.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Honestly we didn't even stay here. We got to he hotel in the afternoon and it was nearing 100 degrees outside. This hotel has no air conditioning. The windows only cracked open, and we were up on the fourth floor, so it was easily over 100 in our room. We went downstairs and asked for a fan, they gave us one that was so small that when we plugged it in. We had to be sitting right in front of it to even feel a breeze. Best of all, we had to pay 10 euros for that crap! The hotel says it has parking, but they only have about 18 spaces, and you can't book one in advance. Fortunately, there is a parking garage within easy walking distance. Honestly, I think this hotel would be just fine if it wasn't sweltering outside, but ultimately, not a place to stay in the summer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EB K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hello!

Thank you very much for your feedback! It is always good to know the opinion of our guests in order to improve our services.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay here and left so soon. Our hotel unfortunately does not have air conditioning, neither do we advertise having one. We offer the fans you mention - there must have been a misunderstanding as the 10 euros you paid was just a deposit, which means that you must have gotten your money back after returning the fan.
As for the parking - the prior reservation is necessary - that is probably the reason you weren´t able to book a parking place at the spot.
We are very sorry about the impression you have about our hotel and we would be pleased if you visited one of our houses so we can convince you of our qualities.

Best wishes from Vienna
Your MEININGER Sissi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    400
    116
    21
    14
See reviews for
206
239
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Really glad we stayed here, I arrived late at night and felt fine walking around the neighbourhood on my own as a young woman. The directions on the hotel's website of how to get find them via public transport from the airport were really clear. Once you find the right exit to come out of (if travelling on U4 from the airport then you need to go down a level to find the U2 and the correct exit) then it's a really simple short walk.

There are a few nice cafes nearby and such a short walk to the subway it's all really well connected. The hotel rooms are really large and had all the basics we needed, as did the bathroom. Everything was clean and for a big city the noise level was fine - you're always going to get some noise! We paid for the breakfast which was really nice, or they also have a kitchen if you'd prefer to make your own. Really nice stay, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikatticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hello,

thank you for your review.
We are pleased that your stay at the MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi was great.
The guestkitchen sould helps our guests to let them feel very well, so it is nice to hear from you, that you like it.
We hope to see you soon in one of our MEININGER Hotels. For example in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg.

Greetings
the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just had 4 nights here,it.s nice to stay in a hotel that isn't on a busy road. Room was quite spacious ,clean and comfortable beds. Breakfast when I originally booked was advertised as 5.90 Euros but it was 7.90. Euros. It's a good selection and eat/drink as much as you like. Staff were friendly too.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking courtyard which was 4 rooms with a separate door leading to it. Reasonably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelse1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hello,

thank you for your review.
We are pleased that your stay at the MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi was great.
We are still improving our services and offers to our guests, so the last thing was to improve our breakfast buffe with a better food-offer. So we just assimiliated the price.

We hope to see you soon in one of our MEININGER Hotels. For example in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg.

Greetings
the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

18-19 June 2014 We had rented three rooms I have stayed in vienna. the hotel was clean and quiet The room we stayed in was cleaned daily. Alone at the front desk of the person in charge of foreign tourists were expected to perform against the more patient and caring
All my friends and I thank the hotel staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tulayozok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello,

thank you so much for your review.

We feel very happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Visit us in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg.

Greetings from Vienna
the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very good hotel, confortable, clean. 5 - 10 minutes walking from Schwedenplatz, in bez.2 . Extras look a bit overprised (water, coffee, breakfast) and a bit too much light when the sunlight arrives but not beag deal! My single Room was confortable and large! Very good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony_Montecarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello,

thank you very much for your review.
We feel very happy to read that your stay was great.

Visit us in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Greetings,
the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked a triple room in the hotel through Budgetplaces.com for a very reasonable price. Arriving at the hotel was not difficult as it is only about a 5 minute walk away from the Herminengasse exit of the Schottenring u-bahn/metro station.

The room did not actually match its description - the description of the room at the point of booking was that it comprises single beds. The actual room was identical to a quadruple room I had previously stayed in in Meininger Amsterdam - two single beds joined together with a double-decker bunk bed. We did not mind this difference, and everything else was good. The room was spacious, with ensuite toilet facilities - the shower and toilet were separated which was good. There was a television, table and chair, and towels were provided. The shower was good - hot water was readily available and water pressure was excellent. Everything was very clean. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, but it looked like it was the standard buffet spread.

The only slight downside is the WiFi - the hotel, as with other Meininger branches, uses a username and password system which you can get from the hotel reception. But it apparently gets overloaded very quickly according to the reception, so trying to connect to the WiFi is really a matter of luck and it may take many many repeated attempts before you establish a successful connection. This can be frustrating if you need the internet urgently. However, once connected, the internet worked fine.

The location of the hotel is good - near the metro station, and there are some restaurants and bakeries nearby from which you can get a meal or breakfast. It is walkable to most attractions but note that the walk may be more than 30-40 minutes.

I would recommend this hotel as the rooms and location were excellent for its price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharingan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello,

thank your for your review.

We are happy that your stay at the MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi was great.
We feel sorry that you was not very satisfied with your wifi-connection. This is not our standart.

We would like to welcome you to our other MEININGER Hotels. For example in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg.

Greetings from Vienna

the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. The location is good, cheap price (for Vienna) and really friendly and helpfull stuff in reception. Rooms were small but fresch and we had free wi-fi, nothing fancy though.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slava M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Slava,

thank you very much for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

We would like to welcome you to our other MEININGER Hotels. For example in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg.

Greetings from Vienna,
the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#157 of 360 in Vienna
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#54 of 360 in Vienna
583 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing