We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not perfect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #113 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Not the best place to spend a night (maybe I picked the wrong time).
Disadvantages: WiFi didn't work for the whole day (staff told us that there were some issues with wireless router (or it might have been overloaded)).
Very scarce breakfast, quite expensive parking.
Unfriendly staff.
Advantages: clean and quite rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi!

Thank you for rating us.
Sometimes technical problems occur suddenly, but we always trying to solve them as soon as possible.
We are sorry that you were not that happy.
Maybe you will give us a chance to change you mind about our house for your next trip? :)

Many greetings,
the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    440
    146
    40
    22
See reviews for
225
199
84
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Expect an enjoyable stay here. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming, and the common areas are clean, neat and spacious. You will get a good sense of community with fellow travelers hanving a drink at the bar or even cooking alongside some others you just met. Though the rooms and lockers are a bit small, they are very comfortable and have a bright, clean feel to them, having some neat perks like towel warmers and flat screen TVs.

The hostel is some ways away from the city center, so if you expect quiet, relaxed evenings back at your room after a long day of sightseeing, this is the ideal place, especially since it is fairly close to other transportation lines that would take you right back to the center.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Andres11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for the good review!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here!
See you next time :)

Many greets from vienna!
The MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was just outside central Vienna. We picked it for the price and the Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Yes. Our triple was basically two singles and a bunk bed. But it is definitely an upgrade from an upscale hostel. First of all, there is a flat screen t.v. in the room. The private bathroom was small but not tiny. Very very clean modern bathroom. Unlike a hostel, there were towels, hand soap, and shampoo. A hair dryer on the wall. I was very happy with the room amenities. I thought the breakfast bar for just under 6 euros was a bit much but given that Vienna has awesome cafes and coffee houses. So we ate there one morning but not the others. The hotel was quiet ay night. Even on a Saturday night. As a family, we were concerned about that. The clientele when we were there were almost all very young twenty-somethings. But there were a few senior and one other family that we saw. For 50 euro/night for the three of us- this was a true deal. However. It is a bit of a walk to the metro. A little too far for younger children. Also. Not any good restaurants in the immediate vicinity. We walked across the bridge to Pizza Riva. There were a lot of places to eat around there. Maybe 1/2 mile away. Overall. Would definitely use this hotel again!

Helpful?
Thank travelfamily01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for the good review!
We are happy that you had a enjoyable stay in our house!

So see you again for your next vienna trip :)

Many greetings,
the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My friends and I went there for just one night. However it was absolutely gorgeous. Check in was very fast and check out was made in 5 seconds. Room and bathroom were very clean. It was perfect and next time we'll definitely go there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzana Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for the nice review!
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our house!

See you :)

Many greets form Vienna!

The MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We got a clean, big room in the roof. The bathroom was very clean, modern and good.
The bad things I found, the room, one wall looked unfinished, you could see the concrete there. Then for 2 persons in our room the room was fine, but if it would be 3 persons, it would be hard to get inside/outside the bed, since the roof is very low.
Also there was no heating, but some sort of airco blowing warm air inside the room.

The breakfast was fine, but u need to pay for it and you need to clean up your own plates which is a bit strange for a hotel.

The area isnt really inside downtown, but its a bit further awa, i think15 min walking and you are in the downtown area with the shopping streets. The area around the metro station is quite dark and not pleasant to walk at night.

I think the staff could be paying more attention to customers since my friend was waiting for someone at the bar, some guy saw it but nobody cared about her waiting there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi!

The breakfast was fine, but u need to pay for it and you need to clean up your own plates which is a bit strange for a hotel.

I think the staff could be paying more attention to customers since my friend was waiting for someone at the bar, some guy saw it but nobody cared about her waiting there.


Thanks for rating us!
The "unfinished" wall is kind of decoration - you will also find "unfinished" walls in the lobby etc, of course this is a matter of taste. also the self service is standard, so we can provide the small price for the big breakfast buffet.
Anyway, we hope you had a few nice days in vienna :)

Many greetings, the M-Tean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a very clean and modern hotel. Rooms are big and bathroom is clean and nice. Breakfast is average with extra cost. Friendly staff. Good value for money. The city centre is 3 km. The bus stop is 100 mt. and the nearest metro,Schottenring, is 700 mt away. I would choose this hotel again for the next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ-Antalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hello!

Thank you for rating us! We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay here!
So, see you next time :)

Many greetings, the M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrovaradin, Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

What is good?
Good location. Excellent staff on reception, very young and polite. And very big smile.
Room and bathroom were clean.
Very modern and beautiful hotel.

What is not good?
No parking. Actually have, but you must make reservation early. And little bit expensive.
Room is small, without balcony, bunk beds. Internet is not so good. Breakfast is not varied and large crowd on breakfast. With many young people in pajamas! :)
Do I will recommend it? Yes for young people. This is perfect place for young people with open mind, people who are not conformist.
Family with kids? Only if they love this "adventure".
Do I will go again? Probably yes, actually this is very interesting place :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PublicNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi!

Wow, thank you for this interesting review :) Parking in Vienna is in general a problem. Parking in our hotel is much cheaper and easier than parking on the street, because of short term parking. Due to the fact, that there are just 16 parking places for around 480 beds, it's alsways necessary to reserve it.

Anyway, we are happy that you had an "adventurous" and nice stay here :)
See you next time!

Greetings form Vienna, you M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#159 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#264 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#165 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing