We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #114 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad at all...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed here with my family (wife and 2 kids of 5 and 7 y/o) and I gotta say that it was a great choice. It's 25 mins. walking from the center, maybe too much for some people but you get a chance to walk and see very nice places that are not in the center. The hotel itself was very nice and clean, staff was young and helpful, the rooms were clean, maybe a bit small but comfortable. I will recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in Vienna and save some money in hotels (price was just right). Parking space has to be reserved and it costs 15 euros per night, and I think that was ok. Will come back to this hotel no doubt... in fact, from now on every time I'll go to a big city I'll look for a MEININGER hotel (just in case).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi Javier!

Thank you so much for your good review! We would be happy to welcome you again in our house!
Maybe you should try Meininger for your next trip in another country, you will like it ;)

Greetings from Vienna!

Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    440
    146
    40
    22
See reviews for
225
199
84
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Excellent location, park your car and walk. The staff is friendly and gives helpful tips which made our stay pleasant. The parking is bit of a challenge and expensive but this can be overlooked considering during day you park in the parking area and in eve outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thanks for taking time to review us!
Great, that you enjoyed your stay with us, so we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in a Meininger in Brussels earlier on our trip and really liked it so booked this one. It's very clean, modern and the staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi is a bit slow but better than most hostels on my trip. They say it's a tram ride from the centre but we walked it in 25, nice walk along the river. They have a guest kitchen and a cheap shop 2 mins away which is great if you're traveling on a budget. We met some nice people, we did find though there is more families than travellers so it's a bit quieter at night. Would definitely recommend it :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyLout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for such a nice review!
We hope to welcome you again in our house!
Many greetings from Vienna,
Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

read my review of the meininger hauptbahnhof in berlin and you'll know what a miserable place that is. well, this meininger in vienna, still only a little more than a year old, i believe, is virtually the opposite. the rooms are considerably larger. no disgusting bathrooms (that any in my group -- 7 rooms -- experienced). the 'fan-coil' air-conditioning worked beautifully, which was essential over 5 extremely hot days in vienna. like every meininger i know, the breakfast is fine the first day, but then it stays exactly the same -- exactly the same low-quality cold-cuts and cheese (don't know about the quality of the canned fruit, yoghurt, cereal, etc.), same cardboard-tasting rolls, same bad coffee. on the other hand, it's not that expensive and it's very convenient, so it's not really worth not having it, especially in a group (as an individual traveler, i would go to a café and have something considerably better!).

my only real complaint is a very serious one. meininger hotels now offer free wifi, but they might as well not, as it's a pure katastrophe. sometimes you simply can't get in at all and are told too many people are using it. well: that means that they don't have anywhere near sufficient capacity. at it's fastest, it's extremely slow. and most of the time it's as slow as dial-up -- absolutely infuriating, frustrating, miserable. it took me altogether 3 hours to do an online check-in for my group -- no exaggeration, and that was only with the help of the staff at the end, who gave me access to a much faster network, which saved at least another half hour or so, because i could only send one boarding card at a time to their printer because the terrible wifi could not handle a larger email. it wasted the best part of one of my free afternoons in vienna, which was inexcusable. so now they can advertise free wifi, but what they're 'giving' you is torture, plain and simple. shame on them.

that being said, this is the best meininger i know and the stay there was otherwise very nice. and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waehlerisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
394 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We spent one night, the people at the hotel is very friendly. The room was small but nice, the bathroom deserves a 10, clean and 4 blocks away of subway. The breakfast has a charge, and is not cheap. Anyway is a good option in town.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Axnavarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel, travelling as a party of four.
Location was great, really close to the subway and from there just a few stations to the historic center. On the downside, they didn't have any space available in their own parking lot, so I had to park my car in another private parking, about 4 blocks away from the hotel.
Staff was pleasant and eager to solve all our requests though. The room was nice, clean & comfortable. Breakfast was nice, had a pretty good selection.
Overall very good price-quality ratio, which was exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: If travelling by car, make sure you call them beforehand and reserve a parking space for yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teodor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our party consisted of 3 generations of one family, myself a 63 year, 42 year old son and 2 grandchildren, aged 21 & 15 but the hotel suited us all and we greatly enjoyed our 3 night stay especially given the price we paid. The room, though on the small side with limited wardrobe space, consisted of 2 bunk beds and a double that could be separated. The beds were on the narrow side but we all enjoyed three good nights sleep so that was a good testament. What impressed me most about the hotel was the friendly and efficient reception staff who provided excellent tourist information when requested but also that the hotel bar was not a rip off, providing drinks at affordable prices. We did not partake of the buffet breakfast (5 euros 50) but it looked reasonable with plenty of choice. The location, in a business district, is not ideal, and is some walk to the nearest public transport and tube station for a 63 year old but I'm sure the majority of the hotel's clientele find it no problem at all. I was also impressed and pleased that the noise was kept to a minimum guranteeing a good night's sleep. All in all a good budget hotel that provided excellent value for money with a good nights sleep and you can't ask for much more than that in this day and age.

Room Tip: A top floor room seemed to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kencat1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#264 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#159 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#163 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing