We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“everything great EXCEPT the free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #116 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“everything great EXCEPT the free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

read my review of the meininger hauptbahnhof in berlin and you'll know what a miserable place that is. well, this meininger in vienna, still only a little more than a year old, i believe, is virtually the opposite. the rooms are considerably larger. no disgusting bathrooms (that any in my group -- 7 rooms -- experienced). the 'fan-coil' air-conditioning worked beautifully, which was essential over 5 extremely hot days in vienna. like every meininger i know, the breakfast is fine the first day, but then it stays exactly the same -- exactly the same low-quality cold-cuts and cheese (don't know about the quality of the canned fruit, yoghurt, cereal, etc.), same cardboard-tasting rolls, same bad coffee. on the other hand, it's not that expensive and it's very convenient, so it's not really worth not having it, especially in a group (as an individual traveler, i would go to a café and have something considerably better!).

my only real complaint is a very serious one. meininger hotels now offer free wifi, but they might as well not, as it's a pure katastrophe. sometimes you simply can't get in at all and are told too many people are using it. well: that means that they don't have anywhere near sufficient capacity. at it's fastest, it's extremely slow. and most of the time it's as slow as dial-up -- absolutely infuriating, frustrating, miserable. it took me altogether 3 hours to do an online check-in for my group -- no exaggeration, and that was only with the help of the staff at the end, who gave me access to a much faster network, which saved at least another half hour or so, because i could only send one boarding card at a time to their printer because the terrible wifi could not handle a larger email. it wasted the best part of one of my free afternoons in vienna, which was inexcusable. so now they can advertise free wifi, but what they're 'giving' you is torture, plain and simple. shame on them.

that being said, this is the best meininger i know and the stay there was otherwise very nice. and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waehlerisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    447
    150
    41
    22
See reviews for
232
200
86
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
406 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We spent one night, the people at the hotel is very friendly. The room was small but nice, the bathroom deserves a 10, clean and 4 blocks away of subway. The breakfast has a charge, and is not cheap. Anyway is a good option in town.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Axnavarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel, travelling as a party of four.
Location was great, really close to the subway and from there just a few stations to the historic center. On the downside, they didn't have any space available in their own parking lot, so I had to park my car in another private parking, about 4 blocks away from the hotel.
Staff was pleasant and eager to solve all our requests though. The room was nice, clean & comfortable. Breakfast was nice, had a pretty good selection.
Overall very good price-quality ratio, which was exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: If travelling by car, make sure you call them beforehand and reserve a parking space for yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teodor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our party consisted of 3 generations of one family, myself a 63 year, 42 year old son and 2 grandchildren, aged 21 & 15 but the hotel suited us all and we greatly enjoyed our 3 night stay especially given the price we paid. The room, though on the small side with limited wardrobe space, consisted of 2 bunk beds and a double that could be separated. The beds were on the narrow side but we all enjoyed three good nights sleep so that was a good testament. What impressed me most about the hotel was the friendly and efficient reception staff who provided excellent tourist information when requested but also that the hotel bar was not a rip off, providing drinks at affordable prices. We did not partake of the buffet breakfast (5 euros 50) but it looked reasonable with plenty of choice. The location, in a business district, is not ideal, and is some walk to the nearest public transport and tube station for a 63 year old but I'm sure the majority of the hotel's clientele find it no problem at all. I was also impressed and pleased that the noise was kept to a minimum guranteeing a good night's sleep. All in all a good budget hotel that provided excellent value for money with a good nights sleep and you can't ask for much more than that in this day and age.

Room Tip: A top floor room seemed to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kencat1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We visited the hotel in early May 2013.
We booked a standard double room but instead were given a room with four beds (not a bad thing necessarily :))
The staff is really friendly and try to be as much of help as possible.
Rooms are spacious and really clean. The room was cleaned on a daily basis.

The location of the hotel is really close to U2 and U4 metro stations (5-10 minutes on foot). It is situated in a really quiet neighborhood, 200m from a local supermarket. The hotel has a pretty nice coffee shop at the lobby, a fully equipped kitchen and a nice gaming area.

Room Tip: All floors have elevator access, the street is not noisy at all. So I don't think there is a wro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent four nights here and were very happy with our choise. We had a private room with a bathroom. Room was cozy and spacious with a comfy double bed. Bathroom had a walk-in shower. You can get a free wifi-passwords from the reception. Staff was laid-back, helpful and kind. Location was a bit remote, but the nearest metro station was only 150 meters away.
All in all, a very nice and recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Far-out2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Lets start by saying this is not my normal style of hotel. I instantly felt a little aged here in the sea of youth but it was intoxicating and refreshing. The staff were very enthusiastic and helpful at this budget hotel which offered both shared and private rooms.. The entrance foyer is the hub and served an amazing breakfast for 5+Euro - a great and very sustantial start to the day and recommended.
Location is good not great, but handy enough if you a are not scared of a 15 min walk along the engaging canal area. Perfect for an early morning run too.
Rooms are spotless and very simple but serviceable and friendly. Nice clean modern bathroom with comfy firm matresses and sparkling white linen.
I would recommend this if you are looking too save some money - its only a bed afterall, and if you want to feel the energy and optimism of your youth return....... or to make friends and have some fun if you are younger or young-at-heart.

Room Tip: The top floor are great with big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#159 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#265 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#161 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing