We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for young people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #126 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Petrovaradin, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel for young people”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

What is good?
Good location. Excellent staff on reception, very young and polite. And very big smile.
Room and bathroom were clean.
Very modern and beautiful hotel.

What is not good?
No parking. Actually have, but you must make reservation early. And little bit expensive.
Room is small, without balcony, bunk beds. Internet is not so good. Breakfast is not varied and large crowd on breakfast. With many young people in pajamas! :)
Do I will recommend it? Yes for young people. This is perfect place for young people with open mind, people who are not conformist.
Family with kids? Only if they love this "adventure".
Do I will go again? Probably yes, actually this is very interesting place :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PublicNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi!

Wow, thank you for this interesting review :) Parking in Vienna is in general a problem. Parking in our hotel is much cheaper and easier than parking on the street, because of short term parking. Due to the fact, that there are just 16 parking places for around 480 beds, it's alsways necessary to reserve it.

Anyway, we are happy that you had an "adventurous" and nice stay here :)
See you next time!

Greetings form Vienna, you M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    460
    159
    43
    25
See reviews for
249
203
88
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uzhhorod, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We've been here for about two nights and everything was perfect. Clean, silent and comfortable classic room for 2, super functional furniture, desk, couch, comfy bed. Nice view from Wien roofs (on the 6th floor). Good wi-fi, good location near U4 line.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for rating us!
We are happy that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel!

Many greets from vienna!

Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in this price range; clean, modern with comfortable rooms.
It has a cool, young touch that gives it a bid of a hostel flair, but with private, silent rooms.
The location is good, a nice surrounding with the Donau channel and Augarten within 5min walking. City centre is not further than 15min walking away, and the airport you can reach within 40min (metro U4 is 5min away).
Unfortunately, the wifi connection in the rooms is quite weak and slow.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank IggyPop86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Unfortunately, the wifi connection in the rooms is quite weak and slow.

Hi!
Thanks for the good rating!
Love to hear that you liked our hotel!
Usually the WiFi works pretty good, just if the hotel is full and 500 people try to connect, it's overloaded. We're trying to fix this problem :)

We would be happy if you choose one of our hotels again for your next trip!

Many greets, your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This place was sheer value for money! Had managed to grab a good deal booking accommodation here a month in advance. The rooms are neat and the property is very well maintained. They have a guest kitchen too, which is extremely useful to cook your own meal and save some money.
I observed that this place attracts a lot of young travelers. Highly recommended! Would love to come here again the next time I hit Vienna ...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayur0783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for your nice review!
We're glad that you've felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay!

So, see you next time ;)

Many greetings, you Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in Dec. The location was really good. It was clean, comfortable and well worth a stay.
Mind you it was Ikea like but we wanted to save so it was perfect.
The staff were so nice and very helpful. Our clothes were taking forever to dry. The nite guy said he would watch them for me and bag them for me in the morning. I was so grateful!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for your nice rating!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here.

Many greetings from Vienna, your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent all round but failure to provide breakfast for free is mean-spirited and unreasonable. Still, this wouldn't put me off returning if I were in the area again. Cleaner, brighter and better that some 3-star hotels

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Google Translation
Hi!

Danke für die gute Bewertung!

Das Frühstück ist nie im Zimmerpreis inkludiert, da wir unseren Gästen die Möglichkeit geben möchten, selber bzw spontan zu entscheiden.

Wir hoffen, Sie wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen!

Freundliche Grüße aus Wien!

Das Meininger-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Funny how people expect 5 star service from a lower band establishment. Judging by some of the reviews here, I expected my stay to be disappointing, but it really wasn't. The Meininger Hotel is a no fuss, no frills place for the budged minded. You don't have to be a rocket engineer to understand that this will not be on the same level with the Ritz Carlton. So stop complaining about it. The rooms are surprisingly large and clean, sleep comfort is decent if not very good and the reception staff really accommodating. Admittedly breakfast is mediocre at best, but the city center is within a 15 minute walk so I suppose one could move his/her buttock and have a proper breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Google Translation
Hi Catalin!

Vielen Dank für diese tolle Bewertung.
Es freut uns wirklich sehr, dass euch das Konzept von Meininger zusagt und dass ihr euch hier wohlgefühlt habt.

Wir würden uns freuen, euch wieder einmal bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen!

Viele liebe Grüße, das Meininger-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 361 in Vienna
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#72 of 361 in Vienna
1,105 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 361 in Vienna
1,610 reviews
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 361 in Vienna
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing