We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel in the center”
Review of Hotel Das Tigra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Das Tigra
Ranked #45 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were staying for 4 nights during September 2013.
When arrived to hotel , we met a welcome smiling helpful stuff
We were staying in nice room ,high floor , very clean. I must be honest and tell that in the weekend, the bars near the hotel ,
Were very noisy ,however when the windows are closed –it is very quiet.
Breakfast is served in a beautiful room and buffet is very elegant and variety offers with high quality products.
5 stars breakfast ! The standard double/twin room is very nice!
. Location is great ! a walk distance from all main sites, attractions, restaurants ,famous cafés ,markets, supermarkets .
You have all around this hotel. A very nice hospitality ,I felt like in a boutique hotel, very warm and helpful stuff.
I highly recommend this hotel - Staying in Vienna was so nice also thanks to this charming hotel.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amalia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking time to send us such a nice feedback. We do really appreciate your kind words and will forward it to all our Staff.
Best regards from Vienna
The Team of the Hotel Das Tigra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We thought that this hotel offered very good value for a relatively expensive city. The location is very convenient for visiting the Hofburg Palace, less so for visiting the Opera, but still within walking distance. It is also walking distance to the ferry terminal for the ferry to Bratislava. The rooms are comfortable, The staff are helpful. There is a small lounge and bar area on the ground floor, although no restaurant. The breakfast room is a series of small rooms that can be crowded at certain times, but the food selections are adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C1andG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Giest,
tahnk you for your kind Feedback which we do really appreciate. We are glad to hear, that you have spent a nice time in our lovely city and are looking forward welcoming you some time in the future!
best wishes
The Team of the Hotel Das Tigra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We felt we had a good sized room for a reasonable price. The location was very good for sight seeing. A few blocks up the street is Cafe Central, a great place for a chocolate or pastry stop. Although the block the hotel is on was a little run down, things seem to be on the upswing. There is a nice wine bar across the street with friendly and knowledgable staff. The staff at the hotel were helpful and efficient, and we enjoyed their substantial breakfast.

A question regarding all of our European hotels. Why is there only a duvet and no top sheet on the bed? We had to set the air conditioning to a very low temperature so we would not be too hot. I would have preferred a top sheet rather than such a cold room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,
we do really appreciate your kind Feedback. you can be sure, that your kind words will be forwarded to all our staff.
We are looking forward welcoming you some time in the future in our lovely city!
best regards
The Team of the Hotel Das Tigra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Staff were refreshingly (genuinely) polite and extremely helpful. Breakfast was great (and I'm a fussy eater) and it was 5 minutes walk to the train station and the start of the attractions.
This is the best hotel I've stayed in for a long time and fully recommend it. If people are disappointed in this hotel I'd expect they're the type to be disappointed with everything they experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Guest,
we want to thank you very much for your positive Feedback, which do really appreciate.
Looking forward welcoming you time in the future in Vienna at our Hotel Das Tigra!
Best wishes from Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located, close to tram station (u3) and only minutes away from the main attractions. Clean like an operation room and with good service... We arrived earlier than the stated check in hour, and the staff gave us the room with no problem. breakfast is very rich.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear Mr. Amir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your opinions of our property with us
and hope to have the chance to great you again as one of our guest.

In case of pending inquiries do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I travelled to various cities both on work and on vacation. I would like to explore the inner city street by street - not literally.
This hotel is situated 5 to 10 minutes walking distance to the most happening area in Vienna - Near the landmark - Cathedral. With family you don't feel scared to be out till late in the early morning hours and return back to hotel - walking.
Staff was very friendly and was at hand to provide all the necessary information required about the city. If you are coming by car then there are covered garages available near the hotel - bit expensive though - about 40euros / 24 hrs parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infy_triumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for taking the time, to write this nice feedback which we do really appreciate!
For your next stay with us we want to inform you, that parking is now availabe in a carpark close to our Hotel for the rate of EUR 25.- per day (24hours)
kind regards - Hotel Das Tigra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Best thing about the hotel is the location. it is very convenient for some of the best sites within walking distance and is very near to a train station to get to further attractions. When we arrived there was no one to help us with our luggage, no creature comforts like tea and coffee facilities. We were told all such extras were available on request, but we had to go down to reception to collect it. After a long stressful journey you expect to be able to make a cup of tea without having to read through all the hotel info. Even the very poor hotel we stayed in last week had this. We were told that this is common practice in Vienna. But it's not common practice everywhere else and they could at least have told us on check-in. The room was not made up the next day even though we specifically requested it. the following day there were no bath towels. the next day the cups, glasses and cutlery were left dirty. On three of the four days of our stay we could not access the internet. Although the hotel info said that adapters were available, there were none available for us for the first two days. Generally very clean and well presented with polite staff. overall just disappointed that we were not really very well catered for or made to feel comfortable.

Room Tip: When you close the curtains you block out the air con. When you open the curtains you are faced with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Mr. Rajan S,

We thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us of our Hotel. We regret being informed that your expectancies had not been reached. All our guest have the possibility of ordering Tee and Coffee facilities with our front office team either by personally going to the reception or by calling the number: 105 from any room on our property. Unfortunately the red card was left on your room door the second day of your stay preventing our cleaning staff from being able to access the room and maintain it at the preset standards. We will inform our staff of the inconsistencies presented during your stay and we will take your feedback into consideration in order to improve standards.

We hope to have the chance to great you again in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#39 of 359 in Vienna
493 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#33 of 359 in Vienna
817 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#23 of 359 in Vienna
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#37 of 359 in Vienna
1,321 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#71 of 359 in Vienna
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tigra

Address: Tiefer Graben 14-20, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Das Tigra)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £104 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tigra 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located where others want to be. The ideal starting point for your stay is in the very heart of Vienna: at Das Tigra. Whether it is St. Stephen’s Cathedral, the Vienna Opera House or Hofburg palace: Each of the attractions close by has fascinating stories – such as our own house, where Mozart lived. The museums guarantee an all-embracing experience filled with art and natural history enlightenment. Charming cafés and exquisite restaurants as well as shops featuring internationally acclaimed designers round off the pleasurable life in our area. The perfect address for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Das Tigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Das Tigra
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing