We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Vienna(Vienna)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveller rating
339
490
175
47
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
490
175
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest kitchenbunk bedscity centrebudget hotelmin walkingfree wifiwashing machinemetro stationcommon areashotel roomair conditioningon foothotel is situatedpublic transportdormeurossupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is very well positioned close to the city center and reasonably close to the metro station, which is very handy. The rooms, while not really large, are very well provided and clean. I appreciated the bathroom a lot, having enough space and a fantastic power-shower. The breakfast is OK and will do for the few days you will spend there. We were a group of more mature people and looked quite old among the many youngsters we met, but it was OK, the noise wasn't a problem and they all behaved :-) The receptionist were all very helpful. All in all. great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Cuc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we stayed for 3. The hotel was well-kept and modern. Our room was clean and spacious. Unfortunately the hotel seems to be always overrun with tour buses full of rowdy teenagers. On the bright side our room was quite soundproof and the heavy door blocked all the noise of partying teenagers in the hallway. The bathroom was very clean with lots of hot water.

The fully equipped guest kitchen with a large refrigerator was also very helpful (people left free food there sometimes). They also had two locked luggage storage rooms with security cameras, which was great. The 24-hour reception staff was very friendly and offered helpful city maps upon arrival. There is a supermarket conveniently located right around the corner, too.

Highly recommended well-run hotel (especially if you're in a private room).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alittlerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014
Google Translation

Hallo,

vielen lieben Dank für das nette Kommentar. WIr hoffen dass wir Sie bald wieder begrüßen dürfen in unserem Hotel :)

Liebe Grüße aus Wien,

Ihr MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean, friendly, fairly good location, place to stay, then this is your place. We are a family of 6 and stayed in a room of bunk beds just for one night. The bathroom was very nice and they were very kind to let us leave our luggage the day of check in and the day of check out. Wifi was a bit spotty, but we were there for Vienna, not for the internet. We didn't not take the breakfast option, so I can't comment on that. The only negative was that the top bunks you have to make yourself, and everyone knows how fun that is...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hello,

first of all we want to say thank you for the nice comment!!!
We want to apologize for the inconveniences with our bunk beds.

Nevertheless we hope to see you soon in one of our Meininger houses.

Kind regards,

your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very clean and well laid out hostel - seemed more like a hotel! Had a great breakfast and a great service for ordering pizza and pasta to the hostel! A little bit of a walk from the main attractions, but that was justified by the price and standard of the hostel - would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJA186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Hi there!

Thank you so much for the nice review!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and would be glad to welcome you again at MEINIGNER!

Many greetings, the MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Not the best place to spend a night (maybe I picked the wrong time).
Disadvantages: WiFi didn't work for the whole day (staff told us that there were some issues with wireless router (or it might have been overloaded)).
Very scarce breakfast, quite expensive parking.
Unfriendly staff.
Advantages: clean and quite rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi!

Thank you for rating us.
Sometimes technical problems occur suddenly, but we always trying to solve them as soon as possible.
We are sorry that you were not that happy.
Maybe you will give us a chance to change you mind about our house for your next trip? :)

Many greetings,
the MEININGER-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews