We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #115 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for everyone”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed at 3 other Meininger Hotels - all very decent and this one hasn't let the chain down im pleased to say

I am backpacking so staying in shared dorms - clean and tidy, comfy beds, good bathrooms
the kitchen is decent and well equipped, staff and friendly and the hotel itself is modern, clean and comfortable.
Location isnt overly central but there is a bus stop just across the road that takes you in to town and there is a supermarket right across the road.

recommended for all

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionis at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hey,

thanks for the comment. Well, we hope to welcome you in the other 13 MEININGERS soon :)

Visit us soon again,

your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    452
    152
    42
    22
See reviews for
239
201
87
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great value for money. Comfortable bed and pillows. Good size bathroom with great shower. Hair dryer, tissues and shower gel provided. Good all you can eat breakfast. Staff very accommodating. Guest kitchen if you want to cook for yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms at back off main road quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank jillyportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hey,

thank you for the review. See you soon in one of our houses :)

Kind regards,

your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is very well positioned close to the city center and reasonably close to the metro station, which is very handy. The rooms, while not really large, are very well provided and clean. I appreciated the bathroom a lot, having enough space and a fantastic power-shower. The breakfast is OK and will do for the few days you will spend there. We were a group of more mature people and looked quite old among the many youngsters we met, but it was OK, the noise wasn't a problem and they all behaved :-) The receptionist were all very helpful. All in all. great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Cuc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we stayed for 3. The hotel was well-kept and modern. Our room was clean and spacious. Unfortunately the hotel seems to be always overrun with tour buses full of rowdy teenagers. On the bright side our room was quite soundproof and the heavy door blocked all the noise of partying teenagers in the hallway. The bathroom was very clean with lots of hot water.

The fully equipped guest kitchen with a large refrigerator was also very helpful (people left free food there sometimes). They also had two locked luggage storage rooms with security cameras, which was great. The 24-hour reception staff was very friendly and offered helpful city maps upon arrival. There is a supermarket conveniently located right around the corner, too.

Highly recommended well-run hotel (especially if you're in a private room).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alittlerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Google Translation
Hallo,

vielen lieben Dank für das nette Kommentar. WIr hoffen dass wir Sie bald wieder begrüßen dürfen in unserem Hotel :)

Liebe Grüße aus Wien,

Ihr MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyustendil, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
279 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean, friendly, fairly good location, place to stay, then this is your place. We are a family of 6 and stayed in a room of bunk beds just for one night. The bathroom was very nice and they were very kind to let us leave our luggage the day of check in and the day of check out. Wifi was a bit spotty, but we were there for Vienna, not for the internet. We didn't not take the breakfast option, so I can't comment on that. The only negative was that the top bunks you have to make yourself, and everyone knows how fun that is...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hello,

first of all we want to say thank you for the nice comment!!!
We want to apologize for the inconveniences with our bunk beds.

Nevertheless we hope to see you soon in one of our Meininger houses.

Kind regards,

your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very clean and well laid out hostel - seemed more like a hotel! Had a great breakfast and a great service for ordering pizza and pasta to the hostel! A little bit of a walk from the main attractions, but that was justified by the price and standard of the hostel - would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJA186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Hi there!

Thank you so much for the nice review!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and would be glad to welcome you again at MEINIGNER!

Many greetings, the MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Not the best place to spend a night (maybe I picked the wrong time).
Disadvantages: WiFi didn't work for the whole day (staff told us that there were some issues with wireless router (or it might have been overloaded)).
Very scarce breakfast, quite expensive parking.
Unfriendly staff.
Advantages: clean and quite rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi!

Thank you for rating us.
Sometimes technical problems occur suddenly, but we always trying to solve them as soon as possible.
We are sorry that you were not that happy.
Maybe you will give us a chance to change you mind about our house for your next trip? :)

Many greetings,
the MEININGER-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#160 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#105 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing