We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #116 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is very well positioned close to the city center and reasonably close to the metro station, which is very handy. The rooms, while not really large, are very well provided and clean. I appreciated the bathroom a lot, having enough space and a fantastic power-shower. The breakfast is OK and will do for the few days you will spend there. We were a group of more mature people and looked quite old among the many youngsters we met, but it was OK, the noise wasn't a problem and they all behaved :-) The receptionist were all very helpful. All in all. great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Cuc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    447
    150
    41
    22
See reviews for
232
200
86
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we stayed for 3. The hotel was well-kept and modern. Our room was clean and spacious. Unfortunately the hotel seems to be always overrun with tour buses full of rowdy teenagers. On the bright side our room was quite soundproof and the heavy door blocked all the noise of partying teenagers in the hallway. The bathroom was very clean with lots of hot water.

The fully equipped guest kitchen with a large refrigerator was also very helpful (people left free food there sometimes). They also had two locked luggage storage rooms with security cameras, which was great. The 24-hour reception staff was very friendly and offered helpful city maps upon arrival. There is a supermarket conveniently located right around the corner, too.

Highly recommended well-run hotel (especially if you're in a private room).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alittlerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Google Translation
Hallo,

vielen lieben Dank für das nette Kommentar. WIr hoffen dass wir Sie bald wieder begrüßen dürfen in unserem Hotel :)

Liebe Grüße aus Wien,

Ihr MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyustendil, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
279 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean, friendly, fairly good location, place to stay, then this is your place. We are a family of 6 and stayed in a room of bunk beds just for one night. The bathroom was very nice and they were very kind to let us leave our luggage the day of check in and the day of check out. Wifi was a bit spotty, but we were there for Vienna, not for the internet. We didn't not take the breakfast option, so I can't comment on that. The only negative was that the top bunks you have to make yourself, and everyone knows how fun that is...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hello,

first of all we want to say thank you for the nice comment!!!
We want to apologize for the inconveniences with our bunk beds.

Nevertheless we hope to see you soon in one of our Meininger houses.

Kind regards,

your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very clean and well laid out hostel - seemed more like a hotel! Had a great breakfast and a great service for ordering pizza and pasta to the hostel! A little bit of a walk from the main attractions, but that was justified by the price and standard of the hostel - would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJA186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Hi there!

Thank you so much for the nice review!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and would be glad to welcome you again at MEINIGNER!

Many greetings, the MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Not the best place to spend a night (maybe I picked the wrong time).
Disadvantages: WiFi didn't work for the whole day (staff told us that there were some issues with wireless router (or it might have been overloaded)).
Very scarce breakfast, quite expensive parking.
Unfriendly staff.
Advantages: clean and quite rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi!

Thank you for rating us.
Sometimes technical problems occur suddenly, but we always trying to solve them as soon as possible.
We are sorry that you were not that happy.
Maybe you will give us a chance to change you mind about our house for your next trip? :)

Many greetings,
the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Expect an enjoyable stay here. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming, and the common areas are clean, neat and spacious. You will get a good sense of community with fellow travelers hanving a drink at the bar or even cooking alongside some others you just met. Though the rooms and lockers are a bit small, they are very comfortable and have a bright, clean feel to them, having some neat perks like towel warmers and flat screen TVs.

The hostel is some ways away from the city center, so if you expect quiet, relaxed evenings back at your room after a long day of sightseeing, this is the ideal place, especially since it is fairly close to other transportation lines that would take you right back to the center.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Andres11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for the good review!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here!
See you next time :)

Many greets from vienna!
The MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was just outside central Vienna. We picked it for the price and the Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Yes. Our triple was basically two singles and a bunk bed. But it is definitely an upgrade from an upscale hostel. First of all, there is a flat screen t.v. in the room. The private bathroom was small but not tiny. Very very clean modern bathroom. Unlike a hostel, there were towels, hand soap, and shampoo. A hair dryer on the wall. I was very happy with the room amenities. I thought the breakfast bar for just under 6 euros was a bit much but given that Vienna has awesome cafes and coffee houses. So we ate there one morning but not the others. The hotel was quiet ay night. Even on a Saturday night. As a family, we were concerned about that. The clientele when we were there were almost all very young twenty-somethings. But there were a few senior and one other family that we saw. For 50 euro/night for the three of us- this was a true deal. However. It is a bit of a walk to the metro. A little too far for younger children. Also. Not any good restaurants in the immediate vicinity. We walked across the bridge to Pizza Riva. There were a lot of places to eat around there. Maybe 1/2 mile away. Overall. Would definitely use this hotel again!

Helpful?
Thank travelfamily01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for the good review!
We are happy that you had a enjoyable stay in our house!

So see you again for your next vienna trip :)

Many greetings,
the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#159 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#265 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#161 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing