We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #124 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed in this hostel at the end of three weeks tripping around Europe and I was delighted with the facilities. It was great value for money. I was in a six bed dorm, the room was large and could easily fit us all; the beds were modern and had a light, a shelf and a plug to charge your phone in each headboard, as well as lockable drawers beneath the bed. There were two bathrooms in our room - one with a toilet, vanity and mirror, the other with a shower, vanity and mirror. There was a full length mirror in the room.

The reception staff were lovely, spoke brilliant English, very efficient and more than willing to help with any questions and queries.

The hostel was within walking distance into town, as well as being close to the Underground station.

I was travelling by myself and would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hey guys,

a big thank you for the good rating!!!

We really hop to welcome you soon one day.

Lovely greetings from Vienna,

your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were very surprised when we turned up as we were expecting a hostel considering the cheap price. However, it is more like a hotel with a great mix of guests. Usually you find backpackers from all over the world but here there were families and large groups of school children too. It is very large with a number of floors and is is very modern and clean.
When we arrived we were told that they could not fit my friend and I in the same room or on the same floor. We were very disappointed at this and explained that we wish we were told this before as otherwise we would have booked a different hostel. However, the girl at reception was very friendly and managed to fit us in a room together which was great- I really appreciated her help!
The room consisted of a bunk bed and a double bed with a huge ensuite bathroom attached (the bathroom was the same size as the bedroom!). Out of all the hostels I have stayed in, it was by far the cleanest and I had the best shower of my trip there! The room was great but I couldn't help but feel it was meant for a family- in no way did it seem a dorm room for backpackers. The double bed was later taken up by two asian guys which I felt a bit bad about- in hindsight maybe me and my friend should have taken the double bed! We later learnt that they had been separated from their friends and checked out after one night to see if they could find a hostel which could accomodate them all in one room. This is obviously a fairly big problem there (it almost happened to us) so it would be better if the hostel let travellers know in advance if they can't fit friends together in the same room.
Breakfast isn't provided but this wasn't much of an issue as there is a kitchen where you can cook your own food. As the hotel/hostel accomodates for large groups of school children who have all their meals there, there is often left over food which the chef puts in the kitchen for people to help themselves to which was a bonus!
There is a free luggage room which was also handy.
The location is great- a minute walk from the canal where there are various bars and deck chairs perfect for chilling on a nice warm day. It is also about a 10 minute walk from the heart of the city with all the great architecture.
The noise was a bit of a problem- lots of screaming and hyperactive school children at 7am in the morning and also in the evening so I would advise ear plugs!
Another downside is the wifi- connection was hit and miss and very slow at times which was a little frustrating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hey,

thank you guys for the nice comment :)

We always put friends together in a room - but in some cases it is not always possible, especially in high seasons when our ho(s)tel is fully booked, but nevertheless we could manage that you and your friend stayed in one room.

We really hope to welcome you again one day!!!

Lovely greetings,

your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place is huge and modern. It was a strange experience being in a smart hotel but our room being a 6-bed dorm. the upper bunks were like coffins and you are very much trapped in the room, or so it felt like. You couldn't keep the door open, the key card was connected to the electricity, if you didn't feel comfortable with the people you shared a room with this wouldn't be a fun experience. Luckily I did and I was only there for 2 nights.
Breakfast was 6 euros and not worth it, but good to make picnic food.
Wifi great and staff friendly. Would recommend a private room. And the location is not great, very much downtown Vienna. A good 30 minute walk into the city centre. Wear good shoes!

Room Tip: A private one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hey,

thank you for giving us a feedback!!!

Actually the city center starts over the bridge, thats approx. 100m from the hotel :)

Nevertheless we hope you enjoyed your stay,

your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Quiet, clean and easy walk (15min) to centre. Good value bike hire as well. Free CityBike station nearby, Didn't eat there.so can't comment on breakfast. Rooms small but perfectly ok for me, why do you need a huge room anyway?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hey,

thanks a lot for the nice comment!!!

Yes - small but cozy rooms :) Here in Vienna everything is small *haha*

Hope to see you again one day,

your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meininger H, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 June 2014

stayed here for a long weekend. fantastic value for money. clean and tidy. staff couldn't do enough for you. breakfasts (continental) v. good, reasonably priced and plenty of it! close to public transport.

Room Tip: don't forget the wifi codes at the reception desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear guest,

a big thank you for your feedback :)

We hope to welcome you soon again,

your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Familyof3fromDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meininger H, reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#68 of 359 in Vienna
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#60 of 359 in Vienna
975 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 359 in Vienna
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £38 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing