We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #116 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a very lovely, clean hotel near the city centre. It is located about 20-30 minutes walking distance from the St. Stephen's Cathedral. They offer an all you can eat breakfast and dinner. The rooms are nice and clean. I really recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hey,

WOW - Thank you for the nice comment!!!

Please join us on Facebook and read our new MEININGER news.

Kind regards,

your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    454
    154
    42
    22
See reviews for
242
202
87
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Thank you to the staff at the hotel during our stay. We were all delighted with our stay, excellent value, great room, slept really well. Vienna city centre is a 20 minute walk, a 10 minute tram ride or if trying to avoid the rain as we were, the tram system will take you there with one stop, one metro change. As mentioned, thank you to staff, on our check out date, one of our party was unwell but the staff were very understanding. Hope to return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hey,

we are happy to hear that you had a great time here in Vienna :)

So we really hope to welcome you again one day!!!

Lovely greetings from Vienna,

your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was a great hostel, in fact the cleanest hostel I have ever been too. I feel bad calling it a hostel when it seemed to be a combination of a hotel and a hostel. Overall I would recommend this hotel and give it four stars out of five. However, I really suggest reading my list of cons if you are a business traveller or couple.

The pros:
- Really friendly staff, did their best to welcome everyone. Always had a smile.
- Really clean hostel. My bed was made almost every day and my towel was changed daily.
- Good temperature.
- 24 hour check in
- Very quiet considering it is a hostel
- Awesome shower facility

The cons:
- The rooms have no age limit as far as I am aware. I think that given a lot of older travellers come here, they should at least have rooms for younger people only.
- The 24 hour check in means that people will be coming in and out of your dorm room at any point of time. Luckily for me, all my hostel goers were pretty tame and quiet. Nonetheless, it is certainly a risk to stay in a share room if you are here for business.
- Can attract the young drinking type which I didn't care about.
- Lockers are tiny.

The different:
- Bed positioning feels just really weird. Two next too each other and a bunk bed.
- I am not sure if this is a hotel or a hostel

Room Tip: If you are travelling for business I would suggest against using a shared room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mykool W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hey,

thanks for the nice and honest comment. We are really happy to hear that you like staying with us.
We are a mix of hotel and hostel, so you can find in our lobby students, families, businesstravellers and backpackers :)

We hope to see you again one day,

your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed at 3 other Meininger Hotels - all very decent and this one hasn't let the chain down im pleased to say

I am backpacking so staying in shared dorms - clean and tidy, comfy beds, good bathrooms
the kitchen is decent and well equipped, staff and friendly and the hotel itself is modern, clean and comfortable.
Location isnt overly central but there is a bus stop just across the road that takes you in to town and there is a supermarket right across the road.

recommended for all

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionis at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hey,

thanks for the comment. Well, we hope to welcome you in the other 13 MEININGERS soon :)

Visit us soon again,

your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great value for money. Comfortable bed and pillows. Good size bathroom with great shower. Hair dryer, tissues and shower gel provided. Good all you can eat breakfast. Staff very accommodating. Guest kitchen if you want to cook for yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms at back off main road quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank jillyportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hey,

thank you for the review. See you soon in one of our houses :)

Kind regards,

your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is very well positioned close to the city center and reasonably close to the metro station, which is very handy. The rooms, while not really large, are very well provided and clean. I appreciated the bathroom a lot, having enough space and a fantastic power-shower. The breakfast is OK and will do for the few days you will spend there. We were a group of more mature people and looked quite old among the many youngsters we met, but it was OK, the noise wasn't a problem and they all behaved :-) The receptionist were all very helpful. All in all. great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Cuc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we stayed for 3. The hotel was well-kept and modern. Our room was clean and spacious. Unfortunately the hotel seems to be always overrun with tour buses full of rowdy teenagers. On the bright side our room was quite soundproof and the heavy door blocked all the noise of partying teenagers in the hallway. The bathroom was very clean with lots of hot water.

The fully equipped guest kitchen with a large refrigerator was also very helpful (people left free food there sometimes). They also had two locked luggage storage rooms with security cameras, which was great. The 24-hour reception staff was very friendly and offered helpful city maps upon arrival. There is a supermarket conveniently located right around the corner, too.

Highly recommended well-run hotel (especially if you're in a private room).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alittlerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Google Translation
Hallo,

vielen lieben Dank für das nette Kommentar. WIr hoffen dass wir Sie bald wieder begrüßen dürfen in unserem Hotel :)

Liebe Grüße aus Wien,

Ihr MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 360 in Vienna
1,572 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#56 of 360 in Vienna
569 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#160 of 360 in Vienna
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing