We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, very new looking! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #130 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was just outside central Vienna. We picked it for the price and the Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Yes. Our triple was basically two singles and a bunk bed. But it is definitely an upgrade from an upscale hostel. First of all, there is a flat screen t.v. in the room. The private bathroom was small but not tiny. Very very clean modern bathroom. Unlike a hostel, there were towels, hand soap, and shampoo. A hair dryer on the wall. I was very happy with the room amenities. I thought the breakfast bar for just under 6 euros was a bit much but given that Vienna has awesome cafes and coffee houses. So we ate there one morning but not the others. The hotel was quiet ay night. Even on a Saturday night. As a family, we were concerned about that. The clientele when we were there were almost all very young twenty-somethings. But there were a few senior and one other family that we saw. For 50 euro/night for the three of us- this was a true deal. However. It is a bit of a walk to the metro. A little too far for younger children. Also. Not any good restaurants in the immediate vicinity. We walked across the bridge to Pizza Riva. There were a lot of places to eat around there. Maybe 1/2 mile away. Overall. Would definitely use this hotel again!

Thank travelfamily01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi!

Thank you so much for the good review!
We are happy that you had a enjoyable stay in our house!

So see you again for your next vienna trip :)

Many greetings,
the MEININGER-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

My friends and I went there for just one night. However it was absolutely gorgeous. Check in was very fast and check out was made in 5 seconds. Room and bathroom were very clean. It was perfect and next time we'll definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Zuzana Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi!

Thank you so much for the nice review!
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our house!

See you :)

Many greets form Vienna!

The MEININGER-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We got a clean, big room in the roof. The bathroom was very clean, modern and good.
The bad things I found, the room, one wall looked unfinished, you could see the concrete there. Then for 2 persons in our room the room was fine, but if it would be 3 persons, it would be hard to get inside/outside the bed, since the roof is very low.
Also there was no heating, but some sort of airco blowing warm air inside the room.

The breakfast was fine, but u need to pay for it and you need to clean up your own plates which is a bit strange for a hotel.

The area isnt really inside downtown, but its a bit further awa, i think15 min walking and you are in the downtown area with the shopping streets. The area around the metro station is quite dark and not pleasant to walk at night.

I think the staff could be paying more attention to customers since my friend was waiting for someone at the bar, some guy saw it but nobody cared about her waiting there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hi!

The breakfast was fine, but u need to pay for it and you need to clean up your own plates which is a bit strange for a hotel.

I think the staff could be paying more attention to customers since my friend was waiting for someone at the bar, some guy saw it but nobody cared about her waiting there.


Thanks for rating us!
The "unfinished" wall is kind of decoration - you will also find "unfinished" walls in the lobby etc, of course this is a matter of taste. also the self service is standard, so we can provide the small price for the big breakfast buffet.
Anyway, we hope you had a few nice days in vienna :)

Many greetings, the M-Tean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a very clean and modern hotel. Rooms are big and bathroom is clean and nice. Breakfast is average with extra cost. Friendly staff. Good value for money. The city centre is 3 km. The bus stop is 100 mt. and the nearest metro,Schottenring, is 700 mt away. I would choose this hotel again for the next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ-Antalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hello!

Thank you for rating us! We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay here!
So, see you next time :)

Many greetings, the M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

What is good?
Good location. Excellent staff on reception, very young and polite. And very big smile.
Room and bathroom were clean.
Very modern and beautiful hotel.

What is not good?
No parking. Actually have, but you must make reservation early. And little bit expensive.
Room is small, without balcony, bunk beds. Internet is not so good. Breakfast is not varied and large crowd on breakfast. With many young people in pajamas! :)
Do I will recommend it? Yes for young people. This is perfect place for young people with open mind, people who are not conformist.
Family with kids? Only if they love this "adventure".
Do I will go again? Probably yes, actually this is very interesting place :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PublicNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi!

Wow, thank you for this interesting review :) Parking in Vienna is in general a problem. Parking in our hotel is much cheaper and easier than parking on the street, because of short term parking. Due to the fact, that there are just 16 parking places for around 480 beds, it's alsways necessary to reserve it.

Anyway, we are happy that you had an "adventurous" and nice stay here :)
See you next time!

Greetings form Vienna, you M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We've been here for about two nights and everything was perfect. Clean, silent and comfortable classic room for 2, super functional furniture, desk, couch, comfy bed. Nice view from Wien roofs (on the 6th floor). Good wi-fi, good location near U4 line.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi!

Thank you so much for rating us!
We are happy that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel!

Many greets from vienna!

Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in this price range; clean, modern with comfortable rooms.
It has a cool, young touch that gives it a bid of a hostel flair, but with private, silent rooms.
The location is good, a nice surrounding with the Donau channel and Augarten within 5min walking. City centre is not further than 15min walking away, and the airport you can reach within 40min (metro U4 is 5min away).
Unfortunately, the wifi connection in the rooms is quite weak and slow.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank IggyPop86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Unfortunately, the wifi connection in the rooms is quite weak and slow.

Hi!
Thanks for the good rating!
Love to hear that you liked our hotel!
Usually the WiFi works pretty good, just if the hotel is full and 500 people try to connect, it's overloaded. We're trying to fix this problem :)

We would be happy if you choose one of our hotels again for your next trip!

Many greets, your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#52 of 359 in Vienna
690 reviews
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 359 in Vienna
1,049 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#153 of 359 in Vienna
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £31 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing