We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and situation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Das Tigra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Das Tigra
Ranked #51 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and situation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Cannot praise hotel too highly, we contacted hotel from the UK and they arranged a taxi pick up for us from the Airport, driver was awaiting us as we came through doors of Airport,great way to start. Hotel reception always staffed, excellent English spoken and helpful on any queries we had; they also have a good service whereby you can get them to frank and send off post for you if you cannot find anywhere to buy stamps. They will also arrange tours etc for you. We went on their recommended City Tour, we were picked up at Hotel by taxi and taken to coach point all seamlessly done. Hotel has a small sitting Reception area and Bar, all spotlessly clean. There is also various tea always on tap behind Reception which is free as is the Wifi, although with the latter reception is not always good, had to walk round bedroom to find connection and sometimes this just cut me off. However downstairs everything works well. Rooms again very clean, en suite very good. We had a room just over main entrance and facing over road but very quiet. Breakfasts best we have ever had, the choice seemed to be endless. You could try something new every day and not get bored with the voice. The coffee comes to your table and was the best we had in Vienna, consequently we did sit for rather a long time over our breakfasts. You had no sooner sat down, in a very nice brightly decorated room, than you were asked what you wanted in the way of tea and coffee which appeared quickly. You were then able to get up and go and choose from the vast array of food, fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruits, cheeses, meats etc and cooked foods as well. We all thought this was one of the hi lights of the holiday. Hotel only about seven minutes walk from the Hofburg Museums area, a little longer walk to the Opera. Cafe Central which is a must just up the road. If you stay at this Hotel you will not be disappointed.jt

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygardenerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and a wonderful time in Vienna
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards
Your Tigra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    358
    63
    10
    5
See reviews for
130
419
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Nice comfortable hotel in a convenient location-was a great stay and the reception had a warm welcome, rooms were very clean (in fact immpecable). A good compromise between value and location
Highly recommend it to others

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and a wonderful time in Vienna
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards
Your Tigra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Vienna is an expensive city so finding a good value hotel is not easy. The Best Western Das Tigra is probably the best compromise between location, practicality and price.

The good stuff:
a. Reasonably central
b. Nice modern rooms
c. Helpful staff, especially when recommending the bus to Bratislava (we were going to take the train but the bus worked out very well).

The average stuff:
a. The street is dead (no life) so it is quiet but without an atmposhere
b. Breakfast is functional, nothing great, nothing bad - one of the waitresses was very helpful and remembered my coffee order everyday which is a nice touch + the coffee was good
c. The bed was a bit soft but not bad
d. The fixtures and fittings were new but felt a bit cheap, e.g. the shower was broken but the hotel fixed it on the second day of our stay after we repeatedly asked them.

The bad stuff: only the entrance. The hotel is not bad but the entrance fells more like a hostel.

Overall the hotel is a practical and functional place to stay if you don't want to spend many hundreds of Euros per night. I would stay again but I wish they had put some more effort into making the entrance feel more grand than a hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Reception at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to list out the impressions
you have had on our hotel, we depend greatly on the feedback we are
given to maintain and improve the quality of service we offer.
We have noted down the points you consider could be improved on our
behalf and have accordingly informed our hotel direction.

We hope you choose us again as your location of residence if in Vienna.

On behalf of your Das Tigra Team,
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a nice standard room which was quite small - not for us but for out two large suitcases.
The street Tiefer Graben was under our window, but the street is silent. The only noise came through the door from corridor, but I can't claim that it disturbed much.
Bathroom was modern and towels were clean and large.
If you don't like very small lifts, have a room downstairs.
And don't forget to add breakfast to your account! Service was excellent in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonataArctica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and a wonderful time in Vienna
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards
The Team of the Hotel Das Tigra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is in a convenient, yet quiet location and offers a great value for the money. They kindly allowed us to check-in several hours early and the included wifi service worked well in the room. The room was clean and quite spacious, however we did have trouble controlling the room temperature (too warm), even with the hotel's assistance. As many guests have mentioned, the breakfast is excellent, offering a wide variety of breads, fruits, yogurt, meats, cheeses, eggs, etc. The staff were very helpful and always happy to assist with any requests. A local metro stop, grocery store, bank offering currency exchange and coffee shop are a short walk from the property. Additionally, it's only a few minutes walk from the Hofburg Palace, St. Stephan's Cathedral and the main pedestrian/shopping district.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdcwrldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Reception at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with our team.
We are pleased to be informed that your stay with us has been a pleasant one
and that our staff has managed to reach your expected levels.

We thank you for placing your trust on our team and hope you pick our hotel
as location of residency if in Vienna.

On behalf of your Das Tigra Team,
We wish you a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had no experience on hotels in Vienna and this one was chosen simply based on the location, which by the way was excellent. Silent street in the middle of "Inner Stadt" and due to that fair distance to all places we wanted to see and check.
We stayed for 4 nights in the beginning of April and to be honest, would have enjoyed couple of days more. Everything went so well...
Our room was a comfort one, which is a bit larger than a standard room. The room had so much space for 2 persons it made us think the standard one could perhaps have been enough too, but on the other hand it is always nice to have some extra space. And unfortunately we were not able to take a look in any smaller room and therefore can not say it for sure.
What I enjoyed the most was the breakfast! Or in fact, it could be called a buffet... Could easily say it was the best hotel breakfast I have seen during my trips and I am now talking about so called standard hotels with breakfast included in the price!!
Highly recommended and for sure the place we will stay also for next time, when visiting Vienna!

Room Tip: Comfort one has plenty of space for two persons. Room with street view has not in fact any view at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Reception at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with our hotel staff.
We are pleased the be informed that your stay with us was a pleasant one
and that you have enjoyed our breakfast service.
We depend greatly on the feedback of our guest in order to maintain
and improve on our service standards.

In case of pending inquiries do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of your Das Tigra Team,
We wish you a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Das Tigra hotel for 3 nights during the Valentines's day weekend. The room was big enough, clean and comfortable with new furniture and nice decor. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The location is just perfect- 5-10 minutes walk to all important sites of beautiful Vienna. However, one thing just ruined my good impression of the hotel- during two first days of our stay the breakfast was wonderful, with various sorts of bread, cheese and yogurts (exactly how I love it). Unfortunately, it seems that on the last day of our stay something wasn't fresh enough. So I felt very sick all the last day in Vienna. The problem was that we had about 8 hour between the check out and our flight home, so I really suffered all day long without possibility to rest. I really hope that it one-time event in this really wonderful hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mashushao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Maria,
thank you very much for the feedback you have given us.
We are very glad to hear, that you have enjoyed the size of the room as well as the friendliness of our staff.
Concerning our breakfast we have to insist, that all our products are absolutely fresh and delivered the same day. Sometimes people can also feel sick from a beginning flu or some
other kind of Virus.
Nevertheless, we hope that you have had some nice days in Vienna and could enjoy our City withh all it´s beauties!
Best wishes from Vienna
Markos Georgakakis
FO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#33 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#24 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#52 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#40 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tigra

Property: Hotel Das Tigra
Address: Tiefer Graben 14-20, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Das Tigra)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Vienna
#41 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tigra 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Das Tigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Das Tigra
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing