We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Ranked #59 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not too bad!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I must say that the view of the New Danube was the highlight of this property. What a beautiful, relaxing place to be on vacation. The room was ok, but it seemed a little too hot, I'm still not sure if the AC was working. It was modern but I had no idea that hotel is located along the train tracks and in a secluded section of Vienna. It was, however, very quiet even though the local ship yard is down the street. Fortunately, the train station was about a 10-15 minute walk, so it was easy to get to and from the downtown Vienna area. My mom is a pretty active senior, so she didn't have any problems, but it would be difficult for those who have trouble walking. The restaurant is a little pricey for the food they offer but the appetizers in the bar overlooking the river are delicious! They serve nice, cold Zipfer beer, a great way to end a weary night of travel! I probably wouldn't stay there again, only because it's a little too out of the way, but it wasn't a bad Mother's Day trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IG M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus H, General Manager at Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Geraldine M,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor.

I was glad to read that you felt comfortable during your stay and that you especially enjoyed our location on the banks of the river Danube.

Furthermore, I would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback on the air condition and our restaurant offer.

Best regards,
Markus Hussler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    944
    227
    48
    24
See reviews for
771
687
82
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Right on the Danube with a view of the River and City Centre in the distance.
Large comfortable room with two Kingsize Beds and Eight pillows!
Facilities are new ,nicely presented with a generous size room with great views of the sunrise over the Danube.
Close to city centre by U Bahn and shopping facilities.
A word of caution as one of our tour group had her handbag stollen in the hotel foyer whilst she was distracted conversing with her partner.
A great value hotel and I will definitely stay here on my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus H, General Manager at Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear BryanM12,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront.

It was a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable during your stay and that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms as well as our the fantastic Danube view.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Waterfront soon.

With kind regards,
Markus Hussler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
925 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It is a bit out of the city centre, but the Hilton Hotel Vienna Danube has so much going for it. In a city where quality high end hotels are if not the norm, but certainly very available, this hotel has a special wow factor that some of the more traditional establishments lack.
Reception is a breeze, very friendly, extremely professional and most helpful. Our initial room on the seventh floor was a little too warm for us and we easily transferred down to a lower floor:two comfortable queen beds, substantial bathroom, and lots of room. And of course cooler. The view from the large (opening) windows of the river and surrounding parklands was outstanding, and the river proved to be very quiet but definitely not a “Blue Danube”.

Although definitely a Corporate chain hotel, this is,a gem of a place; exceptionally well run with the eye for detail you would hope for.
The restaurant and bars also face the river, but did not in any way detract from our stay, both food and service where just right and the staff there assisted wherever possible. Certainly not the cheapest place to eat but our enjoyment made up for this.
Down side ? Well I think if you came to stay here, and only booked a city view room, then disappointment, or maybe envy would only be natural as the view is such a bonus. The city view, apart from a distant Ferris wheel, consists of one of the huge social housing blocks and the freight railway that runs parallel to the busy main road and almost forms part of the foundations of the hotel. It is a strange configuration. However on the river side, we were unaware of any freight traffic.but were fascinated by the occasional river traffic.
We also enjoyed the riverside pool, which was a real bonus for us.
Checkout was even more relaxed than checking in. Very helpful people.
As always a hotel can have all the facilities under the sun, but it is the people on the ground, the staff, that really make a stay, and so it was with our extra more relaxed thanlong weekend.
Thoroughly recommended but get that river view and wave at the people on the Hotelboats that periodically glide past.

Room Tip: go for a river view: you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus H, General Manager at Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear cherriesfan_9,

Thank you very much for writing this detailed review on Tripadvisor.
I was delighted to read your very positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay at the Waterfront.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Markus Hussler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The largely positive quite reviews hide a bit the fact that the hotel is one level below the other two Hiltons in Vienna concerning ambiente of reception, lounge and so on.
This hotel is, however, often a very attractive option if the other two Hiltons are nearly full and can get tremendously expensive. It is surprisingly quick to reach the subway or the local 'Zielpunkt' supermarket from the hotel. The rooms are unusually large, the bathrooms are normal. The biggest drawback for me was that this is the only Hilton I have ever been where diamond members are not allowed to the normal breakfast. I asked about this and was told I could only go to the lounge which offers a limited selection (scrambled egg+sausages+cold plates). And the lounge has different, shorter breakfast times than the usual Hilton (worldwide) times. Both issues are strange and a huge drawback and should simply be changed. The lounge room itself is quite nice and on the top floor. The lounge has no 'secretary' for asking something, just one or two waitresses which were very friendly.

Room Tip: Danube side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear mimainn,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback regarding your stay in Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront.

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay.
As diamond member of course you get the highest upgrade, which means a room upgrade, view to the Danube and of course access to the Executive Lounge.
I am sorry, that breakfast is no part of an upgrade but I will immediately forward your feedback.
Our waitresses in the Executive Lounge are as well Concierge and desk clerk.
Please do not hesitate to ask them whatever and whenever you need something. We are pleased to help you anytime.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Nina Rosanelli
Executive Lounge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakostane, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My family enjoyed in the hotel and that is the most important. Its just 15 min from the center by U2 bahn and 25 min from the Schönbrunn palace and the famous zoo. There is supermarket just 2min and shopping center 5min from the hotel. Breakfast is standard and very good. Staff is very helpfull and nice. I booked my room over Hilton web site and get the best price I think :). We will come back.

Room Tip: I had a room with city view. When ever you like you can go to hotel bar and enjoy in river view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus H, General Manager at Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Mlinka,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences in regards to your recent stay.

With pleasure I read that you and your family enjoyed the time at our hotel. Furthermore, I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the friendliness of our staff and our breakfast offer.

I am truly looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Markus Hussler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assam
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I happened Vienna with my brother in April 2014 and stayed at the hotel for more then a week .The hotel is located just on the river front and the view from the rooms is very pleasant especially in evening. One can a morning stroll on the river side too.The rooms are good and the service too .The restaurant staff were more then accommodating for a vegetarian like me .The lounge bar is excellent. The front staff are very helpful and the metro station is located at 5 minutes walk to move around the city .Only thing its little bit far off from main city center but one gets to enjoy its surroundings specially the river front.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus H, General Manager at Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear rajtrips,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for writing a review on Tripadvisor.

I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront and I would like to thank you for your great feedback on the friendliness of our staff and our guest rooms with river view.

I am very much looking forward to welcome you back to the Hilton Vienna in the near future.

Best regards,
Markus Hussler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shediac, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What can I say- Hilton knows how to do a great hotel! This hotel is situated right on the bank of the Danube. Although I’m here during a chilly,cloudy spring it would be a fabulous place in the summer- the outside bar/ restau would be amazing to spend the day or night.

The hotel is comfortable and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are typical hilton (in a good way) and it feels like the hotel is new or recently renovated.

Although the hotel is away from the city centre- the metro is literally 350 metres from front door. The metro line is U2 (purple) and the stop is Stadion. It’s actually nice to stay away from the city centre-especially during the summer. It takes about 20 minutes from Stadion to Karlsplatz (city centre).

We stayed on the executive floor and were rewarded with a fabulous lounge that served breakfast, tea and evening happy hour-all served plentiful food and drink. Prosecco at
the end of they day was very welcome. Good job Hilton!
Hotel is suitable for couples, families and groups.

Room Tip: I'd highly reccommend the executive floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lio-and-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus H, General Manager at Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Lio-and-Ben,

Thank you very much for writing this detailed review in regards to your recent visit!

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our guest rooms, the friendliness of our staff and our breakfast offer. It was also nice to hear that you especially enjoyed our location on the river Danube and our riverside terrace.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront in the future.

Kind regards from Vienna,
Markus Hussler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#34 of 361 in Vienna
1,258 reviews
Hilton Vienna
#113 of 361 in Vienna
3,169 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#61 of 361 in Vienna
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#68 of 361 in Vienna
1,793 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront

Property: Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Address: Handelskai 269, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Family Hotel in Vienna
#44 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#47 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Light and airy - this is the atmosphere of the Danube, and the inspiration behind the unique design and ambience of the newly restyled Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront. Take pleasure in the fresh, modern look of this uniquely located hotel, the perfect setting for your next special event. During the day, take in the stunning views from our meeting rooms that inspire visionary business deals. At night, the inviting terrace of our Waterfront Kitchen beckons diners to relax and savour delicious cuisine near the gentle waves of the river. Everything is easily accessible from our hotel. St. Stephen's Square is just a 10-minute ride away by underground and just as close are UNO-City, Austria Center and the Prater, Vienna's most extensive park and recreational area. Even the Messe Wien Exhibition Center is just a short walk away. After a busy day, relax in our stylish and spacious guest rooms, the largest in Vienna. Make the most of our welcome amenities and the high level of service for which we are known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vienna Danube Hotel Vienna
Vienna Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing